We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobsons Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #357 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hobsons Choice”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for one night to attend a family function. Arrived, knowingly, before the room would be ready so clocked in and left bags at reception. Disinterested was an understatement from the Basil Fawlty school of customer service. We went off to the do and returned at midnight where the night staff were totally different handed us our bags and key and being generally helpful.

The room was basic but did have a kettle to make a final cup of tea for the night and again in the morning. Bed clean and comfortable. No view, two containers parked outside the window. Bathroom so so. Cleaning the soapy mould off the corners of the bath sealant would have been progress but it was only for one night.

Highlight was breakfast.A totally different environment, bright. airy restaurant and a slice of black pudding too. Five stars for this bit!

I believe there are better rooms so ask if you are there for a few days. All things considered it did the job we needed it to. Its not easy running a hotel but it should perhaps have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear HappyHombre
thank you for your review, I am not sure what container were outside your room, we did have a new lift installed recently, where 1 was parked in the rear car park, but I am unaware of the other one. I am very sorry about your arrival customer service, I would certainly like to follow this up. Could you please email details of your stay (date and arrival time) to ken@clarendonhotel.com. So glad breakfast was good and that you generally enjoyed your stay.
I am also submitting parking information for guest, as we have updated this information recently
Hotel Car Park
The hotel has a front and rear car park. Car parking space is limited when the hotel is busy. To get to the rear of the hotel, turn right when coming out of the front hotel car park drive 100 meters until you arrive at the Princess of Wales Pub, drive alongside the pub and take the first right (paragon Place).

Blackheath Station Car Park (.38Ml)
The hotel also recommends guest to use the large station car park, this offers good value and has CCTV. You may also park for more than 24 hours.

Directions to the station car park. (Apcoa)
Drive out of the hotel front car park, turn left traveling down Montpelier Vale, then turn right back up Montpelier Vale, until you see the Crown Pub on your left hand side. turn left alongside the pub, drive around 3 corners until you see the car park.

Village Parking information
Pond Road (.2ml) – You can park from noon onwards to 11am the following day (Mon-Fri) and all day Saturday & Sunday Turn right from the hotel and take first right South Row by Princess of Wales Pub & pond. Then take 1st right into Pond Road
When can you park on yellow lines, resident’s bay & parking meters?
Monday to Saturday 7pm-9am
Weekend parking is free from Saturday 7pm-Monday 9am
Pay & Display Meters – Monday – Saturday 9pm-7am (max 2 hours) Charges - 35p-15 minutes = £1.40per hour
Locations of bays – All Saints Drive (road that goes around the church opposite the hotel)
Blackheath Village (Montpelier Vale) South Row – Turn right from the hotel and take first right by Princess of Wales Pub & pond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    598
    275
    99
    50
See reviews for
461
426
97
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Service was ok by night staff much better in the morning. Room which was a single room was nearly 120 pound, so expensive. Room was very basic and very small. No water only from tap. Bar area was ok and quite reasonable for a hotel. I live in this area and used hotel for a last minute need. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ads1980London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear ads
Thank you for your review and your feed back. I am sorry the water was not working correctly, this problem will hopefully be solved by Friday 8th Aug, when a new boiler is commissioned. While installing the boiler, we have had a couple of issues. Once again I am sorry, maybe when passing you can ask for me and I can speak to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for one night only as we wanted to dine at a Restaurant in Blackhealth, and this was the only hotel. It looks great from the outside, but tired on the inside. The staff are welcoming when you arrive, but from there on it is disappointing. The rooms are clean, but dated, and no air conditioning - it was a hot night!

Breakfast was really poor. The room was chaotic, with no one person allocated to seating guests. We felt like we were walking into a holiday camp nightmare. The food was extremely poor, sliced mothers pride bread, hard fried eggs, cheap frozen hash browns, and 'conference coffee' - muddy and hot.

The hotel could be so much more if it were brought up to date. The location is fantastic and it has a prime view across the common. Come on Clarendon, pull your finger out and get sorted.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank susielou36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Susielou36
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of the hotel. Alas we do not have air conditioning, I can inform you of works taking place - this week a new accessible was installed, new sash Georgian windows, and by the end of this week a 2 year project replacing the boiler system is hopefully completed. We are also redecorating, and just completing the final floor of the Regency wing. Sundays can be hectic for breakfast, as (rightly so) most guest come down at the same time. We normally have 8-10 staff working, and one person greeting and seating. We serve 2 types of coffee, 1) filter freshly made and 2) Kenco coffee which is made in large quantities. We will of course keep trying to improve and I thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here in August 2014...and had literally nowhere to park. We opted for street parking, which will work as long as you don't plan on parking before 7 PM. They had maybe 20 spots for the whole hotel...and if valet had been an option, we would have gladly taken it. Basic service but lifts were out of order....if you stay on the upper floors, prepare for stairs. The shower was awful - no hot water!! I liked where this hotel was, but I booked it after seeing it was right across the street from a park. The "park" was just a wide open very large lawn with one solitary church and nothing else. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Scott S
Thank you for your review. Sorry that you found parking difficult, excellent information can be found on our website, which shows all parking options as there are many. Below is the information.Clarendon Hotel & Blackheath Village Parking Information

Hotel Car Park
The hotel has a front and rear car park. The front car park has space for approximately 35 cars and the rear 15 cars. Car parking space is limited when the hotel is busy. To get to the rear of the hotel, turn right when coming out of the front hotel car park drive 100 meters until you arrive at the Princess of Wales Pub, drive alongside the pub and take the first right (paragon Place). You will then arrive at the back of the hotel where there is a small car park.

Blackheath Station Car Park (.38Ml)
The hotel also recommends guest to use the large station car park, this offers good value and has CCTV. You may also park for more than 24 hours. Weekend charges are very good at £5.00 for 24 hours
Monday-Friday - Charges
1 Hour - £2.00 3 Hours - £4.00 4 Hours - £6.00 6 Hours £8.00
24 Hours - £10.00 Extra 24hours £10.00 a day Eve/Night - £4.00 (6pm-6am)

Saturday & Sunday
1 Hour - £2.00 2 Hours - £3.00 24 Hours £5.00 *(very good if you are attending a function)

Directions to the station car park.
Drive out of the hotel front car park, turn left traveling down Montpelier Vale, then turn right back up Montpelier Vale, until you see the Crown Pub on your left hand side. (Southvale Road) turn left alongside the pub, drive around 3 corners until you see the car park. Walking to and from the hotel, you can walk through the car park towards the station and come back to the hotel via the village.
Buy online parking Phone Number: 08451 228 008 - SMS Number: 68680 - Location Code: 2095

Village Parking information cont.…

Pond Road (.2ml) – You can park from noon onwards to 11am the following day (Mon-Fri) and all day Saturday & Sunday Turn right from the hotel and take first right South Row by Princess of Wales Pub & pond. Then take 1st right into Pond Road
When can you park on yellow lines, resident’s bay & parking meters?
Monday to Saturday 7pm-9am
Weekend parking is free from Saturday 7pm-Monday 9am
Pay & Display Meters – Monday – Saturday 9pm-7am (max 2 hours) Charges - 35p-15 minutes = £1.40per hour
Locations of bays – All Saints Drive (road that goes around the church opposite the hotel)
Blackheath Village (Montpelier Vale) South Row – Turn right from the hotel and take first right by Princess of Wales Pub & pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here having booked on booking.com. Room tiny, no air con and you can only open windows about 2 inches. Bathroom so small and shower rubbish. No lift and room was on 3rd floor. Breakfast ok but didn't get toast served to table. No marmalade or cornflakes. Will not stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank talonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Talon Queen
Thank you for your review, I am sorry we had issues with our lift, this was only commissioned on Friday evening, a brand new lift. We have had the company back and it is all working now, but I am sorry that it was not working when you were here. My Head Chef also apologizes regarding the 2 items missing at breakfast.. I would like to look into your room and check for the window, please feel free to contact myself ken@clarendonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a two night stay at the Clarendon midweek and were pleased overall with our stay. The room was small but adequate and clean. Location was excellent for Blackheath and for getting into central London by train. The station is only 5 mins walk from the hotel and there are some excellent restaurants nearby. The breakfast staff were very friendly and the dining room overlooked a walled garden. This is a leafy area of London with Greenwich Park on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear GuyF
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the local area.
Blackheath and Greenwich are a special place in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in July. Lovely setting and hotel looks lovely from the outside and a very impressive glass covered reception walkway. Hotel in need of some updating and we were put In a very outdated tiny ground floor room at the very back of the hotel, very hot only able to open the window a couple of inches, no air conditioning but a fan on the wall which did not work. Spoke to reception and they did try and fix it but in the end gave us a very old alternative fan which really did nothing. No parking available on arrival but were advised we could park anywhere in local area for free until following morning at 8am. Breakfast was lovely, great room very friendly staff and tea and toast served at table. Would I rush back?? Probably not but ok for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Ask not to be at back of hotel or ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clw1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear clw1278
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to inform you that we have now updated the wing you stayed in. I am sorry that the fan in your room was not working, the weather has been hot. Pleased that you enjoyed breakfast, we are just about to bring in a new locally made jam and marmalade from Borough Market.
We have also updated our parking information, and I have attached it below, as there is more parking options once the hotel car park is full.
Hotel Car Park
The hotel has a front and rear car park. Car parking space is limited when the hotel is busy. To get to the rear of the hotel, turn right when coming out of the front hotel car park drive 100 meters until you arrive at the Princess of Wales Pub, drive alongside the pub and take the first right (paragon Place).

Blackheath Station Car Park (.38Ml)
The hotel also recommends guest to use the large station car park, this offers good value and has CCTV. You may also park for more than 24 hours.

Directions to the station car park. (Apcoa)
Drive out of the hotel front car park, turn left traveling down Montpelier Vale, then turn right back up Montpelier Vale, until you see the Crown Pub on your left hand side. turn left alongside the pub, drive around 3 corners until you see the car park.

Village Parking information
Pond Road (.2ml) – You can park from noon onwards to 11am the following day (Mon-Fri) and all day Saturday & Sunday Turn right from the hotel and take first right South Row by Princess of Wales Pub & pond. Then take 1st right into Pond Road
When can you park on yellow lines, resident’s bay & parking meters?
Monday to Saturday 7pm-9am
Weekend parking is free from Saturday 7pm-Monday 9am
Pay & Display Meters – Monday – Saturday 9pm-7am (max 2 hours) Charges - 35p-15 minutes = £1.40per hour
Locations of bays – All Saints Drive (road that goes around the church opposite the hotel)
Blackheath Village (Montpelier Vale) South Row – Turn right from the hotel and take first right by Princess of Wales Pub & pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#423 of 1,069 in London
1,168 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#253 of 1,069 in London
1,887 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#260 of 1,069 in London
706 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#401 of 1,069 in London
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Property: The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. With Blackheath in front of the hotel, we are of course dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, HRS, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing