We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #498 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel during our summer vacation in 8/2013. Suitable for Malaysian as it is close to Bonda Restaurant (served Malaysian ' Nasi Campur' ). Within walking distance to Paddington station and Oxford Street. Room is cramped but suitable for a family of 4. ...London standard I guess !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosziman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yenny S, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Please note that most of the hotels in the Paddington area have standard size rooms due to most of the buildings in Sussex Gardens are Victorian houses converted into hotels.
We know we do not have the biggest rooms in London, but you will always find them clean and comfortable.

We hope you consider staying with us again next time you visit London.

Regards,

Yenny Souto Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    243
    99
    36
    24
See reviews for
223
104
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It's a small hotel near to the Paddington Station, there's a lot of restaurants nearby.
It's near to the Hyde Park.
The room is small, the bathroom is very small, reminds me an airplane's bathroom, but works properly. The staff is kind and helpful, breakfast is good.
We went to the hotel only for shower and sleep, so it was good enough for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XX_D_F_N_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was the most cramped accommodation i stayed in during my 2 months in UK and Europe. The bathroom was barely large enough to turn around in. (Was like a small boat cabin bathroom). The stairs were also hard work (steep and narrow and many stories) and no elevator. We had a quad room, with a foot between each bed. Other than the tight spaces the hotel was clean and well priced for the location (although we got it cheaper than standard), was on a lovely street, and the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here late April on a business trip for one night and the reason I have rated the hotel as very good is all around that old saying of "you get what you pay for" so on a budget business trip it was good, I had room 102 which had French windows and a small walk out veranda which was a Godsend as the room was very warm with no way of controlling the heating!
There is no Bar and although I did not stay for breakfast the choice looked very limited, there are however loads of places with-in a short walk where you can get a very reasonably priced full English if you wish to.
The Hotel it's self is really well located for Paddington Station, Bars and restaurants the service I received was excellent which made the stay enjoyable.
One final point to the Hotel would be.....Give your customers free WiFi !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Znojmo, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Hotel is on great place, Sussex gardens looks like very peaceful neighborhood. We came from Stansted to Baker street and from there is about 15 minutes walk to hotel. Metro is really close (5 minut), but also main attractions are in Range (Buckingham palace, Big Ben) by walk. Some restaurants and bars are also really close. Hotel is really simple, bathroom is really small. For sleeping is it enough. Breakfast is also simple, but I think everybody find something to eat. We met 3 staff members and all are very kind. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JindraStorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

we stayed at columbus hotel in december.. on arrival we were given the key to a triple room on the 1st floor, the stairs were very steep and narrow, the room was a decent size and was clean, the shower room was tiny but clean, we did not have any curtains up in our room but 1 hour after we arrived 2 nice people put the curtains up, but the curtains were wet and water was dripping on the floor, the radiators were not hot so we could not dry them so we had to leave the window open as they were steaming up, not a good start.. the hotel was very close to paddington station and only 2 minute walk to hyde park.. the street outside the hotel was classed as the carpark and the hotel charged us £30 for 30 hours parking but was supposed to be £15 per 24 hours.. we had a knock on our door at 7pm from the man on reception accusing us of smoking in the room..and he was really arrogant which did not go down very well with my partner.. the breakfast room is tiny and the breakfast was continental not english.. great if you are from overseas but not us we like british breakfasts not baguettes, cheese and ham.. it did say on booking it was contintal so was my fault for not looking.. all in all a hotel in a good location very basic and we certainly will not go back to columbus hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank judithcharmers37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The hotel is old and a little wear down.We got a nice room , clean and big.The breakfast
was very good and the staff where service mindet.Close to bus and underground.Hyde Park
is just across the street.Good restaurants and Pubs in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 801stale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#425 of 1,069 in London
1,055 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#221 of 1,069 in London
2,163 reviews
Stylotel
#589 of 1,069 in London
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#697 of 1,069 in London
352 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#318 of 1,069 in London
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: 141 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#280 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus, a Bed & Breakfast hotel can be found in the heart of central London, situated on a leafy tree lined avenue in Paddington just a few minutes walk from the Underground and main line station. Hotel Columbus offers comfortable en-suite rooms with some being suitable for families or friends as they can accommodate 3, and 4 persons. A free continental breakfast is provided. All rooms have flat screen TV and free tea and coffee facilities. Next time you visit London, why not stay at Hotel Columbus which offers all the comforts and convenience that you would need for your stay in London. Location is one of our key benefits. Paddington Station with the Heathrow Express is just a few minutes away, providing a quick 15 min transfer from Heathrow Airport. Attractions such as Oxford Street, Hyde Park, Madam Tussauds & Harrods are all within walking distance from the hotel. Jump on the tube (400Mtrs) and within minutes you will find The Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, London Eye, Portobello Market, Camden Market and for rainy days, Westfield Shopping Centre only a few stops away. There are also numerous bus routes leaving from Paddington. Our Values Our aim is simple - we want to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing