We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch hotel with delightful and quirky touches”
Review of Malmaison London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison London
Ranked #225 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After my prior trip to London, booked by my company travel agent, involved a sub-par hotel without a proper in room shower, I quizzed my colleagues on which hotel they use in London. Our office is in Clerkenwell, and over and over, people recommended the Malmaison. I'm happy to report I was not disapointed with the Malmaison. The room was well decorated and spacious with big windows. The bed was comfortable. Plus, there were fun touches like room service breakfast served in picnic baskets. I spent time at both the hotel restaurant (a steakhouse) and the bar, which featured really knowledgeable bar tenders and some fun cocktails. Staff were helpful and friently. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfran_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We're delighted to come so highly recommended and pleased that we could live up to expectations. We hope to welcome you back when you are in London next time.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Having some cocktails at the bar!!! Newly setup joint with amazingly friendly staff and a cozy but lovely vibe !!!

Anton provides !!! Great bar man !!! He fed my fiancé popcorn!!!

The wine selection and DJ were a great compliment to the evening !

Yes!!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank BruceOfLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderfully positive review of Stripbar & Steak. We're thrilled you had a great evening and hope to see you again soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This medium-sized hotel is moderately well situated one block away from Barbican tube station. It's on a small, tranquil park square surrounded by some quaint old buildings. The outside is nothing special, but on the inside the hotel is in very good shape and nicely decorated (though there is a little bit of a subtly racy theme, especially to the downstairs bar/restaurant; nothing overt however). The rooms too are in excellent shape with comfortable beds and large flat-screen TV sets. Bathrooms feel luxurious with stone tiling and shiny fixtures.
Breakfast is extra, and not cheap, but good. There's a continental variant which is not extensive but very high-quality with real freshly squeezed orange juice. There are also a la carte cooked breakfasts likewise of high quality.
Only complaint is the gym, which is awkwardly located, lacks attached shower and changing room, and has only a couple treadmills etc. without any weights.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank R0dluvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments following your stay with us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel and the restaurant.
The reception team do have a map of a deightful London run, should you wish to workout with a view!
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

No problems whatsoever with service, staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The room was very modern and stylish, but most importantly it was comfortable. There were some odd looking books we found above the tv that seemed out of place but they did not affect what we though of the rest of the room. The bathroom was shower only, but still no complaints. Location of the hotel was great as it was only 3 minutes away from Barbican station - which is very handy if you have a lot of bags! Only slight downside was that we didn't have a great view... just the behinds of other buildings in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x17011995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback following your stay with us. It is with this feedback from guests that we are able to constantly improve our standards and offerings.
We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked Malmaison as it had a good rate and we know the Brand, which fitted our needs for a weekend away. When I arrived I was happy with the room we were given, a bit funky and overlooking the square. It had an amazing bed and the shower was great too. I really liked it. We ate in the "strip bar" the first night and it was a very good meal with attentive staff and a nice ambience. We went for a walk later and noticed that they were setting up barriers for a cycle race. It was a Friday so there were quite a lot of people in the lane towards Smithfield market. The next day there was a make shift reception for the race in the foyer so it was busy. We went out for dinner and had to fight our way past the crowds. The whole area was buzzing with people and loud music and loud speaker announcements. I noticed the sign said Sky Nocturne and began to worry it would go on very late. Thankfully the noise finished around 11pm and we avoided the crowds on the way back to the hotel by taking a longer route.
I have to say it was the check out that was most memorable. A lovely friendly young French lady checked us out and was so nice. If you could clone her, what a great customer experience you would have. I didn't catch her name but she was exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your weekend, and hopefully the Nocturn Bike Race added to the memorable London atmosphere. Federica is an absolute joy and we're so pleased that she left a lasting impression with you.
We hope we can welcome you back to the London Mal soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arriving at this well placed hotel for much of London attractions - Only 2 minutes stroll from the Barbican station we were welcomed warmly and made to feel special. Leaving bags behind until our room became ready we headed into Oxford Circus, using St PAuls tube station this time - 6 minute walk. The Duty Manager presented us with a free cocktail and virgin cocktail as he noticed that we were there to celebrate our youngest daughters end to her mock GCSE exams - well impressed that the agent passed through this information when I made the booking! Thank you.
Attention to detail in this hotel is second to none, a mirror in the bathroom that doesnt steam up, funky/fun toiletries, "strip bar" steak restaurant with knowledgable and friendly waitresses, Yorkshire pudding bread rolls to die for! and the comfiest and quietest night sleep I have ever had in any London hotel (apart ffrom the 0230hr recyling wagon arrival!).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelifeSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your fab-u-luss review following your stay with us and thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We do hope you find another excuse to come and visit us soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

As the description says, from an experience point of view it's a very nice hotel - it's comfortable, well equipped, good service and decent food - in those senses it's a perfectly good hotel. What it doesn't do well however is offer good value for money - it's good but it's not as good as it prices itself and is potentially operating under a sense that some of the chic/stylish/quirky touches to the hotel make it something particularly special as more of a luxury hotel but that isn't the case. Location is a bit off the beaten track so certainly not a good choice if you are looking for a city centre hotel but on the flip side great if you are looking for somewhere quieter aware from the hustle and bustle. I've stayed here a few times and as much as I have thoroughly enjoyed my stays I cannot justify the price when you can get the same comfort and service for alot less in the area

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcg1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#216 of 1,076 in London
902 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#398 of 1,076 in London
705 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#248 of 1,076 in London
565 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#633 of 1,076 in London
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison London

Address: 18-21 Charterhouse Square, London EC1M 6AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in London
#184 Romantic Hotel in London
#266 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison London 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison London Hotel London
Malmaison Hotel London
London Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing