We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #362 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel was ok but very dated. Room was tiny for amount of money paid. Bathroom was covered in dust and draft from bedroom window was unreal. No double glazing and hole in corner of window.
Glad I was only there to sleep as would have not wanted to spend much time there.
Breakfast was ok, help yourself buffet style but not great quality.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Littleangel7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear littleangle7000
Thank you for your review and it was good to give you the feedback about the hotel window design.
I am sorry you did not enjoy breakfast, we generally buy local, especially the sausages and award winning black pudding. We are also serving Kippers and Haddock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,300 - 1,306 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Family lunch booked here on the Sunday so we decided to stay over the on Saturday night as travelling some distance. Mistake.

The finest Georgian hotel in London? No way. The room was tired to say the least with a ghastly colour scheme. Tiny bathroom, shower had such low water pressure that it was impossible to wash my hair properly and the water was at best tepid, nowhere near hot.

Breakfast was just awful. Dreadful food, the most antique toast machine ever and the coffee had run out by the time we went down (9am, they serve through to 10.30) and wasn't replenished. Staff on duty snatched plates off our table wordlessly the second we finished. Went to a nice café further down the road for a coffee afterwards.

The family lunch was more of the same. A table booked some weeks ago for Sunday lunch had been set for....afternoon tea (at 1pm?!) so we were sent away while it was reset. The service was poor with half the table's food arriving well before the other half. If you like your food piled high and aren't too fussy about quality this is probably the place for you.

I don't have a good thing to say about this hotel. The only positive was that we discovered Chapters restaurant just down the road, where we ate on Saturday night - excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Gill W
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to inform you that we are starting a refurbishing programme, and just completing our first floor. I will try to post a photo on this site. We are also just about to start replacing our lift for more access and our Georgian sash windows, so lots going on. With regards to the coffee, we have a fresh brewer in the main kitchen (this never runs out) which helps us cope in the busy periods, and we also make fresh filter. Alas the fresh filter does not last long on busy periods, and we revert back to the fresh brew from the main kitchen. yes, we did set up for afternoon tea, a change of cutlery was needed, for which we are sorry about. The carvery allows people to take how much they like, and I think you are correct some do pile high. Once again thank you for your review and I am sorry you did not totally enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Booked for 1PM and were early but the staff accommodated us for 1230 which was great! Filled up fast and lots of tables. Food brilliant and lots of choice and given lots of carved meat from the chef at the carvery. Help yourself from the veg and roast potatoes! Had a set two courses but can have three if you wish. Can only presume that the table was needed as the bill was brought without asking for it so felt a bit rushed. Nevertheless couldn't fault.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LP1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear LP1965
Thank you for your review, and I am pleased you enjoyed your lunch. very unusual for us to push people out, as we do not normally re sell the tables, I am sorry about that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I must say how happy we were to turn up at the hotel after a long 6 hour journey from West Wales, we were greeted by a very happy receptionist and couldn't do enough for us, The room was acceptable and overlooked the Black Heath green which was lovely to see. As we were using this Hotel as a base to take our daughter to an open day in Greenwich Uni, we were very pleased to find out that it was only a good 20 min walk away, Hotel very kindly allowed us to leave our car in their car park until we were finished, this saved us hassle of finding a convenient car park by the uni. We had a grand stay and we would't have to think twice to stay again, fingers crossed that our daughter gets to go to the uni and we will be staying in the hotel more often, A big thank you to Kamelia who dealt with us both in the evening and again in the morning, very cheerful, friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taff665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Taff665
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that after your long journey the hotel provided a good resting stopover. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, I have also thanked Kamilla.
I hope your daughter gets into Greenwich University, it is a great place. We often use the Uni job shop for recruitment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Although the room I stayed in was a little tired and the maintenance was lacking having the shower curtain falling on my twice due to a broken bracket and not being able to close the curtains properly due to broken hooks, the stay was fine.

Breakfast was a great improvement on my last visit. The food was fresh, tasty and plentiful.

Blackheath is a great place for choice of food and drinks. If you want to venture further afield as I did for the Excel Centre north of the water, this was quick and easy. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel to North Greenwich (The Dome) and then took the cable car to the exhibition centre, arriving nice and relaxed.

Parking is available for guests but it is limited in the extreme and you can't take any liberties with Greenwich Council as they hate private transport with a passion.

The desk staff were very helpful.

All in all a nice stay. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonAddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Devonaddict
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you could see improvements at the hotel, however I am concerned about the 2 curtains issues and would ask you to email me ken@clarendonhotel.com with your details and room number, as I would like to look into this.
The hotel is currently refurbishing it bedrooms with a great new look, this started last month. We are also into the last month (18 month project) of adding new boilers and water pumps for better pressure, and lastly new sash windows are being installed. I presume you were at the Derby game - if so the 3 - 0 lose at Charlton was not good. (I also a season ticket holder) you must say hi next time you are down, as I know most of the overseas supporters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel has a great location overlooking the heath, 2 minutes from Blackheath 'village' and 3 minutes from station. The service is good and the breakfast is excellent. The hotel itself however is a little dated and would benefit from some refurbishment and some work on its interior design. Bathroom was big but dated and the shower was a trickle. Reasonable value for location but expected more in terms of décor etc. for the price. It's not a bad hotel by any means, it must needs a birthday and bringing a little more up to date.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Windywest
thank you for your review, I am glad the hotel and local area was enjoyable. We are currently updating our 178 bedrooms, a new designed has been finalised and work has started changing the rooms over. We are also in the process of just finishing a new boiler with new pumps . Once again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Clarendon for one night whilst visiting the O2 for a weekend festival! Was very happy with the service received, location of bus stop to the O2- with free tickets. Staff were friendly, rooms were a little dated but clean and roomy. Morning breakfast was fabulous excellent selection with plenty of tea and coffee to get you started. Parking limited but managed to park without a problem. Will stay again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Cherylw
thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the hotel is very handy for the 02 arena. Also glad breakfast hit the spot and hopefully set you up for your journey home. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#421 of 1,072 in London
1,202 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#400 of 1,072 in London
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#269 of 1,072 in London
1,919 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#307 of 1,072 in London
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £80 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. With Blackheath in front of the hotel, we are of course dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing