We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel London ExCeL
Ranked #280 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed a couple of night in December. We had 2 rooms. Both rooms comfortable, helpful and friendly staff. Great breakfast. The gym facilities were good. Covered walkway to the train and not to far out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment following your experience at Novotel London ExCeL. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 2,331 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed in the hotel during a visit to London for a travel fair.happy with the clean room with good space for work area if your traveling for business purpose.Even the rooms are ideal for leisure clients.Spacy with comfortable bed with necessary amenities of a 4 star hotel room.modern bath room with shower/bathtub.Under ground train station walking distance.Surrounded by nice industrial looking area looking from the window.Loved the bar with glasses around.Overall kind/professional/helpful staff.Good breakfast with lot varieties.hotel services and comfort level expectation,value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuruddha_Peiris81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I was very happy to see from your comment that you found our hotel clean and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again on your next trip to London.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Turned up and checked in, no problem. Went to the room that we had booked and it was incorrect. A superior twin room was booked where we were then put in a double standard room. We called reception who were rather un helpful and made out as if it was an issue to move us. After 10 minutes they did agree to move us but not before accusing me of booking a double room and not the Twin room booked. I had to show reception the e-mail booking form to prove i was correct. Poor customer service. Otherwise a very good hotel all round.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for your feedback posted with regards to your recent stay at Novotel London ExCel. I was sorry to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay as you rated us with 3 stars only.

It was very dissapointing to read that you found our staff unhelpful and rated our customer service poor. We aim to honour all guest requests, and I very much regret that you felt that it took us too long to change your room type. Please accept my apologies.

Our guests are very important to us, and I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. Should you wish to stay with us again, please contact me and I will ensure we will look after you and make you our priority.

Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Used this hotel as we were visiting the boat show at London Excel - brilliant location walked out of front door and into excel centre

Room was clean and functional with only complaint that bed was a little firmer that would haveliked but nothing major

Breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of choice and plenty for every one - will use this hotel again if we visiting excel centre

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room smelled like the drains were up and they didnt have an alternative room to swap us.
when we went down for breakfast at 9.30 and then returned we were locked out of the room, this has happened with this chain before, the key cards stop working at 10 on day of departure! we called reception to complain from corridore phone and then had to wait 15 mins for them to unlock the door with a master key, no appology what so ever, and when I challenged the guy for one he just snapped back that it wasn't his fault! very poor, never again, cost a fortune for 1 night so we could visit boat show, £135 for a basic double room. rip off and staff with attitude if you want my opinion

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

I am very sorry to hear that the room didn't meet your expectations and I was surprised to read that the team was unable to find you an alternative, much more suitable room for you. I will pass your comments on to the Front Office Manager to investigate this matter further.
I am very sorry that on this occasion you did not experience the usual high standard of service we proud ourselves on.

Equally, we regret the inconvenience caused by our door locks. However, I am pleased to inform you that within next few months all door locks will be replaced to prevent such incidents.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for any shortfalls that you experienced during your stay.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you in the future and exceed your expectations this time.

Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed with family in Dec 2013, all fine. Just by Emirates cable car and easy access to DLR. Restaurant was good, the child portions (for 7-12) were really adult portions! TESCO express and Nisa store just near by. There are also other restaurants near by. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slopey192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Slopey129,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.com. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel location convenient for your requirements.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Novotel London ExCeL, Royal Victoria Dock on another stay in London.


Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Novotel ExCeL is very well designed and ideal for attending any exhibition or event in the ExCeL center. Located at a walking distance, the hotel has a great lobby, with bar and restaurant on the River Thames.
The rooms are very basic and the Novotel rule is not to choose an upgrade for a Deluxe, as you would only get a Nespresso machine in room and a bath robe. Nothing very meaningful when we speak about a real room upgrade.
Nonetheless, I would come back in case of a future event. The hotel has everything a business man needs for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank your choosing to stay at the Novotel London ExCeL, Royal Victoria Dock and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

I am happy to read you found the location very suitable to your needs. It is true that our property is the closest one from the West Entrance of the ExCeL exhibition centre (only 300 metres away).

I was slightly dissapointed to read that you found our rooms to be basic, however I can reassure you that our Executive rooms have much more to offer. I would strongly suggest for your next visit to book our New Generation Executive room as it offers a completely new design compared to our Queen Superior rooms as well as extra amenities and services, such as free local phone calls, Bose docking station, late check out (upon availability), movies and premium internet access.

Once again, we are very grateful for your positive review in regards to your stay with us and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.


Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#276 of 1,077 in London
1,903 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#476 of 1,077 in London
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#574 of 1,077 in London
1,551 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London ExCeL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London ExCeL

Address: 7 Western Gateway, London E16 1AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#204 Luxury Hotel in London
#247 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Family Hotel in London
#291 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £75 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London ExCeL 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary waterfront hotel located 150 metres from the ExCeL London & ICC (Exhibition Centre)and near the O2 Arena, Canary Wharf, Stratford, London City Airport (LCY) and historic Greenwich. The hotel is ideally located in the capital’s dynamic eastside and close to Westfield Stratford City shopping centre, which is only 10 minutes away. Novotel London ExCeL is a 5 minute walk from Custom House D.L.R. station. All Novation rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and separate shower unit, as well as pivoting desk for working or dining, high speed internet, Wi-Fi access and satellite TV. The Upper Deck Restaurant offers panoramic views in a relaxed environment overlooking Royal Victoria Dock. Open from 6am to 10.00pm the Upper Deck also offers 24-hour room service. Paid car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Novotel London ExCeL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Excel Hotel London
Accor London Excel
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing