We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Kings Cross
Ranked #603 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So very noisy”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The room was fine, exactly what you expect from this chain, clean and with a very comfortable bed.However, it is Kings Cross - literally - which means the trains were right under my room. It was very very noisy all night apart from a brief respite in the early hours of the morning, so I had a really bad night's sleep. The room was very hot although an electric fan was provided, there is no air conditioning. The Bathroom has been done up recently so it was fine and breakfast is basic but more than adequate. I paid £113, I think you would be happier if you pay less to stay here and be prepared for the noise - perhaps if you take ear plugs with you you'll manage to sleep well! Friendly staff on reception and at breakfast and a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not right by the railway lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    373
    267
    131
    140
See reviews for
361
349
76
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilsden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

For £51 what did we get? A clean and comfortable room. Bed was great. What didn't we get? A decent nights sleep! Book a room at front of hotel to avoid trains all night! I tried to but couldn't find a direct contact number.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rothers1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Over priced noisy (and I mean VERY noisy) rooms. Basic accommodation - not even a hair dryer provided. Rooms appear to have been 'upgraded' basically new curtains and bed. The bed was comfy but the curtains let all the light through.

An expensive sleepless night. My advice to travelodge:
- get some black out curtains
- instal triple glazing and air con (at least to the rooms facing the train lines)
- provide hair dryers
- put a shelf in the shower so we can store our shower gel/ shampoo some where useful

Room not the cleanest.

Reception staff however were very good!

My advice is to avoid, I will not be returning.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clembo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Kings Cross, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction Clembo81. We do want our customers to have a peaceful sleep and in an attempt to reduce the noise outside we do provide trip glazing however due to the central location it’s not always possible to reduce all external noise outside of the hotel. This particular hotel does not have air conditioning however in an attempt to ensure our customers have a comfortable stay we do offer fans at reception. We also offer the option for our customers to borrow a hair dryer, on a first come first serve basis. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed just one night thank goodness. A very very basic hotel no hairdryer, no toiletries, just one smallish bath towel each, no air conditioning, and no phone in room. The rooms get extremely hot and if you open the window then it can be very noisy depending on where your room is situated in the hotel. You can borrow a fan from reception. I didn't bother with breakfast as we had an early start. It is convenient for Eurostar and is just about OK for one night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are quieter. Rooms on the higher floors are the hottest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Kings Cross, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review Ann C and we sorry to read that you were unhappy that the room didn't provide you with the additional items that you would have expected. We do not offer things like hairdryers, phones and toiletries as a brand standard, however hairdryers and spare items such as towels may be obtained from reception on a first come first serve basis. This helps us to continue to offer competitive rates for our customers. Furthermore, unfortunately not all our hotels have air conditioning as part of our brand standard, however, as you have said, fans are available from reception on a first come first serve basis. We will be sure to pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager in order to address the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Room was £174 it was stuffy with no air condition. I was in the basement with a tiny high window that was locked. It was like being in a cell. The bathroom was shoddy. An absolute rip-off. The desk staff were quite nice but that doesn't make up for the fact that I would have been cheaper getting myself arrested and sleeping in an actual cell

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Snoopnuttynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is just a five minutes walk from both Kings Cross and St Pancras International train stations, and we stayed here for a Friday night stop over before departing for a trip to France on an early morning Eurostar the next day. Our room was on the top floor at the rear of the hotel with a view of the London skyline. The room was large and had recently been refurbished in the new Travelodge décor scheme . The bed was comfy and the curtains did a good job of keeping out the early morning sun light. Knowing the area I was aware there are train tracks behind this hotel and the double glazing did a good job of cutting down the noise of the trains.

The bathroom was large, the shower was over the bath and was powerful enough for a good shower and there was plenty of hot water.

I can't comment on the hotels restaurant and bar as we did not use these.

We had a good nights sleep and will definitely stay here again when using the Eurostar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if don't like the noise of the trains going passed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonjo_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

there is only 1/2 hr free wi-fi on offer
and limited TV channels
the breakfast is limited to continental and there is no evening meal option
no phone or hairdryer in the room and on bottle of hand wash / shower gel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#864 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#116 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Kings Cross

Property: Travelodge London Central Kings Cross
Address: Willing House 356-364 Gray's Inn Road | Willings House, London WC1X 8BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #603 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Kings Cross 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Central Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Hotel London
Travelodge Kings Cross
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Lodge London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing