We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Kings Cross
Ranked #625 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here for one night, excellent location for kings cross,st.pancras station. Walked from station in 5 mins. Check in quick but given wrong room ( room occupied by very surprised guests when we walked in. When we got in the correct room there was a musty smell. Room clean but very basic. No extras at all. Plenty of space for the four of us. Breakfast was continental and unlimited but nothing to get excited about. A good place to stay for a night before getting a train but too basic for any longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castigergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the hotel castigergirl, however we are sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your room. We would expect all our guests to receive a speedy check in process and under no circumstances should a room be allocated to two separate guests. We have very robust procedures to ensure that this does not happen, however it appears that an error occurred during this process. We would like to further investigate this issue for you, please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,242 - 1,248 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed one night on business and found the location excellent - just a short walk from the station.
Having read previous reviews I was a little worried about it being noisy so requested a quiet room. Sorted!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here on 14th to 16th feb. First impression was a friendly smile and quick check in, room was spotless and cosy. Basic décor but lovely big comfy bed The location is perfect for the tube, 2 mins walk and your at station. couple of nice restaurants nearby and plenty of takeaways. would stay here again.


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank richieblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I have never had such a bad nights sleep as this experience. It is possible to sleep due to the deafening noise of the trains. The staff know that there is a problem but told us that the few quieter rooms that they have are given to guests staying for more than one night. They say they are looking into making improvements. I felt sorry for the staff who must have to put up with similar complaints on a daily basis.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

We're really sorry to learn of your disappointing stay due to noise from outside of the hotel Saxondalefoxes. We do try to reduce noise in our hotels by having insulated walls and double glazing. Unfortunately due to the central location of the hotel it may not always be possible to completely prevent noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The standards in the hotel are fine, and it is in a great location in terms of access to London. We were happy in terms of quality and service however the train noise, from our room, was horrendous. They were non-stop and so loud we barely slept all night.

Overall the lack of sleep overshadowed the whole experience and spoiled our day in London.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Solid but soulless budget hotel in King's Cross. I stayed here prior to an early morning train from King's Cross the following morning, so had a limited experience with the hotel. Ultimately, a well located hotel that's a 3-minute walk from King's Cross and St Pancras Stations, so convenient for those early morning departures/late night arrivals.The hotel was basic (in particular, irritating that Travelodge only provide a small bar of soap), but exactly as described. Room was a reasonable size, comfortable bed, plenty of tea and coffee facilities, room for hanging clothes, etc. Minor gripes were that the room had been made up as a triple, so had a camp bed but nowhere to sit other than a single armchair. More irritatingly, temperature control was limited to a wall-mounted radiator - the only way to cool the room was to open the window, which backed over the Tube tracks - effective, but noisy climate control.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review MarkReynolds. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperature and set up of the room. Unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning as part of or brand standard however we do keep fans at reception, available on a first come first serve basis. We currently do not offer toiletries in our rooms, although our customers may purchase any forgotten items from our vending machines in reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Unfortunately I am unable to recommend this hotel, which must be the worst of our hotel but certainly not the cheapest.

We got off to a bad start when the receptionist wasn't very friendly or service-minded and gave our family of four a three-bed room. After a discussion we got changed to another room. The room was unspectacular but ok, but the children's beds were very uncomfortable.

The room was very noisy, from the room above, the corridor and the trains below.

The breakfast was very basic but adequate and the location near King's Cross Railway Station was very convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

We're sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from both inside and outside of the hotel during your stay with us and that the serviced you received fell below our expectations. Our staff should always provide a warm and friendly welcome and we will be sure to make our hotel management team aware of your feedback so our staff can be reminded of the importance of customer care. Unfortunately due to the central location of the hotel it may not be possible to completely reduce noise however we take certain measures to help prevent noise, such as ensuring our rooms are double glazed and the walls are insulated. We'd like to offer our apologies for any inconvenience caused on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#288 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Kings Cross

Address: Willing House 356-364 Gray's Inn Road | Willings House, London WC1X 8BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #625 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £58 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Kings Cross 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Central Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Hotel London
Travelodge Kings Cross
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Lodge London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing