We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel with character.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Crown Hotel
Ranked #416 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with character.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my partner and daughter for a 2 night mid week sightseeing break in London. The rooms were clean and comfortable and reception areas similar. The pool had to be shut on the day we arrived which was really disappointing as it was one of the reasons for booking the Crown Moran. We weren't offered anything in the way of compensation even though my daughter was devastated but I'm not sure anyone was able to do anything about it at the time.
The hotel has a really quirky layout and adjoins a classic Irish pub with a good selection of drinks on tap and the bar staff were lovely and very helpful. There is also a pan Asian restaurant where breakfast is served.
Some reviews have mentioned that the area is quite rough but we walked through it to Willesden Green tube station on our first day and it seemed fine. With an Oyster card you can either get a bus (3 or 4 different buses from right outside the hotel every few minutes) then a tube via the Jubilee Line or get a bus all the way into London. We did both and saw so many things on the bus ride into Hyde Park Corner it's well worth the bus fare.
Breakfast was lovely and kids under 11 eat free so well worth it to give you a good start to any sightseeing day!

Room Tip: Good if you want to travel into London every day but if not book closer to the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FezikUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear FezikUK,

Thank you for your review and I am so pleased to read that your family enjoyed your short break in London.

My apologies that our pool was closed. As I have mentioned to a few reviewers this was due to an unexpected maintenance issue that required specialist repair and did take several days to fix.

Many thanks again for your review.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    504
    175
    80
    63
See reviews for
350
444
55
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were fortunate to stay at this beautiful hotel. However, we were doubtful before we arrived because of the surrounding area, which was not well maintained at all. But if you can look beyond that, the hotel is lovely, great staff, small pool, and the room was excellent. It is also near the railway station, but would caution walking back in the late evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrizia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Patrizia,

Please see my previous replies where I do point out that unfortunately (or fortunately) I am yet to be elected Mayor and have little control over the area surrounding the hotel, although as a local resident of many years myself, I can vouch that Cricklewood is as safe as most (and a good deal safer than many) areas of London.

On a serious note am very pleased that you found all of the things I can control to be "beautiful, lovely and great."


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Short stay at hotel of one night as it was last minute and was booked only 2 days previous. Hotel is very nice but it is situated in quite a rough area which doesn't match the interior of the hotel. Pub in the hotel serves very nice food with great service and nice staff. Reception staff are also very helpful. Rooms were clean and basic, provided sample shampoo and conditioner. Free wifi in room which was able to stream a concert through meaning connection was strong. About a 5-10 minute walk from nearest tube station. Nice hotel, cheap price, location could be better, would probably stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingzeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear chloeohare,

I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Until they also put me in charge of the decor and staffing of the "real world" surrounding the hotel :) it sounds as though there is not much I could have done to improve your stay.


We hope to see you again in the near future.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

First impressions were great, reception area is very nice and as we arrived early we were able to leave our luggage for a couple of hours and then check in early. Room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, nice sized bathroom too. We were on 6th floor so very little road noise as long as the window was closed. Air con control was a bit tricky to work out but ok once you know what you are doing. Air con kept the room at a reasonable temp overnight. Big, comfortable bed. Free wifi signal was pretty good most of our 8 night stay. We found the location was great, yes its not central London but the buses are right outside the door and we found it super easy to get around. We ate at Pan Asia one night and were very happy with our meals. Staff were very attentive and food was lovely.
Our only gripes were that the water supply in the bathroom was dodgy. The shower head looked like it was missing the cap which meant the water sprayed out of the hole in the middle instead of being distributed evenly. At times the cold water pressure dropped to almost nothing, in fact several times there was no cold water at all. This made shower temperature regulation difficult. To get decent water pressure the temp was sometimes too hot and if you turned the temp down the water pressure became non-existent. We did report our issues and were advised that someone would check it out but not sure it ever happened. Every time we asked at the desk what the outcome was they didn't know anything about it and just said they would arrange for someone to go and have a look.
Loved the huge bath towels but for some reason only one was left in the bathroom. There was a spare set of towels in the wardrobe but once we had used those they were not replaced and we were left with only one bath towel and face cloth for two people. We had to request extras. Seems strange to only provide one towel for two people. Also despite the fact that we would hang our towels indicating we were happy to reuse they kept being replaced every day. Goes against their green policy displayed in the bathroom.
A mini fridge in the room would have been welcome to keep drinks cold.
Overall a satisfactory stay and would probably stay again provided we got a good price like we did this time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marns78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear marns78,


Thank you for your very detailed review! As you say in your title "could be better" which we are always trying to be and it is through reviews such as yours that tell us exactly how we can improve that we try to do this.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have stayed here a number of times mainly on business. The rooms are large ans spacious. There is a nice pub style bar within the hotel which is also open to the public. There is large bar and restaurant area but on many occasions quality of food and service within these areas is a little dissappointing

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear A S,

Thank you for you review.

While I am sorry to read that you found the food service to be a little disappointing, it is hard for me to comment without more detail. I am however pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us.

Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spended 9 nights on Crowne Moran and , definite, this hotel will be my first option . Clean, comfortable, close to bus stop and close to railway station, is well connected to London central. Area is safe, a lot of restaurants, food shops, prices very affordable (food, clothes..). Rooms are spacious, well equiped and comfortable, lovely beds, and cleaning service is optimal. Front desk staff was friendly (many thanks to Ramona) and helpfull. Swimming pool was a good surprise (size, water temperature). I can say was our best accommodation on London (we tryed 4 others hotel son the last 5 years ).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noxyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Noxyus,

Thank you so much for your kind review. By the sound of it you really enjoyed your stay with us and the fact that you were with us for nine nights is a sign not only of our high standards, but also that we maintained them consistently.

We look forward to welcoming you again.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

"Right hotel wrong place" might well apply here. As a base for my friends and I for a day at the Lords test the Crown Moran was fine. Clean and tidy with a functional restaurant for breakfast ,a bar and secure parking it was all we needed. The staff were all friendly and helpful although the service at breakfast was on the slow side. The additional cost of increased taxi journeys was more than offset by the level of the room rates. I would not advise a stroll around the local area although apart from seeing a frightening number of police massing near the hotel as we left I saw no evidence of any trouble. The alterations and building undertaken by the hotel chain must have cost a lot of money and I would question the return they will get?

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JCHendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear JCHendo,

Many of our guests find the trade off between increased value for money and quality that we offer as opposed to more central hotels to be a bonus and I am pleased that this seems to have been the case for you too.

Having been a local resident myself for many years, I can assure you that Cricklewood is certainly no more dangerous an area than the majority of London. The police you mention were accompanying an organised and peacefully conducted demonstration so do hope this did not give you an screwed view of the area.

Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#497 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#547 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Hotel Xanadu
#471 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
#196 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
The Kings Head Hotel
#652 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Crown Hotel

Property: Clayton Crown Hotel
Address: 142-152 Cricklewood Broadway, London NW2 3ED, England (Formerly Crown Moran Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#290 Luxury Hotel in London
#360 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel in Cricklewood North West London is an ideal base for touring some of London’s well known attractions. The hotel is strategically located for speedy access to Marble Arch, Wembley Stadium and Arena, Brent Cross, and M1. Offering spacious guestrooms and suites, conference and leisure facilities.The Crown Moran Hotel offers a wealth of dining options.The stylish and super tasty Panasia Restaurant serves a fusion of contemporary Pan-Asian specialties and with sharing and fixed price menus it is perfect for those wanting to try a little bit of everything. The excitement of fine Pan-Asian cooking in a wonderfully traditional British pub setting. The Crown Lounge and Living Room offer a fantastic array of classic dishes including fish & chips, great steaks and desserts to make your mouth water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Moran London
Hotel Crown Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing