We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read read read!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #362 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Read read read!!!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the reception with a baby in a pushchair. Woman greeted me by saying 'yes' with an attitude. I said i want a room for me and the baby. She said so what you want?cot bed? Which i found very rude. She was miserable through out the whole time. I asked if it was ok to park in their car park she said depends?i asked what that meant she said if your blocking anyone then your ok. The whole converstion was sharp and rude. She asked me for car reg numbr i said i didnt know it she said well i cant check you in then. I said you have stairs on your entrance i straggled with buggy and bags im not going out again in the cold. She then said well leave your baby here!!! I went crazy how could she tell me that. I shouted and said get someone to go out and check it!!! Which in the end she did. She gave me the key and didnt direct me to my room. I asked where the lift was and she said there wasnt one! I asked hiw i was going to my room with the baby and the bags she didnt reply. I just walked off as i was very tired and carried bags up and buggy all bymyself. It disnt end here i walked in to my double room which was so small no room for the buggy. No fridge for me to store babys milk. Dirty old kettle with dirty cups. Dirty curtains with holes in it. Got in bed and it stunk of bio. Had to put babys blankets down so we could lay on them. Then i started itching badly i felt disgusted. 4 am in the morning packed everything and left with no sleep. This evening cost me £100 and this is the service i received. So people do you still want to stay here???!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cypri0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear cyriot
Thank you for your review, I am extremely disappointed about the service you received during your stay. I certainly would like to investigate this further for us and allow me to report back to you. my email is ken@clarendonhotel.com . If you could email me when you stayed etc please. Thank you for taking the time to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    610
    283
    101
    53
See reviews for
485
435
99
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you're looking for easy, free transport to the O2, a comfy bed, clean bathroom and good breakfast in relatively quiet surroundings this is the place for you !
If you want fast broadband, ipod dock, rainforest shower, spa bath and cutting edge interiors then maybe not. Neither is there a nearby tube.
Easy train journey from Charing Cross, London Bridge. 15mins to the O2 on the 108 24hr bus right outside.
Fast check in, no queuing for breakfast.
In this location you could easily pay double for something half as good !

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and you might get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear AileenP
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were ideal for your visit to the O2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Polite and helpful staff greeted us at the check in desk. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The facilities all did what they said on the tin and the breakfast was out of this world.The bus stop for the 108 to the 02 was opposite the hotel and just down from the hotel coming back. Car parking is £4.00 for 24 hours at the weekend at Blackheath train station ( 10 minutes max away) if you can't park at the hotel. Thanks everyone for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are traffic noise free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187497Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear 187497Barcelona
Thank you for your review of the Hotel. We are all very pleased here to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel suited your purpose when visiting the O2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed here on business several times but visited with my wife and daughter on a Saturday night as accommodation for the O2. The bus stop is just outside the hotel and free tickets were provided. Rooms are basic but clean. Service was helpful and friendly. The bar is dowstairs and dismal but the Princess of Wales is only yards away - try it. Cannot comment on the food other than breakfat which was a typical full english buffet - sausages are dire! You may also choose poached haddock, kedgeree etc. Parking is limited to a few places at the front and rear. The upside is the location and if I am in the area again, I will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pylesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Plyesy
Thank you for your review, and thank you for using us when visiting the O2. I am also glad to see that you took advantage of getting free bus tickets from us, because you booked direct.
I am glad you mentioned that our sausages were not as good as they should be. We use a local butchers so I was surprised (not mass catering supplied) when we followed up your comment, we found that the last couple of batches were not as we normally have. - so thank you once again.
Did you get a chance to visit our new lounge next to the bar which we just finished.
regards Ken Milton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for a single night at this hotel on 21st December 2013. The hotel is well located in the attractive area of Blackheath. Reception was reasonably friendly. Our room was large, comfortable and clean although the bathroom was rather small in comparison and just a little shabby. In all other respects we thought the accommodation was good value. The breakfast offered on the following day was excellent with plenty of choice rangin from a full English to a variety of healthier options. The breakfast room seemed to be well run.
Overall, the value was good and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Peter W
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you get the chance to visit Blackheath Village again and once again stay with us. I have noted your comment on the bathroom and once again thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I book a quadruple room for me and my three friends to stay for one night after going to a concert at the O2. The room was extremely cheap, and included breakfast too. £129 split between 4 is very affordable! The room was fine and although the bathroom was a little small, the shower was pretty good. The bed was extremely comfortable and I fell asleep almost instantly. Brilliant location for anyone going to the O2, with the 108 bus running from literally outside the hotel and right to the door of the O2. With an Oyster card it was cheap and it was 24hr service so perfect for. What we wanted it for. We also used this bus the next day when we went shopping at Westfield in Stratford, it took around 40 minutes to get there but As it was so cheap it'd have been silly not to use it. The breakfast was lovely , and I literally drank my weight in Tea as the staff kept bringing pot after pot to our table! Next time I come to the O2, this will be my first choice for accommodation. Massively recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em240593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear EM240593
Thank you for your review, we are also very pleased that the hotel meet all your requirements and made your stay enjoyable. As you rightly say, the hotel is well placed for the hotel, we have the 108 bus that stops outside, runs 24hr a day and has disabled access which takes 10 minutes and uses bus lanes or a short taxi ride. I personally always get the bus when visiting the O2, it is so simple. Westfield was a nice choice to shop, the newest shopping mail around, but also we are 20 minutes by train from Blackheath into Central London, and not far from Bluewater.
Hope we see you for your next o2 concert, we now have an offer that if you book via our own website or direct on the phone, you can get free return bus tickets. But only when booked direct or on our own website. - Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We visited London for a family event and this was the closest Hotel to where the function was being held. This was a lovely hotel very happy with our stay. Parking is a little bit difficult but otherwise a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Excellent Hotel breakfast was plentiful everything you could want
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciac780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear patriciac780
Thank you very much for telling us how you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is close to many local venues (Royal Navel College, Charlton House to name a couple) which guest use us for.
Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#432 of 1,069 in London
1,183 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#309 of 1,069 in London
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#402 of 1,069 in London
1,381 reviews
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#254 of 1,069 in London
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Property: The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. With Blackheath in front of the hotel, we are of course dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing