We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portobello Gold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portobello Gold
Ranked #88 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swede in Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Want to stay in central London, and still have money in your pocket? This is the place. First we were a little skeptical; I mean, sleeping above a pub - wouldn't it be noisy? No. We could have the window open all night! The staff is very helpful, so friendly and kind. And the breakfast; wonderful to start the day alone in a pub. An extra plus for the organic apple juice. A new favorite. The room was very small, but comfortable. And when you walk out of the door, everything is at your footstep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edinburghfan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    86
    41
    29
    24
See reviews for
35
141
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

we had small double room it was all you needed for a stay over night. It was an idea location for us as our family were able to spend time with us in the bar at the end of the evening before theywent home so it was ideal.

Although you were in a pub the bed rooms are very quite and you are not disturbed by the busy portabello road.

The breakfast in the morning is very nice and very relaxed no pressure to get through breakfast. Enjoyed our stay and will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank claret_an_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Portobello gold is a complete package of comforting accommodation, great food and drinks and a warm welcoming staff. We had an amazing time and this isndefinitelynour place of choice when we come tomLondon, our home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

What an awful place, rude, ignorant & arrogant staff certainly rely on passing trade rather than providing good or even acceptable customer service. Garden room and dog are really nice but I suggest having a look fuss the dog then leave.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuarttheRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I've stayed several times at the Porto Gold, and have always enthusiastically enjoyed my stay. It's so convenient, in the middle of everything, and rather competitively priced. The roof top terrace is a real treat, if you are up for the added expense. I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely hotel not like other hotels and would recommend to friends. Staff make the hotel what it is and food was nice also. Roof top suite very quirky and situated in the heart of portobello road with stalls outside. Quiet during the night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesml16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

An excellent location. Despite being right in the thick of things, it was peaceful in the room even at pub kicking out time.

Room 4 that we stayed in had just enough space. The bathroom was very compact but clean enough.

The staff who checked us in and out were both super friendly and helpful. When I arrived before my husband, they even offered to come and help me with my bags. The sort of service expected at a five star hotel, felt most welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATrott84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#545 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#595 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#369 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#367 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#289 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Notting Hill
Juliette's Guest House
Juliette's Guest House
#151 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Gold

Property: Portobello Gold
Address: 95-97 Portobello Road | Notting Hill, London W11 2QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Portobello Gold 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Portobello Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Gold London
Portobello Gold Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing