We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Burger in the World: if you do not agree, I'll pay for it!!!”
Review of Portobello Gold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portobello Gold
Ranked #105 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Burger in the World: if you do not agree, I'll pay for it!!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

when I am unsure of the restaurant, I usually get a burger but whoaaaaaaaa! I was in for the experience of a lifetime, there is that certain smell that I enjoy, cooked well & the ambiance was fabulous.

Room Tip: once it gets busy, it is a challenge to get seat but once you started ordering and getting your food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u6ytng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    95
    48
    32
    28
See reviews for
39
152
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ightham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is not a hotel but a pub with rooms. The staff were cheerful and helpful but the room was more like a cupboard with a bed in it. I could feel the springs coming through the mattress. The bathroom arrangement is terrible, the sink is in the shower, there are holes in the tiles and is very tired and outdated like the rest of the room. I didn't stay for breakfast as I just wanted to get out and never come back! Shame as it was supposed to be my birthday treat.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My friends and I stopped here for a quick coffee and cake whilst shopping in the markets. We had to wait 20 minutes before our orders were taken another 15 minutes before the drinks were brought to the table and another 15 minutes before 3 cheesecake slices appeared!!

My friend had initially asked if the advertised cream tea's were on offer, and told that they didn't have any, however when our bill came we had been charged for it!! The "manager" was rude, loud and arrogant, declaring that as it was Saturday and they were extremely busy he couldn't see our problem!! However not all the tables were full and there was limited staff... he seemed a little bit above himself....
There are many lovely places to eat, drink and people watch on the Portobello Road, so don't bother with this one if you want good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breadsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

we arrived at the gold after a busy day in london and it was exactly what we needed! the staff are great, friendly,welcoming and a good laugh. The real ale is great and the steak was exceptional. we were expecting a tiny room after reading the website but it was perfect and had everything we needed for a couple of nights stay, very clean and a comfy bed. the area around the pub was great but after visiting a couple of pubs nearby, we much preferred the atmosphere of the gold. We also thought it was great value. For any future visits to london this is definately the place that we'll stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed in the 4 poster room which was quirky and completely in character with the area. Loved it!
The bar is a "proper" bar with loads of character and characters. The food was good in the evening and I particularly liked breakfast which was a do it yourself affair with a really rustic feel.

Room Tip: Choose the 4 Poster room if it is available
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I went back tonight to see if the service was not as bad as i thought. It was worse! I arrived at 8.50pm and had to wait until 9.03pm for service. When I asked for oysters at the same time as my drink, I was told the kitchen was closed. I declined the drink but was abused by the barman for not accepting the drink. i only ordered the drink to compliment my oysters. Please, please do not go to this bar. They have a very slick advert, but obviously hate their customers if they do not order to their convenience. By the way, I believe most pubs are cheaper.
Hateful experience TWICE!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

It was great to see a bar that still kept to its routes with great characters and always a laugh. The staff were always willing to help and atmosphere was great. The rooms were great prices, cosy and recommended for a couple. we stayed for two nights and met some charming and cheerful characters who were never too shy to introduce themselves. We will definitely come back for a visit next time we are there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#538 of 1,069 in London
167 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#622 of 1,069 in London
203 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#365 of 1,069 in London
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Juliette's Guest House
Juliette's Guest House
#153 of 554 in London
57 reviews
Notting Hill
6 Portobello Road
6 Portobello Road
#358 of 554 in London
17 reviews
The Summerfield
#172 of 554 in London
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Gold

Property: Portobello Gold
Address: 95/97 Portobello Road | Notting Hill, London W11 2QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Hotel Class:3 star — Portobello Gold 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portobello Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Gold London
Portobello Gold Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing