We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the money spent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Crown Hotel
Ranked #413 of 1,069 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the money spent”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked this hotel as thought would go for a better hotel than the central london travelodge. The rooms were great with all the amenities required. The hotel had a swimming pool which we didn't use and a great bar next door. The location was 15 mins walk to the nearest tube station.

Would book again as get better hotel for the money spent, to those central. If you don't mind a small time out of the central city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mark H,

You are not alone in deciding that by staying slight distance from central London is certainly worth the improved quality and value for money and thank you for taking the time to make others aware of this.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    516
    182
    84
    65
See reviews for
364
464
55
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This is like nowhere I have stayed before! It's a beautiful hotel, definitely deserves it's 4 stars.. Well appointed room, beautiful bathroom with quality complimentary toiletries (full dispensers)
Coupled with your local pub! Yet it really worked.. Local people obviously enjoying being there, the crown isn't your soulless hotel bar.. It's really used by the locals as a place to meet and eat. Then original pub has been lovingly and sensitively restored/adapted into it's more modern surroundings A beautiful building in it's own right.
The leisure facilities are also used by people from the local community - swimming lessons for childrenand a belly dancing class taking place when I stayed as well as baby swimming. It's nice to see that the place is used by the local
Community.
Now slight down sides - my room
Was an internal room overlooking the (indoor) pool. It did feel rather like being in a goldfish bowl as I was so close. It was quite noisy with the swimming lessons taking place and it felt rather uncomfortable being quite so close- if I could have opened my window I could have jumped straight into the pool. The pool has a glass roof but the room suffered a distinct lack of natural
Light and the lighting in the room was quite poor. It felt rather oppressive.
I would have appreciated info in my room informing me when these events were on as I could then plan to swim etc when the public weren't using the pool.
The staff were great, the housekeeping to a great standard - with a few tweeks I would give them 5 stars and will stay again (but please no internal
Room)

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_A123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jenny_A123,

Thank you for your detailed review. By the sound of it you really appreciated not only the quality of the hotel itself, but the way we are integrated into the local community which is something that we are also very proud of.

As you mentioned, the hotel has been built around the historic Crown Bar and part of that "like nowhere else" feel does mean that no two rooms are alike. When you next visit us (which we hope is soon), please do mention your preference regarding room location as we will always do our best to accommodate.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed at the Crown Moran many times, I have always found the hotel to be very welcoming and clean. My room was excellent as they were on previous visits, however, the shower head was missing in the bathroom, to be honest I never noticed until I got in and then it was too late. Overall very enjoyable stay my only cripe was being charged an extra £15 to park the car! I have never been charged before I actually believed it was in with the price but the girl on the desk was a stickler and insisted that it was not, so rather than argue with her I just paid, however, I did think the price was expensive to park the car especially when you are paying over £130 a night!

Room Tip: Each time I have stayed the rooms have always been good, so no preference to advise of so far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinJames-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear CollinJames-UK,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I was so pleased to read that you are a regular guest who once again enjoyed your stay.

We regularly run different offers that include free parking, however with the local council expanding the areas enforced by metered parking we are increasingly finding this more difficult due to demand in the area. That being said, our charges are in line with similar hotels in the area.

Thank you once more and we hope to see you again in the future.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

_Nice room but a bit noisy as it was next to kitchen where dishes and trolleys were been transported in and out also safe didn't work told manageress at front desk about it she said it would be repaired but it never happened.
It is impossible to get Smirnoff Vodka when you order it always like Abosulate which is like paint stripper for the prices they charge you expect the real thing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noreenk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear noreenk2,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you liked your room, but do apologise that we were unable to fix your safe during your stay as it did require complete replacement.

While Absolut is our house vodka, we do stock four or five other premium vodkas that you could have tried, however I do recognise that people do become attached to their favorite tipple.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great foyer with 19th century red sandstone pillars (similar to St Pancras) but 5 star experience marred by surprising lapses and irritations like
- signing credit card for £30 a day against possible expenditure
- pay system for access to internet
- lighting APPALLING in room
- no tea available, only coffee.
- no mobile signal in room
-No proper soap in bathroom , only shoulder high dispensers
-no promised batrhrobe
- water lukewarm on first night, improved after complaint.
I wasn't sure whether these failures were because I got the room cheap on Last Munute Dot com or whether Mr Moran needs to give someone a rocket. At the price I got it it was still very good value but not the 5 star experience I was hoping for .

Room Tip: check lighting and mobile signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugh106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear coraxxx,

Thank you for your detailed review. While it was nice to read that you generally enjoyed your stay, it is also helpful to have a clear list of what you describe as minor irritations. Without answering each individually, I can assure you that we do take into consideration feedback such as yours and it is very much welcome.

Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Located in a quiet and safe neighborhood, and with every public transportation choice available at close range for reaching Central London in not more than half an hour, the Crown Moran is a very good option for a clean, cosy and spacious room at more reasonable rates than the average british scale. Front street facing rooms are quiet enough as soon as you keep the windows closed. Good internet connection. Comfy beds, modern and clean bathrooms. Skilled housekeeping, front desk staff could be more efficient on giving priority to guests instead of whatever they´re doing. Didn´t try breakfast, which seems to be pricey.

The downsides: 1) Check in is rather slow for american standards. Expect to be ignored and stay unattended for a couple of minutes. 2) Safeboxes are rather small for keeping laptops, which is essential nowadays, 3) Soap and shampoo are provided in big dispensers, none of them friendly enough when they have to dispense.

Overall a very good hotel, with small issues that could be easily improved.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear SergioRZ,

Thank you for you balanced and constructive review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay although naturally am sorry that on this ocassion you did not find the reception service to by speedy enough. Although this is not typical of the service we provide, I have passed on your comments to my Front Office Manager to address.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Location is pretty good - about 20 minutes bus ride from Central London. Bus stop outside door with frequent buses to Marble Arch, Victoria, Oxford Circus. Good value Also walk to Willesden Green for Tube or short bus ride to Kilburn Station.
Rooms spacious with comfortable chairs. Internet is free and good. Rooms are quiet if you avoid a few rooms situated above foyer and overlooking street. Just a few niggles prevent me giving a higher rating. Since I was last here less than a year ago usual toiletries have been replaced by large bottles attached to wall over bath and hand basin. I got tired of attempting to squirt the appropriate liquid from these. If a hotel is to be described as four star, I feel this is an economy too far. Again, perhaps manager might consider providing tea making facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Appius,

Thank you for your honest and balanced review.

Naturally I was pleased to read of the positives and appreciate your constructive feedback.

Regarding our change to dispense toiletries, this was not a decision made based on economy, but rather to reduce waste in a bid to be more environmentally conscious. We use exactly then brand and quality of toiletries as we have always and the expense difference is negligible as the quantities of actual toiletries we go through are only slightly reduced, but it does mean that we no longer throw away literally tens of thousands of half or hardly used plastic bottles of shower gel and shampoo each year.

I am also sorry to read that you did not find the tea and coffee facilities which are located inside the desk in all of our rooms.

You mentioned that you had stayed with us previously and do hope that these small details, now that they have been explained do not prevent you from doing so in the future.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
#173 of 1,069 in London
627 reviews
Best Western Palm Hotel
#542 of 1,069 in London
804 reviews
Park Plaza London Park Royal
#127 of 1,069 in London
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cricklewood Lodge Hotel
#632 of 1,069 in London
103 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#622 of 1,069 in London
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Crown Hotel

Property: Clayton Crown Hotel
Address: 142-152 Cricklewood Broadway, London NW2 3ED, England (Formerly Crown Moran Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#283 Luxury Hotel in London
#360 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel in Cricklewood North West London is an ideal base for touring some of London’s well known attractions. The hotel is strategically located for speedy access to Marble Arch, Wembley Stadium and Arena, Brent Cross, and M1. Offering spacious guestrooms and suites, conference and leisure facilities.The Crown Moran Hotel offers a wealth of dining options.The stylish and super tasty Panasia Restaurant serves a fusion of contemporary Pan-Asian specialties and with sharing and fixed price menus it is perfect for those wanting to try a little bit of everything. The excitement of fine Pan-Asian cooking in a wonderfully traditional British pub setting. The Crown Lounge and Living Room offer a fantastic array of classic dishes including fish & chips, great steaks and desserts to make your mouth water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Moran London
Hotel Crown Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing