We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ibis excel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London Excel Docklands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ranked #449 of 1,087 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    809
    429
    118
    86
See reviews for
260
632
154
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert at the O2. You can get the Emirates cable car direct to the O2 & this is literally a 2 min walk from hotel if that. Unfortunately it's not open when concerts finish so we tubed it back. The hotel was clean & comfy, would use again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wrightlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing the ibis London ExCeL-Docklands for your visit to the O2. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the amazing views of London from the Cable Car.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked a double and a twin room last December when I bought 4 Robbie Williams tickets for his concert at the 02. (A christmas present for my husband and two adult daughters). Since booking I have read a lot of the reviews and here is our unanimous verdict on the hotel.
We drove from Bournemouth on Saturday morning, it was quite an ordeal driving through London to get to the hotel but we have decided definitely worth it. The car parking was very secure so no worrying about the car overnight, even though it was £16 it was worth it.(You have to get your ticket stamped in the Ibis and pay at the reception of the Novotel)
Check in was very quick, we changed one of our rooms in order to have a view over the Royal Victoria Dock, with no problem at all. The staff were polite and very helpful with directions to 02 and all our other queries during our stay.The bedroom and bathroom were spotless and all you could possibly need for a short stay. The shower was excellent.
We had a fantastic lunch on the veranda of the Novotel next door to the Ibis, what a great view (the lovely weather helped).
Travelled to the 02 on the Emirates cable car which was a new and exciting experience for all of us (cost about £17 for four and takes roughly ten minutes). The return journey we made by taxi, it took about 45 minutes due to the volume of traffic, cost £22. Back at the hotel there was a great atmosphere at the bar area.
Very comfortable bed and no noise. Check out super fast. All agree we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank janvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Janvic,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your stay at ibis London ExCeL Docklands.
It is always an encouragement to receive such positive feedback and I am pleased to read that the staff looked after you and that you enjoyed a hassle free stay.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future for a visit to the O2 or ExCeL.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for one night the staff were very pleasant the room was as expected for a budget hotel think this is the first time I've stayed in a hotel where the bathroom is in effect a porta loo, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable ,had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was very good considering it was an all you can eat buffet style. The only thing I found to complain about really was the extortionate cost of the car park and the fact that we were not told at the time of booking and although parking is advertised on the website it did not mention a charge, I have stayed in many hotels all over the world and have never ever been charged for parking let alone £16 for one night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Juski55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank your feedback following your recent stay at ibis London ExCeL Docklands. I am pleased to read that the staff looked after you and that you enjoyed a good night's sleep and our buffet breakfast.
I have taken note of your comments about parking prices - the charges for parking at the adjacent Novotel for residents of ibis is in line with that of other hotels in the area including the public car park and the rates offered is in line with that of other hotels in the area including the public car park by the entrace to ExCeL.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This nice hotel is situated right on the waterside at Royal Victoria Dock and is a five minute walk from the DLR station. Emirates cable car is also two minutes walk from the hotel, where you can access the O2 Dome on the other side of the Thames. London City Airport is very close and the hotel is right under the flight path. Excel Arena is a stones throw away.
Hotel itself is very smart and the room and facilities were very good, without being spectacular. We did not eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the food, but I did find the bar prices expensive.
My partner is partially sighted and we had a guide dog with us. Staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReggieP590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Reggie,
Thank you for choosing the ibis London ExCeL Docklands. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the staff looked after you during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night to attend a concert at the O2.
Good location for the cable car but you can' return as it shuts at 9pm but only two stops on the Tube and DLR.
Room was small but adequate but the shower pod was slippy when wet
Bed was very comfortable and room was clean.
Reception was good but the bar area is small and not well laid out,not good to spend any time in.
All in all a good hotel for a one night stay if you are attending a function but for any longer there are better options near by.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Alan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at ibis London ExCeL Docklands whilst going to the O2.
I have taken note of your comments with regards to the layout of our public areas.
Feedback is important to us and I do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in another Accor hotel in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night, and got bed bugs as a result. I'm sure they came from this hotel because I know it wouldn't have been the place we were staying beforehand. Absolutely awful experience to arrive back home after 24 hours of longhaul travel to discover you are covered in itchy red bites. And it's not even as if the hotel was very enjoyable to stay in anyway!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSG1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

For the benefit of other readers, I would like to inform that I have already been in communication with regards to the enclosed matter pre the review posted.

We take such comments and allegations extremely seriously.

Preventive measures are already in place at our hotels as we carry out yearly dusting treatment in all our rooms for the prevention of bedbugs.

Our pest contractors were contacted immediately once the matter was brought to our attention and they reported no evidence of bed bugs activity in any part of your room.

I will of course be more than happy to share this report dated 9th July 2014.

With regards, Brian Opauka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#547 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#300 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#268 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Property: Ibis London Excel Docklands
Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in London
#300 Family Hotel in London
#327 Romantic Hotel in London
#340 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing