We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of The Bentley London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bentley London
Ranked #282 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Got a good price with Hilton half price weekend sale. If this hotel had been full price we would have been very disappointed. We had to cancel first booking due to the snowy weather and a special mention must go to Susann who sorted everything out for another weekend.

The hotel is near the tube and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. It is in a quiet location and even the hotel bar closes by midnight. It is West London so everything is expensive! Perhaps a good job the bar closes early!

The staff are very polite and try to use your name when greeting you. It feels very exclusive in this respect and is much more personal than one of the large central London hotels.

The rooms were rather disappointing and a bit of a mixture. Our room was traditionally furnished but with a nice flat screen. My cousin's room next door was less traditional but had a CRT TV. We noticed that both rooms had a few issues for example holes in walls around plug sockets. It seemed a different socket had been there and had been replaced but not finished off with re-plastering. On closer examination the room looked a little tatty and we were glad that we were not paying full price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    188
    80
    38
    23
See reviews for
124
331
61
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I recently stayed at the Bentley for business, and it was a pleasent surprise. It is a relatively small hotel, which gives it that boutique hotel feeling, and that you get to know most of the front desk and restaurant staff.
Location is great, just 1 block from Gloucester Rd. tube (underground/metro) station, with many restaurants and shops nearby. It is also waling distance from the Natural History Museaum and Royal Albert Hall.
Back to the hotel, the rooms are very spacious, the smallest ones are really like a junior suite with a sitting area with sofa, coffee table. The closet is huge, which you never find anymore, so fitting your clothes for several days is not a problem. Bath is also large, with separate shower and jacuzzi tub.
The room could improve by adding better lighting to read, and placing convenient electric plugs near the desk (some of them around the room did not work).
Bed linens were very nice of thick cotton, the bed was made up by 2 single beds put together, one of them was too soft, and clearly needed a change of mattress. The other was better, but still on the soft side. TV is still the classic non flat, but hides in a very convenient wardrobe, with plenty of additional space to put things in.
I had a back yard facing room which was great, quiet and facing south, which allowed for light and even sun, to fill the room during most of the day.
Breakfast is set in a nice setting, with a somewhat small selection buffet, but can be complemented with a la carte. Service is good, and is never full, I never coincided with people at more than 3 or 4 other tables at one time.
I found great, the fact that they have a couple of computers in the lobby which they allow you to use to do online check in, and print your boarding pass.
Because of the hotel location in the SW, it is quite accessible to Heathrow, and only a 45 pound ride away (reasonable for London standards), which takes a bit over 35 min.
In all, a good value with breakfast included, given the size of the room, personal service and location.
this will definitely be a fantastic hotel, once it undergoes the technology upgrade which will surely not take too long to happen.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gone2room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2010

we left the hotel to the end of our trip based on the reviews here in tripadvisor to make a grand finalle but on the contrary it was the worst finalle ever! it was the dirtiest hotel i have ever been to. i was putting lots of hope on the jacuzzi that was shown in their website which i think even my dog won't get into it it was so filthy and filled with rust and hair and other stuff can't be described. i tried to wash it several times but it didn't work. the water itself was not clean it leaves oily sticky residue on the skin. the bed was so old and squicky our sleep was really bad!
the only good thing about the hotel were the staff they were friendly and helpful i really wish they go somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_Blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Stayed for 3 nights with my son. The location was perfect- close to underground and a stop for the hop on/off bus tour, 10 minute walk to Natural Science Museum, 15-20 minutes to Harrods. The neighborhood was very nice with several restaurants nearby. Breakfast was included in our rate, but would have been very expensive otherwise. Our room was good sized, but I agree with other reviews about some areas showing wear (chipped paint, cracked floors and sinks, misaligned drawers). Overall though, the staff and location make it easy to overlook these small cosmetic flaws.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelontexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Stayed through the weekend at this South Kensington hotel. It not large but certainly not tiny, it is very elegant and not overwhelming. I believe it has recently been made part of the Hilton's Waldorf Astoria collection. I am a Hilton Diamond member and was upgraded to a junior suite which was amazing. I would suggest though that you specify non-smoking if you are averse to smoking rooms, as I believe they have a few. The hotel is extremely nice, but I do have concerns over the future of it, there were a few minor details that over time if not mended would eventually ruin the class of the hotel- specifically small things, like a missing piece of trim, a broken drawer, scratched wall, loose faucet- certainly nothing to ruin a trip or damage the rating but nonetheless things that should attention to detail, it wold be ashame for the new manangement to not keep up the high standards of the past.

Excellent hotel, elegant and discrete, saw maybe only one or two guest the entire time despite being sold out. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is only one block from the subway (Gloucester Road)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fair-Balanced-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night with husband and toddler. The reception staff are extremely friendly. One of the members of staff kept my son entertained while I checked-in. When he found out I was Spanish, he got one of the members of staff (also Spanish) in touch with us to offer his help during our stay. We stayed at the Ashburn Suite which is beautiful and has lots of space. The hotel also has a spa which gets quite busy so if you would like to have any treatments, you should book in advance. I didn't and therefore, had to miss out as they were fully booked for the following few days.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We went to this hotel to celebrate an important milestone in a friends life. They upgraded us to a suite which and sent up a nice ammenity for the birthday. The access to the Gloucester Road Station was 2 minutes at most! The breakfast wasn't the best but the would cook your eggs to order. The price was amazing it was part of Hilton's 50% of January special.The service was good; but I have had better. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#132 of 1,067 in London
604 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#149 of 1,067 in London
844 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#50 of 1,067 in London
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,067 in London
2,732 reviews
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#266 of 1,067 in London
409 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#172 of 1,067 in London
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley London

Property: The Bentley London
Address: 27-33 Harrington Gardens, London SW7 4JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in London
#89 Business Hotel in London
#182 Romantic Hotel in London
#206 Luxury Hotel in London
#368 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bentley London 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bentley London is located in Central London. Our combination of delightful Deluxe bedrooms & Suites provide guests with a luxurious choice for their residential requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bentley London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bentley Hotel London
Hilton International London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing