We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #364 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Clarendon,last time my wife & I were at the front of the hotel overlooking Blackheath, the room was very large with a double and single bed and a large on suite, This time we took our daughters and booked a quadruple room, unfortunately the room was at the back of the hotel where they had crammed four single beds into a very small space. The room was tired looking and in desperate need of renovation, the bathroom was small but functional. The bed linen whilst not actually dirty was badly stained and torn in places. Breakfast was reasonable although it took ages to attract a member of staff to get tea & coffee.
In summary the hotel is in a good location for both the 02 arena and London, but on site parking is not good and due to it's popularity for wedding receptions it can be both busy and very noisy at times.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motorman174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Motorman174
Thank you for your review and visiting us again. I can inform you that we are currently updating our rooms, and just completing the 3rd floor on the Regency wing. With regards to the quad rooms, these are triple rooms with an extra bed. London seems to have a lack of quad rooms, we do have family rooms which are 2 separate rooms with connecting corridor. With regards to parking, I am sorry there was not much room, we have space for approx 50 cars, we have updated our car parking information - see 'contact' I will also put some more details at the end of this review, for other readers. Once again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and help us with improving our guest experience.
Village & hotel Parking information cont....
The hotel has a front and rear car park. The front car park has space for approximately 35 cars and the rear 15 cars. Car parking space is limited when the hotel is busy. To get to the rear of the hotel, turn right when coming out of the front hotel car park drive 100 meters until you arrive at the Princess of Wales Pub, drive alongside the pub and take the first right (paragon Place). You will then arrive at the back of the hotel where there is a small car park.

The hotel recommends guest to use the station car park, this offers good value and has CCTV. You may also park for more than 24 hours. Weekend charges are very good at £5.00 for 24 hours
Clarendon Hotel to Blackheath station car park .38Miles
Monday-Friday - Charges
1 Hour - £2.00 3 Hours - £4.00 4 Hours - £6.00 6 Hours £8.00
24 Hours - £10.00 Extra 24hours £10.00 a day Eve/Night - £4.00 (6pm-6am)

Saturday & Sunday
1 Hour - £2.00 2 Hours - £3.00 24 Hours £5.00 *(very good if you are attending a function)

Directions
Drive out of the hotel front car park, turn left traveling down Montpelier Vale, then turn right back up Montpelier Vale, until you see the Crown Pub on your left hand side. (Southvale Road) turn left alongside the pub, drive around 3 corners until you see the car park. Walking to and from the hotel, you can walk through the car park towards the station and come back to the hotel via the village.

When can you park on yellow lines, resident's bay & parking meters?
Monday to Saturday 7pm-9am
Weekend parking is free from Saturday 7pm-Monday 9am

Other Parking - Pond Road - Turn right from the hotel and take first right South Row by Princess of Wales Pub & pond. Then take 1st right into Pond Road, this is a class of resident parking when you cannot park from 11am-noon. This allows you to park from noon onwards to 11am the following day.
Pay & Display Meters - Monday - Saturday 9pm-7am (max 2 hours) Charges - 35p-15 minutes = £1.40per hour
Locations of bays -
All Saints Drive (road that goes around the church

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Aging cheap hotel conversion of a row of Georgian houses. It would have been poor 30 years ago and it is even worse now. Undergoing some renovations but from what I saw that won't make a difference. Much better to go to the Crown or the Bull at Chislehurst (cheaper and much nicer) or the modern hotels in Greenwich.
The rooms are minimally equipped; no safe, small free standing closet, shabby, stained furniture. Wifi system doesn't work. Rooms to the front are barraged with noise from the road and from the corridor: every time a door closes the room shudders and reverberates. New windows make almost no difference as they are single glazing and anyway if you want air you have to open them. Pillows rock hard polyester. Carpet stained and not cleaned every day. Bathroom is very small, chipped paint, silly small (new!) shower with dribble of water, not clean.
Breakfast was poor. This is a tour and events hotel and the kitchens (don't look) struggle to keep the buffet stocked. Much better to skip breakfast and walk across the road to a range of breakfast spots in the village. Parking is limited which means you have to get up to move your car.
What is good? The staff are friendly. The view is pretty. Location is great: Blackheath village has a good selection of restaurants and excellent fast train service to the centre of London.
If you must stay, ask for rooms at the back which should be quieter and is a new (30 years?) building.

Room Tip: Ask for the modern section at the back. Do not face the Heath (heavy traffic).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Anon1
Thank you for your review, could you send me details of your stay please to ken@clarendonhotel.com as I would like to look into your booking and address the matters you raise. The hotel is not a modern hotel, we are very English traditional, however we must maintain standards thus please contact me. The new sash windows are handmade, and a much thicken glass with new frames, which should help noise reduction. I am also pleased to inform you that new boosters have been installed for the wi-fi (EE) We have a large mix of guest, mainly corporate & leisure (normally guest visiting the nearby O2) groups are a small part of our business and yes events/weddings at weekends. Once again thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay fully, but thank you for the nice comments and please send me details of your stay. Ken Milton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for 3 days on business. Car Parking was a complete nightmare - completely inadequate for the number of guests - unless you came by train and bus. Generally the first day was all OK. However next two days I felt like second class citizen !! We could not use the restaurant or part of the bar as they had a Proms Night on one night and a Wedding the following night - they obviously have a lucrative market as an event venue at the cost of their guests . So - perfect - on top of everything else, shouting teenagers in the Car Park outside my room all night! Food was OK but obviously the "hand cut" chips were so different in size that some were over cooked and some under - not sure who hand carved them but they were obviously drunk. BUT I made the mistake of buying my son a hot chocolate in the bar ! Waiting for a nice frothy rich cup of steaming chocolate I was somewhat surprised when the waitress opened up a small pack of dried chocolate and simply added hot water - it was watery and disgusting, worse still they charged £2.25 !!! Interestingly/weirdly on day 2 I was lying on my bed in the early evening when there was a knock at the door - before I could even answer a member of the hotel staff entered the room and suggested that she was checking my shower curtain? Which was more than a little surreal. I could pick many other holes but it just looks like a good hotel going downhill - fast.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the rear car park and check if there are restaurant event bookings first !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Adam F
Thank you for your review.
It does seem we were busy with events during your stay and I am sorry that this disturb you. We normally do our best to balance such things that guest are not disturb. We did have a prom, that finished at 10pm and weddings music finishes at 11.45pm, With regards to the car park it is very limited, however full parking details are on our website. You will be pleased to know that a new chocolate machine is now installed in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend as we were going to the 02 arena. Which is Situated close by. Lovely rooms, clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Couldn't get in for breakfast on the Sunday morning due a wedding the previous evening. Should have really been given a refund as this is paid for in the price. Not a big enough dining room to accommodate all the guests if the hotel is full.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinklemonade73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Pinklemonade73
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while going to the o2, we are very fortunate to have the 108 bus stop outside the hotel, that goes directly to the O2.
Not sure what happened with breakfast, one problem that does happen on a Sunday is that most people come down at the same time. When this happens you are correct, it will not hold everyone. We always open earlier on a Sunday to alleviate this, but of course everyone deserves a lie in on a Sunday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this hotel as we were going to the O2 to see the Eagles, although it was under going improvement work this did not disturb us at all. It was an easy walk from the train station, and in a good position for the local pubs and restaurants. The bus stops were across the road, with easy access to the O2 . The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, particularly the bar staff who continued to serve when guests returned from the O2. The breakfast was very good, and they even provided something I asked for which wasn't on display.

Room Tip: The lift is currently being renewed, so it's a good idea to ask for a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sue A
Thank you for your email, we are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, while seeing the Eagles.
I am pleased to report that the lift should be working 1/8/14.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked this hotel to be near the O2 (to see The Eagles). Couldn't have picked a better location. Bus direct to and from arena (15 minutes and £2.40 each way). Stop literally just across the road. Hotel itself very good. Bit old fashioned looking. Rooms smallish but comfortable. Breakfast very good though restaurant area very busy whilst we were there and some items ran out or had to wait a few minutes to be replenished. Bar area very nice and comfortable. Prices typical hotel, dearer than a pub. Big plus - staff very pleasant, especially receptionists, extremely helpful. Blackheath is a nice little place. Take a 5 minute walk across heath, just opposite hotel, into Royal Greenwich Park. Beautiful, interesting park leading on into Greenwich itself. Also, if you want to get into London but not drive, go to Blackheath station, 5 minute walk from hotel, take train to Charing Cross, only £5 return, and you are right into The Strand, Trafalgar Square, etc. Highly recommend this hotel but a note of caution. Parking is a bit limited so try to arrive about 11 - 12 am.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Derek S
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the O2 arena to see the Eagles.
Sorry you had to wait while we replenished breakfast, we like to cook fresh, but alas this may mean a slight delay. thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. I heard a nice Don Henley track on the radio at the weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was a bit shaken when I arrived, unable to connect with another hotel and found this place my mistake. But the amazing staff quickly turned my mood around when the manager even tried to get in touch with the other hotel which is trying to be paid for the whole of my reserved sty there, and not just the first night... and then took the time to basically give us a tour of the area, and points of interrest, and served us tea in the reception area. Clarenson put the lie to the old saw about bad food in England, as their culinary skills were fantastic. We loved our stay there, and if we can get the bad taste of the other place out of our mouths, we loved the UK experience because of Ken, Linda and the whole staff there too.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the main street despite the view. As there's no A/C the noise was a bt of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Stephen
Thank you for your review, and also thank you for your kind works regarding Linda and myself. We are typically passionate about Blackheath, having grown up here and having the pleasure to work in this great part of London. It was lovely to meet you both and hopefully you may look us up, next time you are in Europe. (Lewis)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#423 of 1,076 in London
1,213 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#400 of 1,076 in London
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#264 of 1,076 in London
1,931 reviews
Travelodge London Greenwich
#548 of 1,076 in London
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £83 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. With Blackheath in front of the hotel, we are of course dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing