We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expensive for what is on offer” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London Excel Docklands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ranked #452 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“expensive for what is on offer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for one night visiting an exhibition at the Excel - it has got to be one of the most basic rooms i have ever stayed in and makes the Premier Lodge look like a five star establishment. Despite that the bed was pretty comfortable and the location for the Excel couldn't be closer. Plenty of restaurants and places to eat and drink very close by means you don't need to stay in the hotel which is no bad thing. Breakfast was a help yourself affair and a reasonable selection of food was available. For half the price it might have been ok but for £200+ for one night was extortionate to say the least,,,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear David,
Thank you for choosing the ibis London ExCeL-Docklands during your recent event at ExCeL and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the ibis beds, the breakfast buffet and that the location was suitable for your attendance at the event at ExCeL.

We find our pricing structure very competitive for the hotels available on site and in the vicinity of ExCeL however I have taken note of your comments for reference.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    809
    429
    118
    86
See reviews for
260
632
154
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night after a concert at O2 , location for O2 is ideal with emitrates cable car only 5 minutes down the road and excel custom house DLR underground 5 minutes away
Check inn was fast and efficient there were 6 of us in 3 twin rooms rooms on 5 th floor all next to each other rooms are not big but as we were only there to sleep the night this didn't bother us but I suppose if you are staying longer there is now where to store cases etc. room was very clean with kettle and tea/ coffee facilities. I like the bathrooms not big but showers very good powerful and hot.
Had breakfast which was very nice choice of cereals, yogurts, breads,and cooked breakfast
I would definitely stay here again for a concert at O2 as very reasonable price if booked early

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveholidays1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the 5 stars! I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the ibis room product and our buffet breakfast.
Feedback is important to us and I am pleased that the staff looked after you during your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This is the smallest rooms that I have ever seen in a hotel along with the smallest bathrooms that I have EVER seen period! I am a small female & I had problems maneuvering in this place. The bed had a 2 inch foam mattress on it & needless to say was extremely uncomfortable. There was absolutely no place at the foot of the bed to walk or place your luggage. The staff did the best that they could & the service was good. However, the accommodations were horrible. I would not recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Diane,

It is with regret that the ibis product did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies.

On a more positive note, I am pleased to read that the staff looked after you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Uncomfortable rooms and small pokey bathrooms (that resembled airoplane toilets) with no room to move. TV channels didn't work except BBC1. Noise throughout the whole night, walls extremely thin. Upon complaining on checkout reception said they would review and get back to us.. the next day the receptionist that contacted us was beyond rude. Called us liars about the noise and continually spoke over us. Disgusting customer service.. would never stay at another Ibis

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at here on a Tuesday night after a concert at the O2 arena and I was very happy with my stay.
The room and en-suite it was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable. We had a room with a view of the water which was beautiful.
The staff were very polite and helpful.
We didn't have breakfast so couldn't comment on that but there was a Tesco Extra in the same street as the hotel so we just popped in there for nibbles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Kylie,
Thank you for choosing the ibis London ExCeL-Docklands for your recent visit to the O2.
I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you found the staff friendly and helpful and more importantly the cleanliness of your bedroom.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at the docklands on Tuesday evening after attending the O2 for a concert. On booking the reviews stated it was close to the O2. It was a great location during the day as the cable cars run until 8pm. After the concert it took us an absolute age to get back. We had various stops and transfers to get to the DLR back to the docklands. We crawled into bed at 12.30-1pm to then be woken every hour on and off with noise from other guests walking along the corridor. There was no soundproofing and we could hear their conversations. At one point my companion got out of bed and opened the door to ask the guests to be quiet. It was without a doubt the worst experience I've had. I'm well travelled and stay in hotels quite often from 5 star to two star. This was my first and last stay in an Ibis. The premier inn is by far a much better chain. In the morning we went to check out and I mentioned the trouble we had to the duty manager who advised she would investigate with the night staff and call me today. I requested after 5pm as I was at work. I had a call from an unknown number around lunchtime assuming it was the hotel. I couldn't answer as I stated above I was at work and we are not able to use our telephones. I am yet to receive a response and I doubt I will. Being two young girls I doubt out complaints were taken seriously. I am extremely dissatisfied with the level of service I receive and as a regular to London and as I stated a regular hotel user I will think twice about using the Ibis chain again! I'm extremely disappointed we parted with our hard earned money to stay in such a shonky hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Bev,

Please allow me to express our apologies for the noise you encountered during your stay with us.

As a frequent traveller, I fully appreciate the fact that a sleepless night due to noise levels of other guests and bedrooms resulted in you not enjoying your stay with us for which I sincerely apologise.

It is with regret that we misunderstood the timings at which we could contact you in order to have the matter resolved to mutural satisfaction.

Please do contact me directly on H3655-GM@accor.com.

Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

As usual with IBIS spotlessly clean. Bed very comfortable. Air conditioning instructions illegible, damaged by previous guest!
Floor in shower cubicle ripped!
Reastaurant menu very limited, especially in comparison with previous visit, so did not take dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read your observations about the cleanliness and I have taken note of your comments about the shower and air cooling unit for follow up.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#546 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#299 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#269 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Property: Ibis London Excel Docklands
Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in London
#300 Family Hotel in London
#327 Romantic Hotel in London
#340 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing