We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for visiting London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Ranked #431 of 1,082 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is outside of the London congestion zone but within a 3 minute walk to Limehouse station which is only 2 stops on the tube to Bank and a couple more to Oxford Circus. This makes it a great cheap way to visit London. The hotel itself was very comfortable with nice well appointed rooms. It is also close to Canary Wharf with its shops and restaurants. The only down side was the breakfast which was a limited and badly organised. The last thing you want to be doing in the morning is queuing for the buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_Cosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good hotel, good reception team, no noise, good internet, good breakfast and most important things, is near of place to visit london, start from london tower bridge and move all direction by tourist bus hop hop off. Cost = staying in london with a medium budget this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vieirafh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Super Holiday Inn, with good and friendly managers, Deepak and Tibor, who responded brilliantly to our requests and requirements during our stay. Would thoroughly recommend this as ideal location for London visit.

Room Tip: First floor suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BoomShackerLacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst attending an event in London not as central as you would want for London but DLR was very close by so was ok for using public transport and the night bus services.
Rooms where clean and tidy Aircon was useful as it was very warm indeed.
Staff very helpful
Breakfast was good and service was outstanding.

Room Tip: One not on the main road as this can be very nosiy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StephenMGBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having had a less than stellar experience at a H.I.W. in Birmingham, I was less than ecstatic when I was booked here, but surprise; they're not all the same!

I was concerned about the travel time into London but this place is literally (not figuratively, I know the difference), 5 minutes walk to the Limehouse DLR station where it is a 10-12 minute journey into Bank or Tower Gate and thence the choob.

It's not in the best location though, being sited behind a cement works. There are a few shops on Commercial Road but little in the way of eateries. The Hotel will order in takeaways for you but if you want to eat out, not so much. I was fine as I work near Spitalfields and the City, so no shortage of stomach stuffers nearby. Finish work, walk for a bit, eat, go to Hotel. The area is rapidly gentrifying though so the cement works may have a limited existence I suspect.

The room was at the back and, surprise, quiet. The aircon worked well and kept me not too hot during a mad heatwave. I threw the duvet away and blagged a sheet. The usual stuff is there, the same as all the other H.I.E. places, but this time the bed was firm and, heat notwithstanding, comfortable. The breakfast is the same mass-produced stuff you find in most budget hotels, i left it alone. The staff were, to a person, brilliant and couldn't help enough. Top marks there.

All in all I'd stay here (as I sometimes have to use a Travelodge in Bethnall Green I think I'll move my allegiance here as it would seem the Ibis has priced itself out of my companies range now).

Pleased, will use again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back for the quiets. find the route that avoids the Rotherhite tunnel. go tot he s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjz1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Probably best not to stay here unless you need too.

Now its good value this is true, but it comes at a cost, breakfast is decent enough if a little sparse, rooms are clean and presentable but no more than that.

They dont do food in the evening, which wouldnt be a bad thing for London but there are virtually no restaurants in the immediate location. Not the nicest of areas to walk around either, so wouldnt venture walking around at night, feels rather intimidating, groups of people just hanging around.

Cheap though!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diveboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Diveboy77,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Janice A
Case Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here in a family room in May 2014, decent room for four of us, could not get a very good deal as booked for one Sat night only at short notice - best price was £170 via Expedia.
Located in a nice area right in the heart of Docklands - easy access to central London via the Docklands light railway (train to Bank then tube straight to Tottenham Court Rd / Oxford St - DLR station about 5 mins walk from the hotel)

Only downside was the choices available at breakfast - hot items normally include sausages, eggs, baked beans - on our Sunday morning only baked beans from the list were available - my grumpy teenagers refused to eat any of the cold items on offer

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holiday Inn Express London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn London - West
#308 of 1,082 in London
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse

Address: 469-475 The Highway, London E1W 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#353 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £57 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse hotel, 5 minutes' walk from Limehouse DLR and 5 miles from London-City Airport. The modern Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse lies just outside the City of London and the Congestion Charge zone in the East London district of Limehouse. It's just a short walk to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) links for 20-minute journeys to central London and London-City Airport. The Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse's 4 meeting rooms can be tailored to meetings for up to 20 people. You can hop on the DLR train for 5 minutes to Canary Wharf and Bank stations, and get to exhibitions and conferences at ExCel exhibition centre in just 13 minutes. There's wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Drive just 10 minutes to The O2 arena in Greenwich for live music and entertainment. You can buy a London Travelcard to get to the city's sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing