We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial College Accommodation Prince's Gardens
Ranked #36 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The website implies this is a clean cheap alternative to a hotel, but don't expect any customer service!

We were misinformed when we arrived re the opening times of the pool, and when we arrived it was closed. We were told we should have checked the website! No apology from main reception, just a mini lecture on how the price would not have been any less without pool access. The room was very basic not even a hairdryer and the bed uncomfortable. All for £180 a night. NOT AGAIN!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed in the Eastside Halls and found them to be perfectly adequate for what I needed. Don't expect hotel service, but for somewhere clean and comfortable to put your head down at night this was ideal. The location was perfect for getting around the main sites in London, and the locality had a very pleasant atmosphere to relax in the evenings. I would happily recommend this to anyone wanting to visit London, but not wanting to spend too much on accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Was just in London for a few days at the Olympics. After staying at a boutique hotel near Paddington Station for a few days, I needed a place for one more night before heading home. I'm a pretty basic traveler and Beit Hall seemed like a decent combination of an interesting off-beat place with a price that suited me -- £115 (about $180) per night compared, unfortunately, to four times that much for the hotel in Paddington.

Beit Hall is literally next door to the Albert Hall so that's pretty cool. Super convenient to the V&A, natural history and science museums and a manageable walk (about 10 minutes) along a pedestrian zone (below or above ground -- your choice) from the South Kensington tube. Physically, it reminds me of my college quad -- maybe I was just reliving for my bright college years, but I liked it.

Check in was 2pm -- I showed up at noon and they happened to have my room ready. Two single beds with a small bathroom. Basic but workable student accommodation. Clean. Towels, toiletries and refreshment (tea/coffee/water) items provided. No TV. Tiny shower. And, yeah, as others have pointed out, a somewhat disconcerting sign telling me not to drink the tap water -- washed my teeth, no problem.

In the evening, the student bar (open to guests too) across the quad was lively and comfortable -- you could sit inside or out in the quad. Watched some Olympics there. TV and vending machines also available in the shared common room where you check in for your room. When I went to bed, I could hear the people outside the bar, but that ended at 11pm. Next morning, breakfast was across the hall in a more modern slightly disappointing building -- basic cafeteria stuff but got the job done. And was included in the price. As, I believe was gym/pool but I didn't check them out.

Bottom line, if you're okay with student accommodations and not too fussy, Beit Hall is an interesting and affordable choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed here twice in July, once early on with my wife, secondly by myself during first week of Olympics. First time, at check in, no record of our booking, this being the fault of Travel Booking Network, although helpfull check in staff did trace it, eventually. Twin room was adequate, but "housekeeping" not up to hotel standards. Breakfast was OK, despite having short walk to another building.
Second time, late July, check in OK (advisable to re-confirm booking about a week before arrival), single room fine (allocated room on outside of West block, which was quieter).
Breakfast could have been started earlier during Olympics, as had to be on the move by 7.30AM.
Overall, reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on outside of building are probably quieter, away from noise of "drinkers" in Beit Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent location right next to Hyde park, Victoria and Albert museum, natural history museum, royal Albert hall and south Kensington. The tube is a 5 min walk away which then is a 10min ride to Leicester square, Covent garden etc. Accommodation is very clean and think premier inn and you won't go far wrong. Staff extremely helpful, and on site bar/restaurant is exceptionally good, with a pint of Stella £2.75 compared with £4.50 - :£5 everywhere else, sirloin steak £8.30, pit it this way all the locals use it. Accommodation is also in a parked area which is nice to sit in and have a picnic. Harrods is a 5 min walk and the carrot cake in the food hall is Devine at £3.50 a wedge.
Come to imperial college you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madcopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Booked this place as part of a 5 day visit to London for the Olympics. Stayed here for 2 nights bed and breakfast and although it was a bit pricey for what it is, it was a lot cheaper than Premier Inns or other hotels in the area (who obviously increased their prices because of the olympics). The location of the accommodation is fantastic, 10/15 min walk to the underground, around the corner from the Science Museum/Natural history museum and next door to the Royal Albert Hall - perfect and central.

Check in was straightforward and we were allocated a twin room en suite - basic but clean and at the end of the day it was just somewhere to sleep. Would have been good to have a TV in the room but its student accommodation and the student's take their TVs and personal items home in the summer. Towels were replaced and beds were made up so it was just like staying in a hotel, for a fraction of the price.

Breakfast was ok - sausage, bacon, eggs, cereal, juice, toast, yogurt etc - ok, it was in the student canteen but was ideal to start you off in the morning before your travels.

Ideal location for exploring London which we did - we were at a few of the Olympic events and used South Kensington tube station as the start/end point of our journey.

I bought an Oyster card on line in advance and it was great to use - tap on and tap off and with a max spend of about £7 a day, we travelled throughout London to see different things and would have been much more costly if we'd been paying by cash.

We flew from Glasgow to Luton, then used the overground to Blackfriars and then the Picadilly line to South Kensington - straightforward once you get to grips with the various lines on the underground - suppose part of the fun is jumping on the wrong tube train and then trying to find the quickest route to where you wanted to go in the first place.


Would I stay again - yes I probably would but I'd also look at prices for nearby hotels too - for 2 nights B&B we paid £230 but hotels were charing in the region of £500/£600 starting price. In saying that I cant fault Beit Hall so for using this as a base for a weekend sightseeing break in London it was ideal. We could also use the gym and the pool but didnt have time for any other activities except for exploring the city bars and restaurants.

One thing to mention is well done to the staff who working at the Olympics - support staff, police, army, train staff etc - everyone very helpful and London was well signposted for the olympic events so great stuff everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_boy_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Horrible place, horrible reception -do these people know how to say Hello? Not talking about a mere smile ... Only drinking water available in the basement, far far way ... 2 toilets out of 3 out of order, etc. etc. The last straw: the Friday night rate (one week prior to the opening of the Olympics) 135% more than the previous nights. No further comments, look at the photographs and find another place to stay at.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenegerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Rembrandt
The Rembrandt
#229 of 1,081 in London
2,855 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#46 of 1,081 in London
296 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#294 of 1,081 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,119 reviews
Hilton London Kensington
#507 of 1,081 in London
4,480 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#138 of 1,081 in London
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial College Accommodation Prince's Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial College Accommodation Prince's Gardens

Address: | Adjacent to Exhibition Road, London SW7 2PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £75 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial College Accommodation Prince's Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 722
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princes Gardens is located within easy walking distance of South Kensington Tube station and attractions, including the Royal Albert Hall, Natural History, Science and V&A museums, Harrods and Hyde Park. Part of Imperial College Prince's Gardens accommodation offers over 700 contemporary bedrooms set around a quiet leafy square in central London. Guests can benefits from: • 24 hours Reception • Buffet Style Full English/Continental Breakfast • Tea/Coffee making facilities in each room • Daily Housekeeping Service • Complimentary access to Ethos gym and swimming pool • Communal areas • 45 min. train ride from Heathrow Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Imperial College Accommodation Prince's Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial College Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing