We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm definitely going back!”
Review of Malmaison London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison London
Ranked #262 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“I'm definitely going back!”
Reviewed 7 September 2009

This was my first time in a Malmaison hotel, and I was not disapointed.
I arrived 2 hours early in order to leave my cases in reception however they were very accomodating and within minutes my room was ready for me. As it was my birthday they gave extra toiletries as a treat which was a nice touch!
I spent the day relaxing in the room before my partner arrived which was lovely - a great flat screen tv, cd player, lovely bathroom, and great room.
There were a few faults - the lightshade was broken and there was a rip in the bedsheet which were disapointing considering this is not a cheap hotel. However we ate in the hotel that night and this more than made up for it as the food was delicious!
I would definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah6969pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    467
    212
    57
    36
See reviews for
152
774
55
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The Malmaison London is a 2 minute walk from the Barbican tube station in Charthouse Square - a very quite part of london with a small park. The building itself is very old and historic. the staff at the hotel were very helpful and held our cases prior to check in and put them in our room for our arrival. The room was very big but unfortunaly the views was not too good. We had the sunday papers delivered the next morning. Unlike other Mal hotels there was no DVD player in the room, but on the whole, I would still visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Another great stay at this hotel. It's hard to believe you are in London - no hustle or bustle - look out over a small fenced park area. Lots of parking both opposite the hotel and around nearby streets. Near to tube stations. Great staff, fantastic breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poshpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

My Partner and I travelled to the UK for a three day midweek trip this August, we were eager to stay at the malmaison as we previously stayed in the liverpool one and it was unbelievabley enjoyable. However this was not to be in the london version.

On arrival we found the girl at the desk to be very stand offish and almost rude. We instantly felt like an inconvienance! Not a nice feeling when we over budgeted ourselves to especially stay in this hotel.
The room was nice, again not as nice as the mal in liverpool but it was clean and airy, a standard hotel room which in my opinion is over rated and over priced.
The bathroom was clean nothing out of the ordinary again, and the bed was very comfortable.
For the whole three nights we stayed there we felt like we were putting people out when we had to enquire about anything!! The only thing i have to give the hotel is the food was excellent in the restaurant and the staff in the restaurant were really nice!!!
I wouldnt stay here again as i feel for what we paid for it we could get an equally nice hotel in the centre of london for what we paid here. Getting the tube in and out to the main city from this hotel was costly and time consuming.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Have just stayed at the Malmaison in Clerkenwell for work and was really impressed. The guy in reservations who made our booking was really helpful even checking with the general manager that they could do a special late deal for us. When we arrived, the check in was really friendly and efficient. We had been upgraded (without asking) to superior double rooms as we had to work in our rooms. The room was a great size with a huge bed. I had stayed at the Shaftesbury Metropolis Hyde Park the night before, having read good reviews about that on tripadvisor and the Mal surpassed it in every way for only just slightly more. The bathroom products were fab, as always, the bed as well as being huge was really comfy and lots of lovely touches like a bathrobe and cd player in the room. The breakfast was fabulous, loads of choice both continental and cooked - the eggs benedict was delicious. We have stayed in a number of Malmaison hotels and Hotel Du Vins before (with and without the dog) and have consistently had good service in a luxury hotel for a fair price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eviecUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire, england
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Great location in the City of London next to Smithfield. Loads of things to see and places to eat locally - though it's hard to beat the Mal's own restaurant. Their Fresh and Local menu is fantastic value, though the cheese was all French on the night! The superior room was spacious and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Stayed at Mal London having been to others around the country and being a fan of their sister chain, Hotel du Vin. We booked on the Room/Dinner/Breakfast package in a standard room, which turned out to be excellent value. All were exceptional. Dinner in the lovely restaurant was from a set menu (which had more than enough options) but you could mix and match with a la carte at additional cost if you wanted to. The wine list is amazing if you know your vino but expect to pay top dollar for it. Hotel is located on Charterhouse Sq about 2 mins easy walk from Barbican tube station (Met/Circle/H&C lines), so you can easily access most of central London in well under 30 mins. There are a handful of bars en route if you fancy getting out in the evening. We turned up 3 hours before check-in to ditch our bags for the day and were delighted to be given a room straight away - the staff were helpful all weekend. I can't recommend the place highly enough - it has become our new favourite base in London for our frequent visits.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#126 of 1,069 in London
886 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#141 of 1,069 in London
543 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#398 of 1,069 in London
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison London

Property: Malmaison London
Address: 18-21 Charterhouse Square, London EC1M 6AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Romantic Hotel in London
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
#196 Family Hotel in London
#267 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison London 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison London Hotel London
Malmaison Hotel London
London Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing