We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grea to start to Christmas”
Review of Malmaison London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison London
Ranked #263 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grea to start to Christmas”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed in a club room for 2 nights from the 23rd Dec. We were very impressed by the quallity and the finish of the room .Common areas are very hot but the room has separate heatin / air condirioning which is great. The room faced the square and was really peaceful. Everyone was so thoughtful and helpful, especially " Sarco "( probably have not spelt the name corractly , sorry ! ) the waiter in the bar who was always poite and friendly and never seems to sleep . The location is lovely , lots of interesting things but away from the West End madness. We walked to St Paul's , Southwark, Covent Garden , Charles Dicken's house etc and had a really interesting stay.
We did not eat at Malmaison as the main resturant and bar was closed due to low occupancy but look forward to trying the new brasserie when we visit again.
The hotel and area is lovely , very atmospheric !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OConnor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    453
    204
    56
    36
See reviews for
144
755
52
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a function nearby. The hotel was easy to find and within easy walking distance from Farringdon station. We received the usual Malmaison friendly welcome from reception, including some freshly-baked mince pies! Our room had obviously been recently refurbished, with a huge bed, all the amenities you would expect and nice views to the City. We also overslept as the room was unbelievably quiet for a city centre hotel and so didn't get to try the food. We'll be back...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGP1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had a couple of hick-ups while making our reservation and I was a little apprehensive about the location but the hotel did not disappoint. The staff were excellent, the room was excellent and the food was excellent. Also, very close to Barbican Station which was handy and nicely tucked away from the crowds. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UglyBettyUK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fantastic hotel and staff despite refurb work going on. Room an staff were great. Only issue wS hog water ran out on final morning due to builders. Staff were great and offered a discount to compensate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in London for shopping and a show. A friendly welcome with warm mince pies on reception. Room looked freshly done, very modern and comfortable, so much so we overslept on Sunday! All the staff were helpful, from the receptionist to the doorman. Good atmosphere in the bar, definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulg2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a great hotel!
Staff were very friendly when we checked in and as a bonus our room was ready early. I found the hotel lovely and warm unlike the comment below. We stayed at the weekend so I guess the hotel and area was quiet unlike work days.
Hotel has great decor and our room had everything you could wish for. The waterfall shower was amazing...
Breakfast was also well done with too much choice, only negative was the loud music to accompany the breakfast.
Enjoy you stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwiggy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Was looking forward to stay, found room (15) good looking and cosy. Unfortunately it was quite cold, and central heater/aircon could not heat sufficiently. Also it was very noisy. Bathroom had some smell from sewage. Was woken 7.30 next day by construction wirk in room nearby. Asked to be moved to another room. But hotel was full, so no. You should think they would show consideration by not working next morning? Well no, again I was woken 7.30. Lucky for me that I own noise cancelling headphones! Steak restaurant was fair, but not living up to the expectations made on website

Room Tip: Room 15 is fine if you are a wheelchai user. If not, sink is uncomfortably low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OleTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#149 of 1,067 in London
533 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#100 of 1,067 in London
874 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#433 of 1,067 in London
637 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison London

Property: Malmaison London
Address: 18-21 Charterhouse Square, London EC1M 6AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Romantic Hotel in London
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#196 Family Hotel in London
#267 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison London 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison London Hotel London
Malmaison Hotel London
London Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing