We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Portobello Gold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portobello Gold
Ranked #108 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a great breakfast, full English and a ham toast, in a nice and cosy atmosphere. Great staff, polite and relaxed. Fun close-to-Clinton story on the presentation of the place. Big + for having Pilsener Urquel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    95
    48
    32
    28
See reviews for
39
152
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Yes, the rooms are dinky and low-key. But they're clean, and you feel you are valued and cared for by the friendly, funny and helpful staff. It's a short walk from Notting Gate and the tube, allowing you quick access to Central London with the cozy return to fabulous Notting Hill. Thank you for the fantastic service and laughs, Portobello Gold! We'll be back...

Room Tip: This is perfect for someone who doesn't intend on spending a lot of time in his or her room. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kandie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liscannor, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stumbled across this gem of a bar whilst traipsing about Portobello Road Market. I was ravenous and this was just what was needed.
No frills menu, fantastic food, great beer and wine selection and funky music, what more could you want in a swanky part of Londontown?
The waitress was a tad rude, maybe she was having a hard day, as we all do. Can't fault the place overall for her coldness though!
Definitely worth stopping in, if we'd had time we'd have spent a few more hours chilling with some beers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank avers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good food, beer and staff! The bedroom is small but you have everything that you need. Very close to shop, tube and bus stop. Obviousily you are also inside the Portobello Market so every Saturday you find it outside the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had a great experience at the Portobello Gold. I found it on TripAdvisor after reading the reviews and thought it was a good fit for me. Is it for you? Here are the essentials to know:
- The location is one of the best, a few blocks from the Notting Hill Gate tube station, on a street that has an amazing market on weekends but is quiet at night.
- It's not a hotel. It is described as an Inn by the locals, a pub with rooms above it.
- You will have to go in and out through the pub during the day and not the side door that goes up to the rooms but I don't see any issue using one door versus the other, unless you don't like pubs in which case, this place is not for you.
- My room was the smallest one and it was great for what I needed it for... sleep. It had enough room for my two big suitcases though. It did have decent light but was dark enough to sleep and quiet at night. It doesn't have a modern sleek look but again not the point. The rate is the best for a basic room in that area.
- The wet room was small and bare but again, I had the basics, a toilet, a sink and a shower head. Towels were supplied as well as body wash, shampoo and hair dryer. Yes, the shower is above the sink. There is a shower door and you have a bath mat. It works. Just note that the water pressure in London is in general lower than average so be prepared, especially you ladies (and gents) with long and/or thick hair! Also, for non-Europeans, please note that you don't get provided a wash cloth so pack accordingly!
- A basic but adequate continental breakfast is served in the morning: bread, butter/jams, fruit, milk/cereals. Coffee and tea is made to order. Newspaper available to read. And it is in the pleasant "veranda" area in the back that includes natural lighting.
- The management is very laid back and quite friendly. They were flexible with everything. The rest of the staff is equally engaging.
- The pub is a great place to hang out and you feel at home there. The food is good and reasonable priced. I met some nice customers there too and made a friend among the patrons there the first night.
- Overall, this is a great value for travelers looking for a budget hotel, a good location and a friendly local experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all0verthemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is an old pub, so don't expect 5 star luxury.
However, if you take room 6 with the roof terrace you will have a unique London experience, worth every penny.
Be aware that the room has no shower or shower attachment.
The staff were really helpful and friendly.
The pub itself has a good vibe and serves excellent real ale.
I hope that I have the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jyfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palotina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The room is too small and the bathroom is just awful. The toilet did not work properly and the sink was placed in the shower. Also, the hotel entrance is blocked from 9 am to 5 pm (a street vendor uses the spot) so one has to use the restaurant to access the room, what may be tiresome and inconvenient. Finally, what they call continental breakfast is not that at all. Always the same tasteless bread with cheese and salami.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fabíola Bono F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#545 of 1,068 in London
166 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#621 of 1,068 in London
203 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#367 of 1,068 in London
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Juliette's Guest House
Juliette's Guest House
#152 of 555 in London
57 reviews
Notting Hill
The Notting Hill Guest House
Notting Hill
6 Portobello Road
6 Portobello Road
#357 of 555 in London
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Gold

Property: Portobello Gold
Address: 95/97 Portobello Road | Notting Hill, London W11 2QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Portobello Gold 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portobello Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Gold London
Portobello Gold Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing