We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Three Day London Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clayton Crown Hotel
Ranked #430 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Three Day London Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Crown Moran was a great stay and we would visit with them again in a heartbeat! We arrived at London Heathrow and took "The Tube" Underground from Terminal 3 (Get an Oyster Card) and took about 45 minutes (with station connections) to the closest station to the Crown Moran (Kilburn station). I recommend getting the Underground Oyster Card upon arrival and downloading the Underground phone app to your phone for ease of connections. It is about a 15 minute walk (or you can ride the bus from Kilburn station up close to the stop near the Crown Moran). Since we arrived early in the morning on an international flight, we ended up at the hotel at about 10:30 to 11:00. I know typically that is WAY to early to check in but they did an excellent job accommodating us and gave us the first room available and we were able to check in early...superb service after a long international flight. The desk agent, Lucias, was incredibly helpful throughout our 3-night stay...and all the great service we received is fully deserving of the time to write this review! The room was in great condition and very comfortable. Remember your power adapter (They have the three prong UK plugs). They did not have a Euro per person per day tax as some European hotels do which was nice. We had a package with breakfast included at their restaurant (across from the front desk and upstairs) and it was very good! Full continental breakfast and hot menu items were included (like eggs, etc, not just cereal and bagels). The area around it was pretty good...lots of side street shops (the kind with garage door kind of front locking doors). There were a few good pubs (great for the beer, fish and chips). One about halfway from the Crown Moran and the Kilburn station was called "The Beaten Docket" and we ate there twice! Great local pub to eat at right before hitting the hotel to rest. We would definitely stay at the Crown Moran again the next time we visit London!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you Jared, I am delighted we were able to accommodate your early arrival and that you enjoyed your stay so much. I will personally thank Lucia on your behalf; it’s always special when a team member gets mentioned by name – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    494
    173
    80
    62
See reviews for
343
432
55
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night as we were visiting Wembley Stadium in the evening. We checked in about 2:00pm, dropped our bags and went for a wander around Criklewood, well there isn’t much to see, just seems to be loads of people just “hanging about”. We then went back to the hotel and I have to say the hotel is excellent, we made use of the swimming pool and it was at a good temperature, the the hotel room was great, it had everything we wanted.
We arrived back at the hotel at about 11.00pm and the hotel bar was a great place to relax and as it is open quite late it is possible to enjoy a beer or two if you arrive back late. I thought the prices in the bar were also reasonable too.
I would definitely use the hotel again if visiting Wembley

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ_AJ963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you AJ, so pleased you enjoyed the leisure facilities as well as the lounge bar. We are looking forward to welcoming you back really soon – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Crown Moran was a wonderful place to stay--The room was quite comfortable and very clean--It is right on the bus line and it is very easy to get to the tube from here
The best part was Alanthe hotel's driver!! He met us at the airport and was very knowledgeable about every thing. Every morning he was in the lobby and we would tell him what our plans were. He would then tell us which tubes we needed to take to get where we wanted to go--making our visit extremely enjoyable!! THANK YOU ALAN

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneBradfordRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you Suzanne, I am pleased you had a great stay and that Alan looked after you. He is quite a character and well loved by hotel guests. Hurray back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is really nice - the area - not so much, but who cares. The hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel itself was really lovely and clean. The room was fab - only bad points were the usual crappy little hair-dryer supplied, the shower wasn't great and there was a lack of plugs. Apart from that it was great.
We could've paid less elsewhere, but you pay for what you get.
Breakfast was delicious and was given a good choice of continental and cooked, however next visit, I think we'd opt out of the brekkie as £10 a head is a tad steep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McAbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for the review, I am delighted you liked the staff, rooms and breakfast. Will have a look at the hair dryer and thank you for the heads up! Pun intended – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here when going to see Roger Waters at Wembley. The room is great, the staff are so very helpful and possibly some of the best we have had in hotels. The restaurant is really nice and breakfast is a good start to the day. The area may be a bit run down, but you can get the 16 bus from right outside the hotel to the kilburn tube station and get straight into London to do all the touristy things (wear comfy shoes there's lots of walking). Would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeandandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi Jane & Andy, thank you for the sterling review, especially in recognising the team and recommending us – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Recently stayed two nights in this hotel, having stayed here once before last year and was very happy with it, decided to return. We did have a comfortable enjoyable stay, however, I definitely thought this hotel was very overpriced considering breakfast wasn't even included in the rate we paid. Why pay an extra 10 euro for a breakfast (which in my opinion should be included in the exorbitant price charged anyway) when you can walk two minutes up the road to Earleys Cafe and get an excellent breakfast for under a fiver? I am a regular visitor to this area and unfortunately noticed this time that the surrounding area is very rundown with a lot of "undesirables" hanging about altogether making this area feel very unsafe. This hotel now appears out of character in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryreynolds66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
I regret that you feel the hotel is no longer value for money and thank you for your frank appraisal. I am also sorry that you feel the hotel is out of character for the area; the locals give us lots of support and tell us we have added something special to Cricklewood. As a regular visitor to the area and in order to get the best deals look on the hotel website, the earlier you book the more you save – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeduffy1
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

the hotel is lovely, more luxurious than I expected. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the the staff was lovely. The wifi was spotty at best and we had issues with getting our room serviced. We ran out of toilet tissue twice and I was forced to call the front desk. But otherwise, it was simply lovely. The continental buffet was standard but we did order a hot breakfast one day that was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeduffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Glad we exceeded your expectations and thank you for the kind comments about the team. The beds are comfy aren’t they? Pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and I will have a look at the WiFi – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#486 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Hotel Xanadu
#463 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
#202 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#536 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Crown Hotel

Property: Clayton Crown Hotel
Address: 142-152 Cricklewood Broadway, London NW2 3ED, England (Formerly Crown Moran Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
#360 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel in Cricklewood North West London is an ideal base for touring some of London’s well known attractions. The hotel is strategically located for speedy access to Marble Arch, Wembley Stadium and Arena, Brent Cross, and M1. Offering spacious guestrooms and suites, conference and leisure facilities.The Crown Moran Hotel offers a wealth of dining options.The stylish and super tasty Panasia Restaurant serves a fusion of contemporary Pan-Asian specialties and with sharing and fixed price menus it is perfect for those wanting to try a little bit of everything. The excitement of fine Pan-Asian cooking in a wonderfully traditional British pub setting. The Crown Lounge and Living Room offer a fantastic array of classic dishes including fish & chips, great steaks and desserts to make your mouth water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clayton Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Moran London
Hotel Crown Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing