We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is the best point”
Review of Portobello Gold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portobello Gold
Ranked #95 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“location is the best point”
Reviewed 15 September 2008

I've been wanting to stay at this place for a long time, and finally managed to have a visit over the weekend. We asked for a room not on the street (noise) and were booked in number 2. Basically, the room was small, which is FINE. But it faced a noisy generator and the room was boiling hot. The heating was not on so we assume it was related to something outside or over the kitchen. (When I checked out I was told this had never come up, which my partner and I found stunning; it was stuffy and boiling and cool outside!) My main complaint is that the room was very sub-standard. If they had taken the time to make the room feel well cared for - extra nice bedding, a comfy bed (not one with springs sticking into my ribs), decent shower products - then I can overlook the other issues. Instead it was a big dingy and felt like staying in a hostel. for those who don't mind this is fine, but for those who feel spending $140 for a night is a lot, this will feel like a bit of a rip-off (and a bit depressing). The best point of course, is the location - walking out on to Portobello market on a saturday; and the continental breakfast was very nice and the staff very chill and relaxed.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tilly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    91
    46
    31
    26
See reviews for
38
149
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2008

The Gold is pretty close to Notting Hill tube and there are a couple of cafes and day market nearby. I was traveling alone but felt safe to be around the area. The room is small but reasonable, can't ask much with such price. The only downside is the foul smell from the bar downstairs but overall, it's a good choice for singles.

Points that you'd like to know:
1) It's clean
2) Shower area is small but very clean -- There's a daily cleaner
3) Don't expect hotel service but the staff are all nice and helpful
4) No bugs or roaches so nothing scary

I'll stay there again when I'm back to London.

  • Liked — Clean room and shower area
  • Disliked — Foul smell from the bar downstairs
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gneosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Loved this funky, easy-going pub with rooms on the Portobello Road. It's about ten minutes walk from the tube at Notting Hill Gate and has a fab atmosphere. It's noisy and very laid back, so if you are looking for standard bland and anonymous, best go elsewhere. The rooms are small, some of them even tiny, but the staff warn you about that when you book. If you get the four poster room which we did, it's brilliant! The pub is right in the middle of the Portobello Road and you can either get the tube or pick up a bus from just around the corner.

Breakfast is very basic, but it's included and if you want something more there are loads of cafes in the area. My only criticism is that the rooms are a bit careworn and could do with redecorating, but the place is otherwise very clean and well kept. There's no air con either, but you can always open the original and very rattly windows ( I loved them, but again, if it's souless and perfect you want, go elsewhere!). The wifi internet access was great too and worked fine for me with none of the problems mentioned in other reviews.

I was on my own for a couple of nights until my boyfriend joined me and I felt safe and chilled out by myself. He recommends the olives from the bar, by the way! I found the service amazing, the mostly young staff were wonderful and I can't wait to go back -- which I will!

  • Liked — the staff, the atmosphere and the location
  • Disliked — rooms need redecorating!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CelticDownshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

A lovely little inn! Located above a pub (but still very quiet at night), the room was small but felt cozy, not cramped and everything was very clean. Ensuite bathroom was really tiny but clean with a small shower stall, sink and toilet. There were a lot of stairs to climb to the rooms, so avoid if you require easier access. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and transportation tips. The location was great! We weren't there on a weekend so we missed the market but still were able to walk Notting Hill and Hyde Park. Plenty of restaurants around and the breakfast served downstairs in the morning was pretty good standard fare- toast, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, coffee/tea. We'll definitely return next time in London!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom size
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank from_Ohio_with_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2007

Stayed here in Oct '07. Takes 10 mins to/from Notting Hill tube station. Except on Saturday where the crowd gathers around 9am-6pm, the neighborhood is quiet. The first two floors are a pub and manager office. There are 7 rooms on the third floor where we stayed. Room 0-3 facing the back of the building, Room 4-6 facing the front where the Saturday action is. The room is really small but clean with adequate amenities. Breakfast, self service, is ready at 8.30, comprises of bread, spreads, cereals, fruits, coffee/tea and millk. Services, provided when asked, are slow especially when the bar is open.

  • Liked — in the midddle of Portobello market
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaratpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2007

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights in Room 0 aka the Backpacker Room. The rooms at the PG are up at least 2 flights of stairs, so not suitable for the infirm. This is the smallest of the PG's rooms and has a slightly unusual bed arrangement: 1 single raised bed across the room, with 1 single bed (lower) lengthwise. This is a tiny room (approx 6'6" x 9'6"), so do not consider it if you feel claustrophobic. However it has everything you need: ensuite toilet and shower (more about that later), a curtained closet alcove, kettle, tv (small and high up), free wi-fi access and comfy beds.

Room rate (£70 per night) includes a more than adequate continental breakfast (juice, fruit, coffee, cereal and toast). The negatives: slight draught from the window, and the traditionally english anaemic shower. The ensuite toilet/ shower room is an interesting arrangement: when you enter the narrow room, a small basin is on the right, a shower pan is immediately inside the door and the shower is above the basin. Then there is a step up to the toilet. If you have ever stayed in an english home, you will know that often the hot water pressure is considerably less than the cold water pressure: this makes balancing hot and cold output for a shower an art form, and this shower is no exception. Your choices are lots of cold water, or considerably less warm water: showering can take a while.

How you respond to this "inn with rooms" depends on how you feel about the idiosyncratic: this is NOT a full service hotel. Personally, both my daugher and I loved the fact that it was above a neighbourhood pub, and the smallness of the room reminded us of being on a boat. Despite what other reviewers have said, I found the staff both friendly and helpful, and we both enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay there again. In fact, I hesitated about posting this review - I wouldn't want it to become so popular that I couldn't get a room next time!

  • Liked — Location and uniqueness
  • Disliked — The shower!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jenniferpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2006

We stayed here because we wanted to be in Notting Hill. That is the good part. It is right in the middle of Notting Hill near everything. The hotel is above a bar. We were worried about noise but it was fine. The room was the smallest we stayed in on our three-week adventure. The room was as wide as the bed's length. With only three steps to walk in next to the bathroom/shower it was a tight space. The shower head was right above the sink. Weird! The staff was nice and we ate/drank at the bar. The morning breakfast was free.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KCPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#570 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#605 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#380 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#350 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#360 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Notting Hill
Juliette's Guest House
Juliette's Guest House
#158 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Gold

Property: Portobello Gold
Address: 95/97 Portobello Road | Notting Hill, London W11 2QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Portobello Gold 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portobello Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Gold London
Portobello Gold Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing