We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock(London)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$381
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton London Canary Wharf(London)(Great Value!)
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Langham, London(London)
US$578
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$486
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,678)
Filter reviews
2,678 results
Traveller rating
1,408
931
222
80
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,408
931
222
80
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackfriars stationthe club loungeblack friarspaul's cathedralchicken clubfleet streetihg membertwo double bedstesco expresssouth bankgood sizemini barlondon eyean upgradecovent gardenstandard roomborough market
Filter
Updating list...
1,407 - 1,412 of 2,678 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The best from this hotel is its kindness, from the cleaning ladies to the staff at front desk. The rooms are very confy and good designed. The only bad thing I found is its location, you have to walk a little bit to get to the city center. Will go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnuss78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Magnuss78,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us at Crowne Plaza London - The City. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and in particular the service provided by the team as well as our location.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

When in London we have generally stayed at Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express hotels but because of the increasing cost of the HI Regents Park and the fact that a 40% reduction promotion I received by email from IHG Priority Club turned out to be nothing of the sort, I had to find an alternative to our usual first choice at a reasonable price for pensioners.

What a relief that we chose this hotel. For £105 for the night and a superb room with 1.5 times the space at Regents Park it is a hotel to be recommended, and as those who read my reviews will know I try to be scrupulously fair and accurate.

Very courteous reception staff (breakfasts are £14.75 pp and well worth it) and the room was ready when we arrived just after noon on a Friday. Arriving in Paddington station we were able to get the tube to Blackfriars station and then it was just over the road.

Staying at this hotel enabled us to explore another area of London. It is very handy for the South Bank - just over Blackfriars bridge - and for theatre land in the Aldwych area. A No. 7 bus took us to Trafalgar Square the following day.

So what can I say but that it is a lovely hotel, in an excellent position and reasonable cost.

With regard to the IHG Priority Club 40% saving that did not exist, I complained that at first Priority Club staff on the telephone did not know anything about it and then they told me that it was of little use because other savings were available - but weren't really although they will try to tell me that they were - if you are confused so was I. I did get an email from some manager that was so pathetic that I would have been ashamed to have sent myself.

It seems that if IHG send you a notification of a saving promotion treat it with great care because either it might not exist, or their staff on the telephone don't know anything about it, or it is not worth anything.

At least the reception staff at this Crown Plaza knew how to treat people, so I recommend it!

Room Tip: The main entrance is in Kingscote Street round the back, although you can enter in New Bridge Street with signs for the Chinese Cricket Club, just go down the stairs in front of you to get to reception.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Peter R,

We are delighted to read that you generally enjoyed your experience and the service provided by the team.

We have discussed your detailed message with our team members and management. We appreciate the opportunity given to improve even more our services and offers.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel sometime soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This nicely located hotel has gladly surprise us. Among the best features I'd mention the extremely comfortable bed, a mobile charger device (iPhone 4/5 or mini USB), well isolated (stayed at the first floor, no noise at all). The Front Office clerks were very helpful and charm. Also, travelling from Gatwick airport, the hotel is located just in front of Blackfriars Train Station (35 minutes ride from the airport, 10£)

The bad issues: noisy air conditioning, internet is not free-of-charge (can't understand why).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lestatelvampir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear lestatelvampir,

Thank you for the review and for sharing your great experience. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in London and that the stay with us made for what was an excellent trip.
I was pleased that you enjoyed the service that was provided by the team, our in room facilities, and also our location.

We hope to welcome you back again in 2014 and beyond and thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This clean, comfortable hotel was in a great location. Steps from the Blackfriars tube stop (with a great pub, The Black Friar, across the street), and a 5-minute walk from the Thames. Printer didn't work in the Club lounge (we upgraded when we checked in), and computer at front desk was slow. Still, we weren't there for the IT, we were there to have a great time in London, and we did!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary64Bethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Mary64Bethesda,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us at Crowne Plaza London - The City. We were delighted to read from the review that you generally enjoyed your stay and in particular the location.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a weekend in London and stayed here on the Saturday night. Amazingly central, close to tube, and Tate Modern, riverside pubs. No room view but we weren't there to spend time in the room except to sleep. Room immaculate with all amenities and full bar. Be careful if you don't want to add to the bill don't remove the chox, bottle of wine and peanuts - set out very temptingly near the tea and coffee - on an electronic scale. Initially assumed these were complimentary but on closer inspection of the menu discovered they were an exhorbitant price - because they had been removed from the scale it automatically sent a charge to our room bill and appeared on our bill, despite putting them back on the scale unopened. This was easily rectified. Lots of lovely bright white towels and the usual complimentary shower/bath goodies. Nice strong shower too.black out curtains assured us of an uninterrupted sleep.

Room Tip: If you're there for the view, the best one would be a view of the building across the roD. There is no river view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear AliRosen,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have set the level of London hotels to a very high standard.

We hope that we will entice you back when next having to visit London for business or pleasure.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews