We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel; No Elevator!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #478 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; No Elevator!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location. About a five minute walk from two different tube stations. The hotel staff was very friendly and the breakfast was just right; cereal, bread, ham and cheese, juices. We were on the third floor, which being 7 months pregnant was not the most fun with no elevator. (Normally this would not bother me but it was a little much now.) Also the bathroom was very small. Our shower head was also broken which meant we had to hold it which was also very frustrating. Hopefully they will fix this so others do not have to experience that as well. Overall, for only a two night stay, it was not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sknecht07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear customer,

First of all, congratulations for your future baby!

On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your kind comments towards the personnel and the hotel.

I would like to apologize for not giving you a room on the ground floor, especially when being pregnant. I suppose (since I do not know the date when you stayed with us) that we did not have any available rooms on the ground floor, otherwise we would have been happy to move you.
Please note that in the future you can contact us before arriving to the hotel and let us know if you have any special requests. We will do our best to allocate you in a room according to your preferences.

Regarding the issue with the shower, I have already informed our maintenance team and it has been fixed. I am very sorry for the inconveniences caused.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Yenny Souto López
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    230
    94
    35
    23
See reviews for
212
99
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
326 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room in the basement. This made the room feel cramped, despite having windows. The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. It was difficult to close the shower door, once inside. Maybe the other rooms are different. We had the last room available. I did not feel the place to be particularly clean. Average at best. That can be said for the breakfast, also.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Regarding your comments about the bathroom size, unfortunately there is not much we can do about it, but we will certainly have a look at the shower door to make sure it closes properly.

Please note that all our rooms are cleaned and inspected by the Management daily.
Could you please tell me if there was something in particular that you thought it was not up to the standard? I am happy to investigate the matter myself.

Also, would you please explain what you did not like about our complimentary Continental breakfast?

Please do not hesitate to contact me on 020 7706 3344 should you have any queries.

Best regards,

Yenny Souto López
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and nice rooms, cosy atmosphere and the breakfast was all that you needed; coffee, yoghurt, cereal, juice, croissant, ham and chees. I warmly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank My E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We value your feedback.

On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for your kind comments to the staff.

We hope you consider staying with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Yenny Souto López
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in Columbus 3 times in the past 5 years and always enjoyed it, but on this occasion we were totally blown away with all the work done since we stayed last time in October 2013.
Everything had changed, totally reformed, decorated and still spotless clean.
The accommodation had been totally brought up to date and the location is excellent.
On our last visit we had not met the new couple running it at the present time, but Pedro and Vanessa are a gem.
Nothing is too much for them and at the price of the accommodation charged there is no better place in Central London to stay.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Go there, a really nice place in Central London, clean accommodation, lovely staff, nice breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellyhaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read your nice review about your recent stay in our hotel.

As you mentioned in your comments, we gave Hotel Columbus a new and fresh look, always looking for our guests' satisfaction.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay not just because of the cleanliness and comfort of the room, but also thanks to the hotel's supervisors Pedro and Vanessa who are always happy to assist our customers with anything they need, in order to make their stay more enjoyable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel next time you visit London.

Regards,

Yenny Souto López
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I cannot have enough praise for this hotel! I have stayed here twice in the last couple of months for a total of 5 nights and it was just what I needed.

I travelled to London for studying purposes and I booked the single room which is a very small room on the top floor. The room is very small but has everything you need including tea and coffee making facilities. There is no lift but the staff were very helpful with carrying my luggage and offered to carry any heavy bags I had.

The location of the hotel is excellent - being just 2 blocks away from Paddington station - the underground will take you anywhere from there. There are also a number of restaurants, food shops and pubs in the area - hence, the promise of a good meal in the vicinity is also there.

Breakfast is continental - it consists of a choice of different breads, ham, cheese as well as a choice of cereals, yoghurt and fruit. There is also a choice of juices. The staff then offer to make tea and coffee.

I will not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone going to London! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for the nice comments you wrote about our hotel and staff.

It is our aim to make customers happy and it makes us proud to know we have achieved our goal.

We hope you will come back again soon.

Best regards,

Yenny Souto Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just spent 3 nights at this hotel on our first visit to London. We found the staff (esp Pedro) to be very warm, welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed being close to Hyde Park and great transport routes. Lots of restaurants close by and we can recommend "Pride of Paddington" pub for a great meal, lovely staff and great put atmosphere. Initially wifi was inconsistent but once our password was replaced it was fine. Our room was quite dated and dark, however still very comfortable. Overall the hotel was perfect for us - location wise and providing a room with all the facilities we needed when our main objective of the trip was to explore London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We hope you consider staying with us again next time you visit London.

Best regards,

Yenny Souto Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed at Columbus for one night last week as was visiting Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park. Was a bit dubious when my friend said she had booked a room here especially as we got such a good deal (£26 each) but was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The hotel is located close to Paddington Station and also Hyde Park so was perfect for us. It is also on plenty of main bus routes.

We were greeted by warm and friendly staff and checked in quickly. The room was on the second floor and yes we had to use stairs but as we only had a small bag each this was not a problem. The room we had booked was a 'Quad' and contained 2 single beds and 1 double which worked out perfectly for myself and my 2 friends.

The room was clean, the beds were extremely comfortable and we had a large window that opened to let the air in. We were situated at the back of the hotel and it was so quiet even if the view was a bit uninspiring. Tea and coffee were provided along with clean towels and a mini bar of soap each.

The bathroom was extremely small (think aeroplane/train size) and you could use the sink whilst sat on the loo. The shower was so small we decided to give it a miss seeing as we were only staying the one night. There was also no window which meant no fresh air or ventilation.

After a comfortable nights sleep we headed down for the continental breakfast, good choice of self service cereals with toast, croissants and bread rolls. Staff were friendly and quickly offered us hot drinks.

Overall a pleasant little hotel for a short stay and would definitely stay again if visiting Hyde Park or surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yenny S, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 020 7262 0974.

Sincerely,

Yenny Souto López
General Manager
Hotel Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#197 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#304 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#397 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#672 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Stylotel
#555 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: 141 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#280 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus, a Bed & Breakfast hotel can be found in the heart of central London, situated on a leafy tree lined avenue in Paddington just a few minutes walk from the Underground and main line station. Hotel Columbus offers comfortable en-suite rooms with some being suitable for families or friends as they can accommodate 3, and 4 persons. A free continental breakfast is provided. All rooms have flat screen TV and free tea and coffee facilities. Next time you visit London, why not stay at Hotel Columbus which offers all the comforts and convenience that you would need for your stay in London. Location is one of our key benefits. Paddington Station with the Heathrow Express is just a few minutes away, providing a quick 15 min transfer from Heathrow Airport. Attractions such as Oxford Street, Hyde Park, Madam Tussauds & Harrods are all within walking distance from the hotel. Jump on the tube (400Mtrs) and within minutes you will find The Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, London Eye, Portobello Market, Camden Market and for rainy days, Westfield Shopping Centre only a few stops away. There are also numerous bus routes leaving from Paddington. Our Values Our aim is simple - we want to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing