We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the mal does it again”
Review of Malmaison London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison London
Ranked #263 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the mal does it again”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Have just stayed at the Malmaison in Clerkenwell for work and was really impressed. The guy in reservations who made our booking was really helpful even checking with the general manager that they could do a special late deal for us. When we arrived, the check in was really friendly and efficient. We had been upgraded (without asking) to superior double rooms as we had to work in our rooms. The room was a great size with a huge bed. I had stayed at the Shaftesbury Metropolis Hyde Park the night before, having read good reviews about that on tripadvisor and the Mal surpassed it in every way for only just slightly more. The bathroom products were fab, as always, the bed as well as being huge was really comfy and lots of lovely touches like a bathrobe and cd player in the room. The breakfast was fabulous, loads of choice both continental and cooked - the eggs benedict was delicious. We have stayed in a number of Malmaison hotels and Hotel Du Vins before (with and without the dog) and have consistently had good service in a luxury hotel for a fair price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eviecUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    453
    204
    56
    36
See reviews for
144
755
52
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
337 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Great location in the City of London next to Smithfield. Loads of things to see and places to eat locally - though it's hard to beat the Mal's own restaurant. Their Fresh and Local menu is fantastic value, though the cheese was all French on the night! The superior room was spacious and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Stayed at Mal London having been to others around the country and being a fan of their sister chain, Hotel du Vin. We booked on the Room/Dinner/Breakfast package in a standard room, which turned out to be excellent value. All were exceptional. Dinner in the lovely restaurant was from a set menu (which had more than enough options) but you could mix and match with a la carte at additional cost if you wanted to. The wine list is amazing if you know your vino but expect to pay top dollar for it. Hotel is located on Charterhouse Sq about 2 mins easy walk from Barbican tube station (Met/Circle/H&C lines), so you can easily access most of central London in well under 30 mins. There are a handful of bars en route if you fancy getting out in the evening. We turned up 3 hours before check-in to ditch our bags for the day and were delighted to be given a room straight away - the staff were helpful all weekend. I can't recommend the place highly enough - it has become our new favourite base in London for our frequent visits.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We've just had a great stay in this Malmaison with all the usual Mal perks and levels of comfort (have stayed in the Glasgow and Belfast ones before) but this was the first time we had traveled with our dog and what an enjoyable experience it was! We'd struggled to find a London hotel that was Pet Friendly* until someone mentioned the Malmaison chain - we'd just assumed that it was not going to be - and they came up trumps with lots of welcomes from the staff and a doggy bed in the room. Our dog even preferred the Mal bed to her own that we'd bought with us! Top marks :-)

* We'd initially been looking at the Montague on the Gardens in Bloomsbury as it comes up on Google as Pet Friendly, which indeed it is, but they'd wanted £1000 returnable deposit which is crazy! We ended up paying a flat rate £10 per dog per visit at the Malmaison...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragoora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

I stayed at the Malmaison for one night, with a friend, as part of the 'stay for £10 on a Sunday if you spend £75 in the brasserie' deal. As rooms generally run to around £240 per night this is a very attractive offer.

Charterhouse Square is a beautiful, green and leafy oasis with easy access to the rest of London be it on foot - the Barbican is minutes away - or on the numerous buses and tube. Be aware that it is very quiet in this area on Saturday and Sunday's with a lot of the smaller eateries and shops closed as they cater to City workers. There's a Tesco Express on the corner nr Barbican Tube for drinks and snacks. Restaurants, such as Smiths of Smithfield, along Charterhouse St are open weekends

If you want a different experience of London you are a couple of tube stops (to Liverpool St) or bus (153) to explore Spitalfields Market and the areas connections with the Huguenot Silk Weavers, Jack the Ripper and the Dennis Severs House. Plus trendy Hoxton & Shoreditch. Or press on a bit further to the Geffrye Museum.

We had a twin room, comfy beds and downy pillows, which was very spacious. There was a desk with a high speed internet connection (complimentary I believe) and WiFi in the hotel's public areas. Flat screen TV, CD player and small fridge in the room. You can request fresh milk to be delivered in the morning along with your morning newspaper. There's the usual tea/coffee/kettle combo. The windows open if you want some fresh air.

Plenty of hot water in the bathroom with a bath and shower. Toiletries provided are a duel shampoo/shower gel, hair conditioner and small soap. Smelt like Molton Brown Yuan Zhi products in Malmaison 'spa' packaging.

There's an iron, ironing board and safe in the wardrobe.

The food in the restaurant was about 85% there and the service very attentive and friendly.

They did charge me £35, after my departure, for two breakfasts we didn't actually partake of but did refund me without any argument.

All in all a very pleasant hotel that would be perfect for trip away with the one you love as well as for anyone needing to be near the city without feeling they are in a concrete jungle.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebabe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Stayed at Malmaison for 4 nights on a business trip. The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet location in Charterhouse square nearest to the Barbican tube station. The interior of the hotel is dimly-lit but well-designed. Meanwhile the rooms (and bathrooms) are probably slightly larger than rooms of a similar price in other London hotels. Ameneties such as fridge, hair dryer, cd player, flat screen tv, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee set, safe, were all there. The food was exceptionally good both for breakfast and lunch. It appears that most of the people staying there were visiting London for business. Didn't have any problems with hotel service and they allowed a 3pm check out which was convenient as I had a late flight from Heathrow. Certainly recommended for business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adithepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

I stayed at this Hotel with my husband for two nights to celebrate his birthday and we were extremely pleased with it. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable, with air con (unlike the Mal in Glasgow). Drinks etc were a very good price compared with usual London Hotels.
The location was different, a bit away from the very centre but it had character, with a peaceful square just outside.
Went to Club Gascon restaurant just round the corner, also v good (One Michelin star!)
I would certainly return

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#149 of 1,067 in London
533 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#100 of 1,067 in London
874 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#433 of 1,067 in London
638 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison London

Property: Malmaison London
Address: 18-21 Charterhouse Square, London EC1M 6AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Romantic Hotel in London
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#196 Family Hotel in London
#267 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison London 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Malmaison London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison London Hotel London
Malmaison Hotel London
London Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing