We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel near London City Airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London Excel Docklands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ranked #447 of 1,086 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel near London City Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I choose this hotel for its near position to the LCA Airport. Metro Station is in front where the Excel Convention Center is, so nice restaurants are nearby. To Airport just a quick transfer in the next metro station and then 2 more for the airport. 10 minute journey!

Hotel is OK, good breakfast!

City center is about 25 minutes away and the Emirates Line is walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Innovu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, Laura Girdauskaite, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Ibis London Excel Docklands. I am pleased to read that you have had and enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    810
    431
    118
    87
See reviews for
260
633
154
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Level Contributor
418 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are really not nice. Everything is cheap about them. (The bed is a notable and well noted exception). Breakfast is much of the same. This is the extension of cattle class to hotels. For visiting trade shows the place is admittedly extremely well located, but otherwise I can't imagine why you would want to stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, Laura Girdauskaite, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you have found the location convenient for your visit in Excel area.
Ibis hotel is economy brand, which offers standard rooms all other the world. Our sister hotel, Novotel London Excel- 4star, is offering more luxurious rooms, which might meet your expectations better during your next visit in London.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

You know that you shouldn't expect a luxury hotel when you go to Ibis, but we were pleasantly suprised. Rooms were clean and big, hotel close to the public transport, friendly staff, abnd good rates.
A good surprise

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey_BonvinDechoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, Laura Girdauskaite, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Olivier Audrey,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us and your compliments to the team. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Ibis London Excel- Docklands. We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth,UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after a concert at the O2. It was exceptionally good value for money. Twin room was clean with a great view. Shower was strong. Check in and out was efficient. Only concern I would have is the size of the single bed, I'm 5"6 and slim but felt like I could fall out of bed, although this could be because I'm used to sleeping in a bigger bed. It was very convenient for visiting the O2. I thought I would be disturbed by other guests or even the airport close by but I wasn't.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMonkees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, Laura Girdauskaite, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time sharing your experience following your stay at Ibis London Excel-Docklands.
I am happy to read that we met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit in London.

Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed on here on business, the bathroom was very small , Greta location for the arena and efficient check in and check out, can't fault it although a little expensive...the staff were very helpful and polite

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryP907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, Laura Girdauskaite, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Terry,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us and the compliments to the team. I am glad to read that you found the location convenient for your visit in London.
Please be advised that we do have quite few promotions available on our website directly if the rooms are booked in advance.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Ibis London Excel Docklands at a great price for bed and breakfast and only booked 2 weeks before we travelled. The room was very clean and tidy and just the right size that was needed, however didn't realise that you had to pay to watch the tv! Free Wifi around the hotel and in the room made up for that. The bar prices were extremely good as I was expecting it to be very expensive but £3.50 a pint is good value. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet style help yourself and the ingredients was very very nice, especially the sausages !! First stay at an Ibis hotel and won't be the last. Staff were excellent to. First class service all round. One last thing it's about 20 mins in a taxi or £30 going into Central London

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, Laura Girdauskaite, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear John,
Thank you so much for your feedback following your stay at Ibis London Excel-Docklands. I am pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.
Please be advised that we are on the way to upgrade our TV system next week to Free View channels, as at the moment only basic 14 channels are available. At this stage only blockbuster movies are at extra cost.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to London.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The room was to small, the bathroom sink leaked, the staff were less than friendly! After a 30 min argument with staff that barely spoke English I was allowed to have my breakfast that I had paid for in advance because initially "computer says NO!" They demanded I pay again...until they scrolled down the page to find that I fact they had made a mistake - no apology and a "you may eat now" was the best I got - avoid like the plague.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your experience following your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met during this visit and would like to have a little bit more feedback from you in order to investigate and follow up with the team involved.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on h3655-dm@accor.com
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#550 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#301 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#265 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Property: Ibis London Excel Docklands
Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in London
#300 Family Hotel in London
#327 Romantic Hotel in London
#340 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing