We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for 02 but shame about the noise of aircraft and drilling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel London ExCeL
Ranked #295 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location for 02 but shame about the noise of aircraft and drilling”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel very clean with excellent beds but most awful pillow! The staff were very pleasant in particular Paolo who checked us in.
The terrace has amazing views but was completely bare, no parasols to shade you in the sun no seat pads on the metal seats and was just a disappointment and not made in any way inviting.
We h quite a late night and the planes and drills woke us up at 8 am which was quite annoying and though there are notices saying work is being done and to be patient it is not great when all you want is a little lie in.
We disorder some bar snacks but the food was not particular good unfortuantely

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment.
We appreciate all feedback and my apologies that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay.
I will investigate with my team your comments with in mind to improve our service to all our guests.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again and it will be our pleasure to ensure that your will have a great stay at our property for your next trip to London.

Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    1,005
    313
    87
    39
See reviews for
674
531
130
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Worst experience on an ACCOR chain hotel, 3 days in it, guess what!?...3 changes of rooms because of noise...the last one was better but even so terrible noise from the constrution work that was going on the 7th floor (first floor that they sent me...an Accor Silver card)
Breakfast it´s as good as an IBIS for sure, lack of variaty and nothing special...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment.
We appreciate all feedback and my apologies that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. I will investigate with my team your comments with in mind to improve our service to all our guests.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again and it will be our pleasure to ensure that your will have a great stay at our property for your next trip to London.

Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
221 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is mainly a business hotel with travelling business men and air hostesses. And occassional families from Europe. Like us. The hotel is ok. Rooms are a bit weird and small. Breakfast buffe is hearty. And the staff is very nice. A bit far from the actual downtown. A somewhat too close to the planes.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martinodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.

We will look into the points you raised, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel London ExCel.

Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight as we were going to the O2. The hotel is in a great location, next door to the London ExCel and with the Emirates Skyline on your doorstep, which takes you over to the O2. We were welcomed by friendly, helpful reception staff. Our twin room had large 3/4 size beds, the room was clean, spacious with everything you would need i.e iron and ironing board, hair dryer, safe, TV, toiletries, tea/coffee making facility, air conditioning, wifi and overlooked the Royal Victoria Dock. The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice served from 7.00am to 11.00am in a pleasant dining room, again overlooking the dock with an outside seating area too. There is also a large bar/lounge area to relax in. All in all we could not fault our stay here and we would definitely return and would recommend this hotel to our friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gorgeous-olives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments.

I'm glad you had a good visit to London and appreciated our location, I am truly pleased to hear that we have fulfilled and exceeded your expectations in terms of service.

On behalf of our team, we look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel London ExCel.

Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for one night as we have stayed in many Novotels before. This is hotel is very well placed as it is 2 minutes from Custom House DLR and the Excel exhibition centre. Also to is near the Emirates Airline which is great if you need to go to the o2 arena. We were staying here for an event at the Queen Elizabeth Olympic park which is a 25 minute journey on public transport.

As normal, the staff were very friendly and check in was very smooth. As a member of club Acoor, the added benefits were also nice to have.

The only negative to our room was that the room was way too hot. The air conditioning was ever non-existent or not working and with the windows only been able to be opened a coupe of centimeters, this was a problem. We were right under the flight path for London city airport but the noise disruption was minimal.


Overall, we had a great stay and with a couple of improvements, this hotel would be well worth another visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback relating to your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that your experience in our hotel was a positive one and you enjoyed the warm hospitality from our team especially during the check in process.

It is such a great satisfaction to see that you appreciated our central location, close to all public transportation, making it the perfect base to discover London.

Please stay assured that we have noted your comments about our air cooling system and will be investigated by our maintenance department.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#263 of 1,067 in London
1,809 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#470 of 1,067 in London
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#574 of 1,067 in London
1,439 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London ExCeL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London ExCeL

Property: Novotel London ExCeL
Address: 7 Western Gateway, London E16 1AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#218 Luxury Hotel in London
#248 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Family Hotel in London
#291 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London ExCeL 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary waterfront hotel located 150 metres from the ExCeL London & ICC (Exhibition Centre)and near the O2 Arena, Canary Wharf, Stratford, London City Airport (LCY) and historic Greenwich. The hotel is ideally located in the capital’s dynamic eastside and close to Westfield Stratford City shopping centre, which is only 10 minutes away. Novotel London ExCeL is a 5 minute walk from Custom House D.L.R. station. All Novation rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and separate shower unit, as well as pivoting desk for working or dining, high speed internet, Wi-Fi access and satellite TV. The Upper Deck Restaurant offers panoramic views in a relaxed environment overlooking Royal Victoria Dock. Open from 6am to 10.00pm the Upper Deck also offers 24-hour room service. Paid car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London ExCeL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Excel Hotel London
Accor London Excel
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing