We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #181 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in an ideal location only a few minutes walk to Blackfriars station and tube, and right next to the Thames. Being in the square mile means it gets pretty quiet at the weekends but it's not far from the west end by tube. Rooms are a little tiny but that's fairly normal for London. Didn't eat or drink there but the reception staff were pleasant. Overall you could probably do a little better but not much! I'll happily return to the CP London City.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank PG350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear PG350,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor!

Please do not hesitate to contact me, should I be of any further assistance for any future bookings with us.

Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,593 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and it never disappoints.

On arrival we were upgraded to a club room, which gave free access to the club lounge. The lounge is great, but was pretty busy when we were there and full of wannabe members of the cast of TOWIE!

Great location, directly across from Blackfriars train and tube station.

The rooms are very well maintained and contain all the amenities you would expect.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Queneth_Veneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Queneth_Veneth,

Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that overall your stay with us was an enjoyable one.
One of the benefits of Platinum & Ambassador members within the IHG Rewards Program is the access to Club Lounge (based on availability). Also guests with bookings specific room categories have Club Lounge included in the rate.
We do our utmost to balance he numbers and to extend the benefit as much as we can, as a result on some rare occasions our Club Lounge can be busy.
I hope this will not refrain you from returning to our hotel, and I will be truly delighted to welcome you back personally on your next visit.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel is conveniently located just across the street from the tube station, and about 20 minutes walk from Covent Garden. The rooms are comfortable.
However, there was a big disadvantage: I stayed on a Saturday night, and there was a party at the bar of the hotel just below my room (I was on the 2nd floor). I could hear the music very loudly, even after 1am. I called the reception twice to complain, they said they would ask to lower the music volume, but nothing happened.
They have some claims about sleep quality in their hotel, with pillow sprays etc, but if you can't have silence, then all this does not matter!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdvisorJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear AdvisorJames,
Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry to read that during your stay you had experienced some noise from one of our Christmas party. Noise is not a common issue at this property, It may happened on some occasions, and in particular with the Christmas parties.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back sometime soon.
Please contact me directly if you require any assistance with reservations and details of your visit.

Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Marli.sadzinski@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The location is very ideal for business and pleasure both. The rooms are spacious and nice. Staff is friendly and helpful. I have stayed at this property few times and its been nice. The restaurant food was great as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Aq8,
I am thrilled you wrote about our excellent location which made your stay with us a memorable one!
On behalf of the team and myself, I look forward to welcome you again!
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The location of this hotel is great for business travelers or those wanting to be in the city center. While not my favorite part of town it is right across the street from the tube/train stop, so you have access to anywhere you want to go in the city. I especially liked the run station and running route maps they provided. Fun touch for those who like to see the city by foot. All in all the hotel was clean, nice, efficient and the hotel staff was always friendly. I found everything to be a bit bland when it came to decor, my needs were met but nothing was above and beyond. There is a little grocery store and a couple restaurants nearby which is also nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear EarthOcean,
Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor and I do hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future!
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed in Crowne Plaza during my husband's business trip in November 2013. In my opinion, the reception is understaffed as we always had to wait quite some time before being served. Check in took about half an hour even though there was only 1 person ahead of us in the queue. I'm not sure if this is a 5 star hotel but most 4 star hotels in London will have someone open the door and help us with the luggage into the hotel. However, here, the staff merely looked on while my husband and I struggled with our luggages through the door after a 14 hour flight. We also had to bring our bags to the room after check in.
The upside to this hotel is its convenient location to Blackfriar tube station. It also provides complimentary bottled water daily.
However, wifi is chargeable--a factor I find exasperating in a hotel geared towards business travellers. Housekeeping also takes time to clean the rooms and on several occasions, upon returning to the room, it was not cleaned yet and we had to call to have it cleaned. The towels we wanted changed were also left in the bathtub on 2 occasions. Also, I'm not sure if they have a heater but if it does, it did not really work and we were usually all wrapped in the room since it was quite cold.
In all, a hotel with average service but a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyBenett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear BeckyBenett,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that our location was suitable for your needs. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience the service you received may have casued. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Spent an excellent weekend at this hotel.Food to die for,location close to St Puals cathedral and tube station, (Blackfriars) Upgrade to a club room,beds comfy plenty of space to move about.Breakfast well worh the money.You must dine at the Italian restaurant.Staff very pro active.Youare made to feel very special.

Room Tip: Club room special floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFCRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear LFCRuncon,
Thank you very much for sharing with Trip Advisor readers the details of your visit to Crowne Plaza London - The City.

We are looking forward to welcome you back sometime soon.

Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#68 of 1,081 in London
3,804 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#361 of 1,081 in London
4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#142 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £131 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing