We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Ranked #386 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here as I got a good price for a concert at the 02 and was so happy with the choice. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy and have all the little bits you need for a weekend away.

The location was so ideal with the very handy DLR line around the corner. There are also many local shops on the road behind the hotel that are very cheap for anything you could need.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant as such, but this suited us fine and we were able to order a Dominos to have a little feast in the hotel room.

We were woken up at 4am (as was the rest of the hotel) with the fire alarm after a drunken guest broke the glass, and this was going off for around half an hour, but the staff were really apologetic and tried to resolve the problem as fast as they could.

The free breakfast was fab. Although like others have mentioned there are no bacon, mushroom and beans but there is enough variety for everyone to find something to eat - and after all it is free and who doesn't love a freebie.

The staff were all lovely. We arrived before the check in time hoping to off load our bags in the luggage storage and after a short wait we we're given our room early which was even better! When we we're checking out, the staff let us leave our bags which were kept safe and secure. On our return, we were a couple hours early for the train and the staff allowed us to wait in the lobby and have a few drinks before we had to make our way to the train station.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klievage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hi Kliavge
Thanks for taking time tio review about your experience in our hotel .We are very happy that you like staying with us . I will forward your good comment to the team as they are working to hard to make guest stay comfortable.
About that fire alarm we are sorry about that we did our best to sort it out as soon as possible .Thanks for your patience that night as well .
We hopefully you will consider our hotel for staying in London .

Regards
M Zeeshan
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel:
Nice, modern property ideally suited for a business trip. It is VERY convenient to the DLR rail line and a short walk to some eating possibilities in Limehouse.

Check in:
Easy, pleasant staff. A few doors through which to schlep your luggage, but nothing daunting.

The room:
Nicely appointed, decent size. My room faced the road but the double windows essentially blocked traffic noise. Decor is simple modern. Hanging clothing is a bit annoying as it is all exposed on a rack and your items are hang-stacked from the wall into the room. There are shelves for stacking sweaters, shoes, etc, but are a bit shallow. Decent lighting and the bed was comfy.

The bathroom:
It is small, but workable. The shower had nice water pressure and water was heated quickly, THAT'S important.

Breakfast:
There is a nice breakfast buffet, nice variety, newspapers on hand and a bright space sharing the lobby. This can be a busy hotel so seating is sometimes a couple minutes wait, but guests are in a hurry for meetings or seeing the sights so they don't linger too long.

The verdict:
Though the area can feel a bit dicey at night, it didn't feel unsafe, just keep your guard as you would anywhere else. There are simple, good food options and a grocer for some room staples. The nearness of the DLR is key.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear MarkWorld,

Thank you for your thorough review of Holiday Inn Express Limehouse Hotel! I am very happy to read that we met your expectations, and I look forward seeing you again!

Kind regards

Tibor Kurai
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I visited there back in July 2013 but the staff was great. I wanted to stay in London but everything was too expensive. This place was reasonably priced, close to the train station, and had a couple of nice restaurants walking distance. For the price, it was clean (just refurbished) and the staff was very professional and friendly. They made sure if I had any questions, they'd get me an answer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Bob C,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Limehouse Hotel! I am very happy to read that we've met your expectations and that the staff done their best to provide sufficient information, and that they left an impression good enough to remember them half a year later too!

We look forward seeing you next summer too!

Kind regards

Tibor Kurai
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We hadn't been for some time and it has had a refurbishment for the Olympics. The site is great five minutes from the DLR and with some great food in Limehouse to try. Cross the road to the Thames path and Canary Wharf is a mile in one direction and Tower Bridge is one and a half in the other. Great customer service from all the staff, it was even better than our last visit. Holiday Inn may be cheap and cheerful but the rooms are comfortable with great showers. If you are driving it is outside the congestion charge zone and has secure on site parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Brian8008,

Thank you for returning to our hotel, I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward seeing you again!

Regards

Tibor Kurai
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent 3 weeks touring Europe in April/May 2013. On our last leg back to London we wanted to experience a different part of London away from the hustle and bustle of the commercial city. The Holiday Inn Express Limehouse was a lovely hotel with an amazing shower! It was a few blocks away from the Limehouse tube station and to get to and fro by foot was easy.

The staff at the hotel and the food was good. Very accommodating. I will recommend this hotel to someone who wants a place just to shower and sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear MrsGees11,

Thank you for commenting on your stay in our hotel!
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again on your next trip in Europe!

Kind regards
Tibor Kurai
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in August 2013. It's a good clean hotel, with friendly staff and free breakfast every morning. Can't complain there. Its just across the river from Canary Wharf, you could walk or take the DLR. The limehouse station is just 5 minutes away on foot. You can get an oyster pass from a little store right next to it. This will come in handy since you'll probably find yourself using the tube quite a bit in order to get to most of the tourist attractions. I'd recommend this hotel however because the service was good, and free breakfast is appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SD0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear SD0814,

I am really happy for that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and we look forward seeing you again!

Kind regards

Tibor Kurai
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had occasion to stay for an extended period of time and were very satisfied. The staff was always smiling and friendly and answered our questions promptly. The room was clean and at least three times there was a supervisor or hotel staff who checked up on the cleaning and asked if we were satisfied. There were several times when we were in the room until early afternoon and there was never a problem with this. Once, we had a problem with the electrical in the room and the staff quickly made accommodations and a price adjustment. The problem was taken care of promptly on the first business morning (naturally it happened on a Saturday night!). The bathroom and shower were attractive and very nice to use. There is a good buffet breakfast included which had yogurt, fresh fruit, a coffee machine that had cappucino and lattes and the black coffee was very good. It also had 4 types of cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, baked beans, croissants, petits pains, and toast. It was well attended by the staff and kept clean and replenished. The breakfast usually kept me full until late lunch. The tables are cleaned almost immediately upon finishing by a very nice, friendly lady. There is no dresser or closet, just shelves and a pole to hang things up. Once I got used to this arrangement, I found it worked fine. One caveat: if you need a wake-up call, they provide the service but we found on a couple occasions the call came late and once not until we had gone to breakfast. To be sure, bring an alarm clock or set your watch. There is free Wi-Fi which can be slow at times but when I asked, they immediately put me in touch with technical support and the problem was cleared up promptly. I will definitely return to this hotel and I considered it an excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avery510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Avery510,

Thank you for your time and effort commenting on your stay in our hotel.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that even though you experienced some issues with the electricity, it didn't ruin it, and that the staff done their best to make your stay comfortable.
We take our guest's thoughts very seriously and do our best to improve the quality of service we provide, I have forwarded your comment to the relevant departments.
We look forwards seeing you again!

Kind regards
Tibor Kurai
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#313 of 1,077 in London
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse

Address: 469-475 The Highway, London E1W 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#355 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £57 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse hotel, 5 minutes' walk from Limehouse DLR and 5 miles from London-City Airport. The modern Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse lies just outside the City of London and the Congestion Charge zone in the East London district of Limehouse. It's just a short walk to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) links for 20-minute journeys to central London and London-City Airport. The Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse's 4 meeting rooms can be tailored to meetings for up to 20 people. You can hop on the DLR train for 5 minutes to Canary Wharf and Bank stations, and get to exhibitions and conferences at ExCel exhibition centre in just 13 minutes. There's wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Drive just 10 minutes to The O2 arena in Greenwich for live music and entertainment. You can buy a London Travelcard to get to the city's sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing