We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for London”
Review of Cherry Court Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherry Court Hotel
Ranked #510 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We come through London often and we hate to pay London prices for accommodation because we really do spend so little time in our room. This is why Cherry Court is pretty much perfect for us. Great location, friendly service and everything we needed for our stay.

Yes - the rooms are tiny. I'd say our room itself was probably the dimensions of a king-size bed (with room for a double bed and side table near the large window). The bathroom is also very small - "one person at a time" small.

Ok. So it's small. If you want big, go somewhere else. If you want value, stay at Cherry Court.

The very friendly Mrs. Patel helped us to check in and rang us later to make sure we had everything we needed. All the rooms at Cherry Court have been recently renovated. I was surprised at how nice everything was given the low nightly price. I expected worn and dated, but what we got was fresh and updated.

The hotel is about 5-8 minutes walk from Victoria Station. There are pubs close by and you'll find yourself pretty much in the center of everything once you walk out the door. The neighborhood is safe and I would stay here as a solo female traveler without a doubt.

So a hearty recommendation to fellow budget travelers. It's tiny, but it's a great value in a big city.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side, which did have a few revelers later in the evening. Ask for a back sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LagunaGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryCourtHotel, Owner at Cherry Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And we sincerely hope to see you again next time you are in London!!

Kind regards,
Mrs Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were visiting London in October and had trouble finding an affordable family room. We picked the Cherry Court because of reviews here. What a disaster. The "family room" is in the basement. 5 Beds squeezed into a tiny, dark room. Dirty, old run down bathroom. The bedspreads were stained and dirty. We immediately went upstairs to complain and asked the check-in person to come downstairs. When we showed him the dirty covers, he said, "that"s not a stain, it's a spot." We immediately got on the internet and started looking for a new place. When we told them we were leaving and didn't want our credit card charged, they didn't even argue.

I would be very careful here and have a backup plan.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Edinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryCourtHotel, Owner at Cherry Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us 6 months ago was not as expected. Cherry Court has recenly been fully upgraded, and our family room has had a rear conservatory added to it, leading to the patio garden. Our laundry is hired from an outside company which supplies many major chain hotels. We screen all our linen, but please accept our apologies for this oversight. We aim to keep our guests comfortable and happy.

Kind regards,
Mrs Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Some caveats before I continue! First, we knew this was a lower priced hotel when we booked it, at least by London standards. But, we have also stayed in lower priced hotels in Prague, Brussels, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Paris (don't mean to be a name dropper). Just to say that we are accustomed to the smaller rooms that you get in European hotels, and particularly lower priced properties. BUT, this was the absolute smallest room we have ever stayed in, and the worst experience. As for the size, we had what amounts to a twin bed, for two people. We literally could not lie on our sides without bumping the other person. In addition, there was so little floor space around the bed that only one person could get dressed or do anything, while the other person waited till they were finished. The bathroom was very tiny. If you leaned forward while sitting on the toiled, you rested your head on the sink. I could barely bend over in the shower. In fact, I couldn't! If I dropped something, I would slowly squat down to pick it up. The room size itself would be OK for a single person traveling, but for two it was uncomfortable.

However, I believe the hotel was trying to spruce up for the summer and the coming of the Olympics. The bathroom appeared to be newly remodeled, with new tile. We didn't know how new the remodel was until the mirror over the sink suddenly appeared on our last night there. Plus, when we arrived, they were in the process of painting the entire hallway and up the stairs. Sanding dust from the painting had made its way into the room. It was useless to block the space under the door with the bathmat, since the dust came in around the other cracks of the door. And the paint fumes the first night there gave me a headache. I guess they figured they could repaint and remodel in the off season, and no one would know or mind.

On the up side, there was wi-fi in the room. The fruit basket for breakfast was as advertised. There is no breakfast area, and we did not expect one. The location was fantastic, just 2 blocks from Victoria Station, where you could go for odds and ends groceries, or choose a place for a hot brekkie. We ate at the Pret a Manger there, always a good choice for healthy food. The location was also a 10 min walk from Buckingham Palace. Very convenient for tube.

Overall, we felt that even as a budget choice, we were overcharged given the condition of the hotel when we arrived (i.e., the painting and the fumes). We were not advised of this situation before we arrived. Given the fact that the painting disrupted literally the entire property, we felt the proprietors should have offered to make alternative arrangements. Even though this was a one time situation, we would not consider going back.

Room Tip: I'm not sure of our room number, but it was on a lower floor facing an alleyway which was often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank joanc1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryCourtHotel, Owner at Cherry Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Firstly, we are sincerely sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as expected.
We have been upgrading our hotel, and unfortunately we ran behind on our schedule, due to unforeseen circumstances. With regards to our reservations, we did not want to let anyone down by cancelling last minute. Furthermore we were unable to find suitable alternative accomodation nearby. All we can do is apologise for any disruption.
Unfortunately we cannot do much about the size of our rooms. We are upfront about the fact that they are small. Our hotel is in a listed Victorian terraced building, and in order to provide our guests with en suite facilities, space is a compromise. We aim to provide a clean and comfortable place for our guests.
Again we are sorry to hear about your stay and if you decide to come again, we will be more that happy to offer you a special rate.

Kind regards,
Mrs Patel
Cherry Court Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We booked two rooms - a double and a single for our family.

My husband and I stayed in Room 8. There was a small open shelf behind the door with about five hangers and some shelves which we used for our coats and sweaters as well as a skinny built-in shelf next to the bed which I used to stash my shoes and clothes. My husband lived out of his suitcase. There was a nightstand with water kettle, instant coffee, tea bags, sugar and creamer as well as the daily replenished fruit basket with clementines, apples, bananas, granola bars and juice drinks. Two coffee cups and drinking glasses were also provided. Honestly, the room was not as small as I had expected. The bed was pushed against the wall so there was sufficient space to walk around the bed at the foot and side. There was also a small corner shelf provided for the person who slept next to the wall. There was a large window which opened onto Hugh Mews (very picturesque) - we had to turn down the heat and open the window a bit because we prefer to be cooler while we sleep. The bathroom was tiny but manageable. You could rest your foot on the shower edge while sitting on the toilet but it was very clean. Behind the toilet there was a large cabinet we used to store our toiletries. My husband grabbed a folding chair from the hallway to use as a place to sit on those mornings when he got up early and did not want to disturb me.

Our son stayed in Room 10 which was a single on the top floor. He had a bit more floor space in his room and his bathroom was larger with a corner glass shower (ours was square with a curtain). He didn't have any shelf space but there were some hooks with hangers which he didn't use - his things stayed mainly in and around his suitcase. He also had a window with the same view as us - his room was directly above ours. He also opened his window - the room was a bit warm but you could control the radiator - I think being on the top floor added to the warmth. He also was given a breakfast basket with one of everything.

In both rooms the tv was mounted on the wall and there was a good selection of channels. Our rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. Mrs. Patel is very pleasant to deal with - all of our initial contact was by e-mail, very efficient. We used their computer in the lobby to catch up on e-mails and they did a large bag of laundry for us for 20 pounds (dropped off in the morning and it was in our room when we returned that evening). There was a coffee shop on the corner where my husband walked each morning to get us coffee and a pub just opposite where we had dinner the first night. There is a small grocery store right in Victoria Station where you can get drinks and snacks.

We normally rent a flat while in London but our time here was short on this trip and we opted for a hotel. No regrets here - we would recommend Cherry Court Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in a clean, quiet and friendly hotel. We paid 50 pounds per night for the single and 60 pounds per night for the double. A bargain for being this central - Victoria station is right around the corner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SophieJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryCourtHotel, Owner at Cherry Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Many thanks for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately the size of our rooms is out of our hands, and in order to provide our guests with en suite facilities, space is a compromise. We aim to provide a clean and comfortable stay for all. We hope to see you again next time you visit London!

Kind regards,
Mrs Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

It was not any more or less than I expected. The woman at the front desk was exceptionally pleasant, the place was easy to find, the location was great for someone depending on public transport. Walking distance to train station, buses, and musicals.

Room Tip: Stairs are a bit claustrophic, but still a fair value considering it is London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J3Othon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryCourtHotel, Owner at Cherry Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for your kind reveiw and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again next time you visit London!

Kind regards,
Mrs Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I was in London just over a year ago. for two week. and stayed at Cherry Court Hotel. (sorry it took so long to wright a review.) Sept.23rd - Oct.7th. Room #6. This little Hotel is right in the middel of it all. 2 blooks from Victora station and bus lines. less than a 15 min. (good paced) walk to Buckingham Palace. there is a pub at the end of the street that has great food. The rooms are small but very clean and tidy and if you are just sleeping there at night its all good. While i was there my room got a new T.V. Very nice i have to say. Hugh Street is quiet well lit at night and clean. The staff answered every question about where things where and how to get there. i got there early (Fight was ontime) and they let me check in early. so nice of them. When i go back this year i will be staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryCourtHotel, Owner at Cherry Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Many thanks for your kind review, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have recently upgraded our rooms so we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Mrs Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is ideally placed close to Victoria station, on a very quiet side street. The room was clean, neat, and quiet, if a bit small. The price was very reasonable. The fruit basket makes breakfast very convenient because you can get up whenever you feel like it. The owner is a very helpful woman who even offered to move her car so that I could park directly in front of the hotel (no need, I parked half a block away.) I will definitely be staying here on my next visit to London.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivebeeneverywhere99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryCourtHotel, Owner at Cherry Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we are limited in space but aim to provide a clean and comfortable stay. We hope to see again in the future.
Kind regards,
Mrs Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#327 of 1,077 in London
1,675 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#464 of 1,077 in London
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Court Hotel

Address: 23 Hugh Street | Victoria, London SW1V 1QJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in London
#252 Romantic Hotel in London
#377 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £55 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes walk from Victoria tube, rail and coach station, located on quiet residential street. Within walking distance to many sightseeing sights of central London. Run by a friendly small family providing a personal touch for over 25 years, with much information and knowledge of local area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherry Court London
Hotel Cherry Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing