We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reception staff dreadfull” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #354 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Reception staff dreadfull”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed for a month through work location is great few nice pubs n restaurants nearby all the waiting staff and cleaning staff are very nice and helpful but and a big but is most of the reception staff are rude not at all helpful and as a result I won't be stopping there again . The owner is very nice so can't understand how he lets his staff loose him business as I've read lots of reviews about reception staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigt1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Bigt1882
Thank you for your review, as per your work colleague that posted the previous review. I have spoken to him, and we went through the main issue you had. On your first visit of 28 days you were upgraded to a large room, but your second visit you were placed in the room booked by your company, that you did not think was big enough. I have spoken to your colleague who explained that he felt the receptionist that dealt with this issue, did not deal with you well. For which I will follow up. Thank you for your comments on how nice other department staff were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    503
    229
    83
    42
See reviews for
366
348
79
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed here overnight during a business trip. The car park was full but I managed to squeeze into it. Room was small but clean and adequate for me. Wi-fi is good and free and I also had a couple of beers in the bar with peri-peri chicken which I really enjoyed. I had a small walk into the village to off-licence so I could enjoy a couple of beers whilst checking my emails - there are quite a few bars / places to eat. Sleep was comfortable enough but shower was in dire need of some power - I stood directly under it and it took some time to shower due to the trickle of water coming from it. Breakfast was good and have to say that overall, it was ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear William B
Thank you for your review, and your comments. Perfect that you found a space in our car park. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed our chefs special of peri peri chicken and took advantage of our EE free wifi. (I have just finished typing this weeks specials - Chili Pork sausages and mash - homemade steak & Kid pie - and my favorite - calf's liver with smoked bacon and creamy mash ) I am very sorry about the shower, we have had new boilers fitted, which has improved the hotel showers , however we are now finishing this project of with extra pumps. Blackheath village is always a special find for most people when in London, and it is great you took advantage of visiting a few places. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the reception with a baby in a pushchair. Woman greeted me by saying 'yes' with an attitude. I said i want a room for me and the baby. She said so what you want?cot bed? Which i found very rude. She was miserable through out the whole time. I asked if it was ok to park in their car park she said depends?i asked what that meant she said if your blocking anyone then your ok. The whole converstion was sharp and rude. She asked me for car reg numbr i said i didnt know it she said well i cant check you in then. I said you have stairs on your entrance i straggled with buggy and bags im not going out again in the cold. She then said well leave your baby here!!! I went crazy how could she tell me that. I shouted and said get someone to go out and check it!!! Which in the end she did. She gave me the key and didnt direct me to my room. I asked where the lift was and she said there wasnt one! I asked hiw i was going to my room with the baby and the bags she didnt reply. I just walked off as i was very tired and carried bags up and buggy all bymyself. It disnt end here i walked in to my double room which was so small no room for the buggy. No fridge for me to store babys milk. Dirty old kettle with dirty cups. Dirty curtains with holes in it. Got in bed and it stunk of bio. Had to put babys blankets down so we could lay on them. Then i started itching badly i felt disgusted. 4 am in the morning packed everything and left with no sleep. This evening cost me £100 and this is the service i received. So people do you still want to stay here???!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cypri0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear cyriot
Thank you for your review, I am extremely disappointed about the service you received during your stay. I certainly would like to investigate this further for us and allow me to report back to you. my email is ken@clarendonhotel.com . If you could email me when you stayed etc please. Thank you for taking the time to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you're looking for easy, free transport to the O2, a comfy bed, clean bathroom and good breakfast in relatively quiet surroundings this is the place for you !
If you want fast broadband, ipod dock, rainforest shower, spa bath and cutting edge interiors then maybe not. Neither is there a nearby tube.
Easy train journey from Charing Cross, London Bridge. 15mins to the O2 on the 108 24hr bus right outside.
Fast check in, no queuing for breakfast.
In this location you could easily pay double for something half as good !

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and you might get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear AileenP
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were ideal for your visit to the O2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Polite and helpful staff greeted us at the check in desk. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The facilities all did what they said on the tin and the breakfast was out of this world.The bus stop for the 108 to the 02 was opposite the hotel and just down from the hotel coming back. Car parking is £4.00 for 24 hours at the weekend at Blackheath train station ( 10 minutes max away) if you can't park at the hotel. Thanks everyone for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are traffic noise free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 187497Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear 187497Barcelona
Thank you for your review of the Hotel. We are all very pleased here to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel suited your purpose when visiting the O2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed here on business several times but visited with my wife and daughter on a Saturday night as accommodation for the O2. The bus stop is just outside the hotel and free tickets were provided. Rooms are basic but clean. Service was helpful and friendly. The bar is dowstairs and dismal but the Princess of Wales is only yards away - try it. Cannot comment on the food other than breakfat which was a typical full english buffet - sausages are dire! You may also choose poached haddock, kedgeree etc. Parking is limited to a few places at the front and rear. The upside is the location and if I am in the area again, I will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pylesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Plyesy
Thank you for your review, and thank you for using us when visiting the O2. I am also glad to see that you took advantage of getting free bus tickets from us, because you booked direct.
I am glad you mentioned that our sausages were not as good as they should be. We use a local butchers so I was surprised (not mass catering supplied) when we followed up your comment, we found that the last couple of batches were not as we normally have. - so thank you once again.
Did you get a chance to visit our new lounge next to the bar which we just finished.
regards Ken Milton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for a single night at this hotel on 21st December 2013. The hotel is well located in the attractive area of Blackheath. Reception was reasonably friendly. Our room was large, comfortable and clean although the bathroom was rather small in comparison and just a little shabby. In all other respects we thought the accommodation was good value. The breakfast offered on the following day was excellent with plenty of choice rangin from a full English to a variety of healthier options. The breakfast room seemed to be well run.
Overall, the value was good and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Peter W
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you get the chance to visit Blackheath Village again and once again stay with us. I have noted your comment on the bathroom and once again thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#224 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#408 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#235 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Property: The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing