We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #361 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ilfracombe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel in fabulous location”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Paid an extra charge of £10 for a ground floor room overlooking the attractive walled garden. The room was huge as were the beds.The bathroom was a very good size and perfectly clean. Our room had been recently decorated.The breakfast was substantial with plenty of choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the service was excellent.I would happily stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear David P
Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed the hotel and Blackheath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    610
    284
    101
    53
See reviews for
486
435
99
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Probably about the best thing about this hotel is its' position with wonderful views to All Saints Church and Blackheath. We stayed for one night as it was very convenient for a funeral we were attending. The room was very tiny on the third floor in the eves, certainly not big enough for a double and would be far too hot to stay in, in the summer because the window was tiny too. The bed and shower room were clean and adequate. The radiator valve was missing but fortunately as my husband is a heating engineer, he managed to turn the radiator off. If he had not, I would not have been able to sleep as it was next to the bed and was extremely hot!
However, we did like the public rooms and the breakfast was excellent with a very good selection to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K3ntishmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear k3ntishmaid
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am sorry you found your room on the small side. We do have a mix of rooms, especially in the Georgian part of the hotel. So pleased you enjoyed Blackheath, and our public areas and restaurant, I just wished you were visiting the area for a better reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Currently still staying here and really wish I could move to a different hotel but don't want to trek across London on my own with bags and a toddler!

First room disgustingly dirty - stained and dirty carpets, bedding had blood stains, bathroom dirty.

Second room appeared better however - broken window, we discovered last night that when the toddler wanted to get under her covers instead of sleep pod the amount of stains and the blood stains on the valence. Radiators dirty, bathroom dirty, cups and saucers also dirty.

Common word being used here - Dirty

Breakfast room - the walls dirty with food stains, staff rude, hot chocolate served cold with powder not mixed in. Breakfast average.


This hotel is aimed at workmen and not families or couples!

I can't wait to check out tomorrow!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vegasbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear vegasbox
thank you for your review, it seemed that my first reply to your review was not correct, as I thought you were another guest who's child was exploring the hotel, and we wanted to keep an eye on the child. As you point out this was not you. I am sorry that I had replied in correctly and that the child in question was not yours. I am also sorry if you were offended by this. .
As mentioned in my email I would also like to apologies for your experience at the hotel and have asked for more information regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our stay was eventful to say the least!

After arriving back from a 50th Birthday party just down the road we went back to our Suite no.85, around half 2 Sunday morning there was an awful racket coming from the suite upstairs (loud music, shouting, sounded as if they were moving furniture back & forth) called reception to ask them to have a word, the response I got from the gentleman on reception was 'there is a function going on, what do you want me to do!?'...the two men on reception came down to our room to listen to what we was having to put up with and eventually, reluctantly agreed to have a word with the upstairs suite....cut a long story short this went on for about an hour, us ringing reception, going down to reception, me going up to the room.....the police getting called !!!
The evening staff were down right rude and very unhelpful, when I went to reception in the morning to get the name of a manager and to tell them that we wouldn't be paying the full price for the room (which was £160) the woman on reception told me that due to the circumstances she would be able to knock £20 off bringing the price down to £140.....£140 for a room that I didn't get a wink of sleep in...what an insult!!!!
I explained to the woman that we wouldn't be paying anything & left, since then I have spoken to the manager this morning Ken who was very apologetic.
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Jessica H
As per our conversations, we did have a guest staying in a room that seemed intent to have friends and make noise in their room. Thank you for your comment about myself and of course an apology was needed, but my staff tried very hard with diplomacy and many efforts to control the situation. I am just sorry that some guest were not understanding of others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I am absolutely speechless about the state of this hotel. Damaged, filthy, neglected and overpriced.

1. Stinky bedroom.
2. Door safe locked damaged.
3. Walls cracked.
4. Radiator knob missing
5. Wardrobe door not working properly.
6. Desk drawers not working properly.
7. One socket near desk.
8. Damaged chair.
9. Damaged bathroom window.
10. Damaged bathroom doors.
11. Single glazing.

Cleanliness ( what cleanliness !!!!) dust everywhere, dirty linen and nets, dirty shower, hairs in sink, dirty tiles, dirty kettle, dirty bin

No air condition !

Reminds me more hostel than hotel.

I spend 10 years in hotel industry and dear reviewer trust me. You do not want to stay in this place !!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank Sebastiansek83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Sebastiansk83
Thank you for your review, and also taking the time to correspond with myself. As I mentioned, I am sorry about the issues with your room. The hotel is currently refurbishing, with new bedroom decor, a new accessible more floors lift, new boilers and new sash windows. Once again thank you for taking the time to write to myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed in a family room, 186. The room was clean and adequate. Free parking was a bonus. Helpful staff and tasty breakfast. The only downside was the double bed, 2 singles pushed together and it dipped in the middle. Quite uncomfortable. Other than that we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalisi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Kalisi75
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found our family room ideal for your purpose. These are popular with the connecting door. I am also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast - most items are purchased local suppliers, using good ingredients. It sounds like the family room have a 'zip and link bed' I will look into these beds and how they lay.
Once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay was quite good, the reception staff were helpful on arrival. Room although small and felt like it was in the roof was good and clean. Breakfast was good, lots of choice and the staff were very helpful bringing pots of tea when needed. Only downside was the bathroom shower was clogged up with what I think was limescale so water didn't come out all the holes and is attached to wall so couldnt move also to get hot water you need to turn the hot tap on and bathroom door wouldn't close. Overall though a nice hotel and blackheath is a nice quiet escape from central london.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Anna T
Thank you for your review, and that you enjoyed the hotel. I would like to address the issue you raised, if you could email your stay details I would be most grateful - ken@clarendonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#433 of 1,069 in London
1,183 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#308 of 1,069 in London
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#401 of 1,069 in London
1,381 reviews
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#251 of 1,069 in London
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Property: The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. With Blackheath in front of the hotel, we are of course dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing