We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malmaison London
Ranked #264 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a great hotel!
Staff were very friendly when we checked in and as a bonus our room was ready early. I found the hotel lovely and warm unlike the comment below. We stayed at the weekend so I guess the hotel and area was quiet unlike work days.
Hotel has great decor and our room had everything you could wish for. The waterfall shower was amazing...
Breakfast was also well done with too much choice, only negative was the loud music to accompany the breakfast.
Enjoy you stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwiggy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    432
    197
    55
    35
See reviews for
137
725
51
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Was looking forward to stay, found room (15) good looking and cosy. Unfortunately it was quite cold, and central heater/aircon could not heat sufficiently. Also it was very noisy. Bathroom had some smell from sewage. Was woken 7.30 next day by construction wirk in room nearby. Asked to be moved to another room. But hotel was full, so no. You should think they would show consideration by not working next morning? Well no, again I was woken 7.30. Lucky for me that I own noise cancelling headphones! Steak restaurant was fair, but not living up to the expectations made on website

Room Tip: Room 15 is fine if you are a wheelchai user. If not, sink is uncomfortably low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OleTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed this weekend as part of a friend's 40th celebrations. The staff and their customer service were superb, always attentive and accommodating. The newly refurbished rooms were sumptuous and stylish with possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in! We also ate at the newly opened Stripbar restaurant - steaks and sides to die for. We'll be back very soon...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Having been fortunate enough to stay in numerous London hotels for both business and pleasure, the Malmaison has been simply one of the best. Close enough to everything London has to offer yet somehow avoiding the hordes of tourists. The experience starts with a friendly yet efficient welcome from the reception staff. The attitude of the staff throughout the hotel was exemplary - attentive without being intrusive. The decor thoughout and in particular in the bedrooms was stunning. As for the beds - they are surely the most comfortable beds in London.
We had dinner in the new restaurant and the food was fantastic. Having recently visited the Gaucho steak resturant opposite Smithfield Market I was amazed to find this place serving better steaks (and better value to boot!). The breakfast was also very nice.

On a final note, we happened to meet the hotel manager whilst we were there. His attentive and professional manner appears to permeate throughout the staff in this hotel - quite a refreshing change for a London hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for one night and found it to be a lovely hotel, with quite possibly the most friendly receptionist ever.

The location is a bit out of the way so not idea for Xmas shopping etc., but it is very quiet at weekends.

The room itself was lovely, with an amazing bathroom and huge, comfy bed. The decor wasn't to my personal taste but it wasn't hideous.

I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Great room and close location to Barbican tube. The decor was nicely done but I can't begin to understand why everyone that works here is so unbelievably grumpy!! When we checked in, the man at the desk clearly couldn't be bothered and was more interested in speaking to his female colleague. We didn't even get told what time breakfast was. At breakfast the next morning, everything was cold. We had to send the hot chocolates back twice and when our omelette came out also cold, we were told 'it can't be as it's only just been cooked'. I could assure you it was luke warm and again the customer service standards were far below acceptable. The couple next to us were also complaining of their food being average. I am a big fan of this hotel chain and just a little disappointed as every other city has wowed me with their excellent service and high standards.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have stayed at this boutique hotel and others in the chain,several times over the years. Tucked away on the edge of Smithfield it is stylish, trendy and convenient -ish. Finding the entrance is currently a challenge particularly if arriving by car as CrossRail seems to taken over most of the Smithfield area. However once in the square you can park easily albeit the parking charge is steep if parking during the day. The construction work doesn't impinge on the hotel and there is no noise issue. Our room 217 was spacious and with plenty of windows was very light I think the room had had a recent make over with a wet room/bathroom and all the stuff expected from a hotel of this standard. A Hugh selection of crisps, popcorn, chocolate, tea, coffee and fully stocked minibar. Free WiFi excellent.
Staff were pleasant and helpful on arrival. Later we realised the heating/aircon. Wasn't working and the room was cold. A call to reception brought prompt response and attempt to adjust heating. An offer of a room change with help with luggage was proffered. As we were on a time schedule we declined but it obviously was going to be no trouble.
After our evening out we retired to what can only be considered a sublime night in the most comfortable beds we have experienced. Fabulous.
Breakfast was included and we took it downstairs in the bar/brasserie. Continental plus full English . I must say this was disappointing. Toast was provided immediately so was cold before we got round to the full English. The sausage was not nice. The coffee was undrinkable.

Now that I'm being picky, the level of music in the reception and lounge was too loud and strident if you wanted to relax. Sign I'm getting old I think. Same for breakfast. I suspect The Malmaison is now a bit too trendy for us.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath you pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JollyRoger833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#133 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#106 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#455 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison London

Property: Malmaison London
Address: 18-21 Charterhouse Square, London EC1M 6AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Romantic Hotel in London
#196 Family Hotel in London
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#267 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison London 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Malmaison London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison London Hotel London
Malmaison Hotel London
London Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing