We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Malmaison London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison London
Ranked #222 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Mal club room (no.605). We traveled to London by train and had 2 big bags with us so headed to Malmaison in the morning to leave our bags at reception as we were spending the day in London (check in wasn't until 3). So when we arrived just after 11 we were thrilled when they said we could check in early. The reception staff were so incredibly friendly and helpful. The decoration was wonderful on the whole ground floor. Our room was brilliant. Big and spacious with such different decor from your usual hotel. We were pleasantly surprised! The bathroom was impeccable with a fantastic shower.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone whose looking for a luxury getaway, close yet not too close to the hustle and bussle of London. Fantastic staff and just a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Elise,
thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed the room and the service and thank you for your recommendation. We do hope to welcome you back to the London Mal soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

I paid a fortune to stay in a room that had the fire alarm go off until midnight. The hotel did nothing to compensate me for a terrible night of sleep. Upon check-out they just apologized and did not offer me anything. It is very easy to smile and say sorry. The food was less than impressive. I´m still waiting for an apology from the manager……...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Mary,
We sincerely apologise for the inconvenice caused.
Billal Peerbocus, our Front of House Manager has contacted you earlier this morning to apologise. If for some reason you have not received this or wish to discuss further please do contact Billal directly on lfrontofhousemanager@malmaison.com
Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed for one night in this hotel whilst on business in London and cannot think of anything good to say - it was terrible. When I checked in there was a deafening siren going off in reception - it was the fire alarm. I was told that it was a fault that would be sorted out and that it would not effect my stay - it certainly did as it went off multiple times during the night. The room was small and lacked any natural day light with a poor shower and paper thin walls. The dinner in the restaurant was both expensive and poor. I raised these issues with the Hotel on checking out and they promised to e-mail me about my poor experience - they never did. A really poor experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Paul,
We sincerely apologise for the inconvenice caused during your stay with us.
Billal Peerbocus, our Front of House Manager, has sent a letter to you this morning in a bid to restore your faith with us. If for some reason you have not received this or would like to discuss this further please do contact Billal directly on lfrontofhousemanager@malmaison.com
Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Malmaison stays true to the pattern of others I've stayed in. A bit whacky, but lots of fun. Odd colours and collections of furniture and "bits", but it all works. Happy, smiley staff. Extremely comfortable bed and, thankfully, very quiet room.
Charterhouse Square area is very quiet - apart from the after-office-drinking-sessions that spilled out onto the streets (and filled the Malmaison bar, too)
Great hotel - sort of OK value. Breakfast was good, but was an extra on the room rate I'd secured.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstonJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I booked a room at the Malmaison for my parents who recently came to visit me in London, specifically because the hotel markets itself as having king-bedded rooms and a convenient location near both my apartment and much of central London. Upon arrival, my parents were given a room that did not contain a king-sized bed but a much smaller bed and after asking that our booking request be honored, were told that this was the only room of this type that did not have the bed requested (but were not able to be moved). The experience continued to decline when they were woken up repeatedly beginning around 4am local time by various maintenance items and construction works.

After complaining to the hotel manager the next morning, they were told they would be given a refund of their payment for the room to compensate for these issues. However, after several weeks and despite getting this commitment in writing from the hotel manager, they have not received a refund and the hotel subsequently told the credit card company (when the charge was challenged) that the manager who made this promise was fired and the refund would not be made.

Overall, stay at the Malmaison at your own risk! There are a number of similarly priced and MUCH better hotels in the immediate area. For a fantastic experience very nearby, try the Zetter Hotel on Clerkenwell Road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCTraveller323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Please accept our sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused to your parents. Our Front of House Manager Billal has since been in touch in the hopes of putting this right and I do hope that we can resolve this for you shortly.
Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel is in an excellent location - quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, but only 15 minutes walk from Covent garden. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great decor in bars and rooms.Excellent deal included breakfast and free cocktail for two of us in the bar- some very good local bars and restaurants also-definitely going to be our hotel of choice when in London next- Usually use booking.com or late rooms to book hotels, but nothing they offered could compare with the deal and excellence of the hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PureHybrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola C, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us. We hope we can welcome you back to Mal London soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Mal Club Room for one evening. From the moment we arrived to when we left the service from all the hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. My requests upon booking were all met with a couple of complimentary extras which were a lovely surprise. The reception staff arranged for a cake and hand written card for my partner's birthday and a later check out.

Nice view of charter house square, quiet and a little more secluded. Great shower and an eclectically designer feel to the room. Espresso machine,kettle,tea,biscuits, hairdryer, usual toiletries. My one little niggle however, only 1 set of bathrobe and slippers. An iPhone Dock would of been good too.
Nice cocktails and good cooked breakfast-we paid an extra £5 each to top up the already included continental breakfast.

Overall a lovely experience, thank you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M_Christodoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola C, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for choosing Mal London to celebrate your partners birthday. We're so pleased that you had a great stay with us and thank you for your feedback.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#211 of 1,077 in London
902 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#389 of 1,077 in London
705 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#247 of 1,077 in London
566 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#640 of 1,077 in London
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison London

Address: 18-21 Charterhouse Square, London EC1M 6AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in London
#184 Romantic Hotel in London
#266 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison London 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison London Hotel London
Malmaison Hotel London
London Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing