We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, good location, excellent pub!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fox & Goose Hotel
Ranked #217 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed with a friend in a Superior Double room for 9 nights while visiting London over New Year's. The location near Hanger Lane tube station is perfect for quickly getting in and out of central London and is close to a large Sainsbury's supermarket. There's a McD just next door but don't worry - it's not a nuisance and you should really try the pub instead! They serve a nice range of Fuller's ales and great pub food (don't forget the desserts), plus breakfast in the mornings. The staff were extremely friendly and corteous. There's fast free Wi-Fi using a passcode that changes every week - unfortunately you have to log in manually through a web page.

The room was spacious and comfortable, but sound proofing could be better and we noticed that the bathroom was in need of some minor maintenance: some fixtures were loose or out of alignment, and water from the shower had a way of escaping in quantity to the bathroom floor. Everything worked fine, however, and the room had many nice amenities like a fridge (larger than most hotel minibars) and a generous assortment of free shampoos, conditioners and shower gels in mini-bottles.

In summary, I am still going to give this hotel a 5/5 score because the proximity to such a good pub/restaurant, the price and the ease of access to central London are advantages that outweigh everything else. Access to Heathrow airport (via Alperton tube) is easy enough though the trip takes longer than you'd think. I would not mind staying here again the next time I'm in London.

Room Tip: Get a Superior room - based on the other reviews here of what I assume are Standard rooms, the Super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox_Goose_Manager, General Manager at The Fox & Goose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear W2k
Wow, 5 out of 5 is great news. Thanks for taking the trouble to write a review and such a glowing one at that. Really pleased you liked the pub and restaurant. The hotel is owned by Fullers so you can be sure the beer is going to be second to none.I will look into the maintenace issue you mentioned and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel has good staff, the bed was fine , but leaves much to be desired in terms of maintenance. The room was clean and tidy but the walls stained with mold and moisture . The vent in the bathroom was covered in mold and fluff.

The hotel pub is very welcoming and the food excellent quality , the only detail I have to point out about the hotel is that the kitchen has a short time , often went for lunch or breakfast and the kitchen was closed, had spent my money to eat there but I had to on the street.

The fox and the goose is well served , five minutes walking to the right is the Hanger Lane station and going to the left about ten minutes Picadilly Line. The neighborhood is not the nicest but it's quiet and you can walk if you go back to the hotel late at night or if you go early in the morning .

Despite the nasty little details, if not get a hotel in the same price range closer to the center , would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox_Goose_Manager, General Manager at The Fox & Goose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Woup
Thanks for letting us know how your stay was. I'll personally look into the maintenace of your room. Pleased you enjoyed our restaurant. We serve food from 7am until 10pm all day, everyday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Bed was very soft and sank in the middle. The carpet had stains EVERYwhere. The shower surround was covered in mold and parts of the caulking had completely worn and fallen out. The temperature on the shower could not be adjusted -- we had a choice of either scalding hot water or boiling.Water spills outside the tub and all over the floor every time we took a shower -- the doors to the shower need to be replaced. The lobby is worn and shabby, needs a little upgrading, but this is the least of their problems. The Fuller's downstairs is comfortable and we enjoyed dining there. And the older gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in assisting us to purchase tickets online to the Tower of London. He was pleasant and very charming. But he was the only one really good part of our stay here, and it is only because of him that I gave this place more than two stars. I would not stay here again. This hotel is in serious need of maintenance and upgrades.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox_Goose_Manager, General Manager at The Fox & Goose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Kristine
I am so sorry that you were a little dissapointed wioth the standard of your room and I am looking into its maintenance. Im pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and also I was only too pleased to help you with your online ticket purchase.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Very nice and gracious staff. Helped us in whatever we needed (booking transportation to the airport for good prices, towels, restaurants around the area etc).
The room was very nice and well equipped (Fridge, TV, safe etc)
The location is ok its 5 minutes walk from Hanger lane tube station, which is 22 minutes drive from oxford street.
Big bed , good tv (content and device)...
was really fun..

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and take the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox_Goose_Manager, General Manager at The Fox & Goose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanls Ella for taking the trouble to leave your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have stayed here now on a number of occasions. The staff are always helpful and cheerful.
The room is always clean and the facilities in the adjacent bar and restaurant are also good.
It just lacks something......I guess that its the London effect?
Close to the tube network, you can travel easily into town for that special event but the Fox & Goose isn't that special event in itself. The price is "competitive" you can find less expensive character locally, just as clean and without the "glossy" front.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox_Goose_Manager, General Manager at The Fox & Goose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Hi Robert

Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed only one night prior to Heathrow departure, room was very nice, flat panel TV, free WiFi, comfortable beds, amenities included hot chocolate and biscuits along with the tea and coffee. Bathroom with tub and shower. Hanger Ln tube station is less than 10 min walk (though returning) you need to remember that you need to go through S7 subway to be on the correct side of the street. An older gentleman at the reception desk in the morning asked about our taxi arrangements and when I told him they were arranged for £25 (2 passengers 2 luggage), he said "no no, too much" and proceded to call the local car company and rearrange the pickup at £20....all on his own,( no prompting from me). The only thing I thought a little unnecessary was the 20p charge to print a boarding pass. I understand that if someone wants to print off an itinerary on your ink and paper you need to charge accordingly but for a boarding pass it had the feel of "penny pinching" when everything else had the feel of "all inclusive."

Room Tip: We were fairly far from the front lobby, if you have many bags or heavy bags you may want to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomCincinnatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox_Goose_Manager, General Manager at The Fox & Goose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Tom

Thanks for taking the time to pass on your thoughts. Pleased we could save some money for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Don't drive up Hangar Lane expecting to find this hotel as it is on the Alperton Road but nonetheless conveniently located for Hangar Lane station. Can't fault the staff - more than helpful enough. Menu was quite varied but food quality was very average. All of the red sauces that accompanied the meat platter seemed to be variations of tomato ketchup! Bedrooms were perfectly acceptable however the bathroom was rather tired. Most of the bathroom chromework was peeling off and the shower mixer was leaky. Having said that the room was clean and amply filled with tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, ample towels etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox_Goose_Manager, General Manager at The Fox & Goose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Aviview
I'm pleased you found us! We are actually on Hanger Lane but on the opposite side of the Hanger lane Gyratory. One side leads to Ealing, the other side to Alperton. If using a satnav put in 69 Hanger Lane and that should get you safely to us.
Sorry you were dissapointed with our food. We only serve ketchup with our hand made burgers! I'll also investigate the bathroom you stayed in. Thanks so much for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel 55
Hotel 55
#431 of 1,078 in London
410 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Hide London
The Hide London
#55 of 1,078 in London
970 reviews
4 mi away
Star Hotel B&B
Star Hotel B&B
#118 of 1,078 in London
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Hendon (The Hyde) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Hanger Lane Hotel
0.7 mi away
Park Plaza London Park Royal
Park Plaza London Park Royal
#138 of 1,078 in London
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox & Goose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox & Goose Hotel

Address: Hanger Lane | Ealing, London W5 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in London
#140 Family Hotel in London
#211 Romantic Hotel in London
#331 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £65 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox & Goose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Wembley Stadium… The Fox & Goose Hotel offers a warm welcome and stylish accommodation. We’re not just a family-friendly hotel though. You can expect freshly-prepared food and perfectly-poured pints - in the bar or garden - whenever you pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Fox & Goose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Goose Hotel
Fox Goose Hotel
Fox Goose London
Fox And Goose London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing