We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average or below average in the Novotel franchise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel London ExCeL
Ranked #273 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for a convention at the ExCel. It's on the Docklands Light Rail system so transportation to the rest of London isn't an issue at all.

What is an issue is the hotel itself. When you read the reviews for this place, you wonder why some have good experiences and some have bad. Rooms are not created equally...that's why. When we first arrived, we were given a room on the 4th floor that had a sofa bed and a bed. Not what we reserved ,,, we reserved a twin room with two beds. Also, the shower stunk. In fact, the smell seemed to be emanating from the drains in the sink and the shower. It was a horrible sewer/poop smell. It also smelled like something had just been painted in the room. We demanded a change of rooms but they said they couldn't switch us until the next day. Ok.

The bed in that room was very firm and was ok, I liked the pillows too. Actually, the best pillows I've had in a hotel in a while.

Next morning we left our luggage with them and went into the city and when we got back we got a twin room on the second floor. World of difference. No horrible smell, The beds were different here. They were a little softer and appeared to be mostly foam. Still comfortable. Pillows were still good. There was still a hint of a smell coming out of the bathroom sink.

I should point out that the room has the stupidest design in the world. The toilet is in a tiny cubicle adjacent the room door (so small that opening and closing the door while you're inside it is almost impossible). The sink is in another part of the room around the corner. An architect was on drugs when he designed this place.

So... room change worked out for us. Next .. room maintenance. Whoever was doing our room decided to NEVER change the glassware after it was used. Glasses remained dirty the rest of our stay (5 nights). That was a pet peeve of mine. She didn't even replace the plastic glasses until I threw them out and she had to give us new ones.

Breakfast was included in our rate. It was basic and ok. Waffles disappeared as the hotel got busier... not that they ran out, but they never appeared again. We had issues finding pepper. LOL If our table didn't have it, the ones we swiped off other tables didn't work. A minor pet peeve but still kind of funny.

It was cold when we were there so I can't comment on the air conditioning. However, I did like the fact that I could open the window a crack and let some fresh air in.

So... would I stay here again. No. Way more better hotels out there to choose from. Even if I had to go to a convention here again, I'd stay in another one.

I should also point out that reading the manager's responses to Tripadvisor complaints is kind of humourous as he says the same thing all the time and I haven't actually seen any resolution to some of those complaints that are similar to mine. A less text book response would be so much better.

Room Tip: Don't go here unless you're stuck for a room and when you do, smell the washroom first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pxlbarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment.
We appreciate all feedback and my apologies that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. I will investigate with my team your comments with in mind to improve our service to all our guests.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again and it will be our pleasure to ensure that your will have a great stay at our property for your next trip to London.

Kind Regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

I looked at a lot of the reviews and was quite surprised at how good they were. Perhaps we stayed in an alternate universe but our experience wasn't nearly as good.

The hotel is easily accessible from the DLR (there are ramps if you have bags) but the hotel reception is upstairs and you must take a tiny elevator to reach it. Our reservation had several problems; thank goodness we had the paper print out of the details. Our suite was adequate. Cheap furniture but enough space to move around in and two toilets. The little fridges barely kept anything cool. One of the safes was locked and couldn't be opened. The towels were horrible but there was enough of them. The bed was the worst. The mattress was literally 4 inches thick and when you pushed down on it, you could feel the wooden slats of the bed frame. Tiny windows open (which is nice) but we were located over the restaurant patio and there were squealing kids running around at a birthday party until midnight. You could hear them (and the planes which take off on the other side of the Excel) even with the windows closed. The air-conditioning didn't function overly well and as a consequence we were constantly too hot at night.

The breakfast was the same each and every day. I couldn't eat it but my husband managed to find fruit and cereal that suited him.

We had a convention rate, which I thought was still a bit on the high side considering, but this is London and you'd pay a lot to sleep in a box here. The service was fine. We didn't try the restaurant after eating the breakfast.

The best aspects of this hotel is the location next to the Excel and the easy access from the tube.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel, although we are always very appreciative of getting our customers feedback I was disappointed to hear that your experience didn't meet your expectations.
I like to explain about our rooms which were refurbished 3 years ago, I am sorry they are not entirely according to your needs.

On a positive note, I'm glad that you found our location near ExCel Exhibition Centre suitable to your needs.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Staying for a convention, our experience was top notch for start to finish. The breakfast, while very good, is a bit pricey but ok for one or two mornings. The bar staff is friendly and competent. Over the course of several days they began recognizing us and our regular orders. The bedroom was a twin and the beds are oversized for twins. The shower was nicely appointed and the view of the Excel Center and the Quay was nice. Behind the hotel, about a block down, is a dry cleaners that offers same and next day laundry service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scotchgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,

We truly believe in our guest’s feedback and the feedbacks made by you are an incentive for us.

I wish to have a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel where we will be amused to repeat your previous experience.

Kind regards
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Novotel, Victoria dock, by the Excel, is modern and spacious. It seems more expensive than it is ( we had an offer!). Renovated rooms are great; breakfasts superb, plentiful and varied menu. Everyone very helpful and friendly behind reception.
It is 15 mins on the DLR from the centre, but that's no problem. Our 3 kids loved the open spaces of the square and being on the water. The Emirates Flyover is by the door and cost £11 for five of us- well worth it to the O2 and Cutty Sark/ Greenwich.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pshrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,

We truly believe in our guest’s feedback and such positive feedbacks made by you are an exceptional incentive for us.

I wish to have a pleasure to welcome you and your family back in our hotel where we will be amused to repeat your previous experience.

Kind regards
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel was great, rooms clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel also offer great facilities. When we arrived we had twin room on our booking, but, Lauryn soon sort us a double with no hassle - great service.

The area is lovely and it was beside a DLR station, however it is in zone 3 and was a little far out from Central London - it took at least 40 minutes to get into the city. There are plenty places to eat round about the hotel, including the hotel itself, so once you are finished sightseeing for the day you don't need to go back into town, it's just we wanted to. Also, you wouldn't get a hotel for this price with these facilities in the centre - so it depends on what you are looking for.

If you don't mind being a bit out of town or you are looking for a hotel near the O2, then I would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear guest,

We truly believe in our guest’s feedback and such positive feedbacks made by you are an exceptional incentive for us.

I wish to have a pleasure to welcome you and your family back in our hotel where we will be amused to repeat your previous experience.

Kind regards

Guets relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stopped at this hotel again for another concert at the 02 this time it was Beyonce. I can only mirror my last review, the location of the hotel is fab wih the nearest tube stop less than a 5 min walk. Room was of a good size and the breakfast being really good, we did have breakfast included in the fare we paid. For the event we used the tube and didnt have to go far before we reached the 02. We would use this hotel again if we come back to London.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThompsonBriddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear guest,

We truly believe in our guest’s feedback and such positive feedbacks made by you are an exceptional incentive for us.

I wish to have a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel where we will be amused to repeat your previous experience.

Kind regards

Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Bed/mattress is clearly not design for having 'fun', so avoid this hotel if you are not alone. But what is worst is that on the room above us they started some drilling works around 10 am on a Saturday - the management should have known there were guests around! We had to switch off the air con as it was too noisy. On top of that I don't think the quality of the room reflects its price - much better deals out there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Soreillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dera guest,

Firstly, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel. Here at Novotel London ExCeL, we have always worked hard to maintain the high level of our client service, and you can be sure that this incident was an isolated case.

Nonetheless, we appreciate your feedback. It has certainly helped us identify weak spots in our training and will surely help us as we strive to provide you with the very best customer service.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#260 of 1,076 in London
1,885 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#478 of 1,076 in London
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#581 of 1,076 in London
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London ExCeL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London ExCeL

Address: 7 Western Gateway, London E16 1AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#201 Luxury Hotel in London
#248 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Family Hotel in London
#291 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £77 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London ExCeL 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary waterfront hotel located 150 metres from the ExCeL London & ICC (Exhibition Centre)and near the O2 Arena, Canary Wharf, Stratford, London City Airport (LCY) and historic Greenwich. The hotel is ideally located in the capital’s dynamic eastside and close to Westfield Stratford City shopping centre, which is only 10 minutes away. Novotel London ExCeL is a 5 minute walk from Custom House D.L.R. station. All Novation rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and separate shower unit, as well as pivoting desk for working or dining, high speed internet, Wi-Fi access and satellite TV. The Upper Deck Restaurant offers panoramic views in a relaxed environment overlooking Royal Victoria Dock. Open from 6am to 10.00pm the Upper Deck also offers 24-hour room service. Paid car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London ExCeL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Excel Hotel London
Accor London Excel
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing