We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the whole very good - except for .......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #176 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We would rate this hotel as generally very good, however you should be aware of the following points before booking.

When we stayed on a Saturday night there was a VERY LOUD disco taking place until after midnight in the lower ground floor bar/club area, fortunatley we were on the higher floors and it didnt bother us. Addionally we would like to mention the air conditioning in our room, as the window didn't open we had to rely on the air con to control the room temperature - (I realise this is the norm in most "chain" hotels now), it was to hot in our room and we couldnt sleep, so we decided to put on the aircon to to lower the temperature, unfortunately it made such a din we couldnt sleep !

Finally a word about the decor, if you are into 80's style "Black Ash" plus purple and grey stripes then this is the hotel for you. The carpets in hallways needed cleaning on our floor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OurTwoPennyWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear OurTwoPennyWorth,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us. I was not happy to read of the engineering issues that you have highlighted in your room and these have already been passed to both the Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer to ensure that everything is in good working condition.

We always appreciate feedback received from guests, for us an opportunity to continuously improve our product and service.

Thank you again for the review and feedback, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and so you can see the improvements that have been made.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,301 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a fantastic two nights stay at the Crowne Plaza. Its close to train station and easy walk to bus stops. The staff were so warm and friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the hotel as it fuels our energy for a big day ahead. The room was fantastic, we booked a 2 double beds as we have 2 adults and 2 kids. Room was clean, spacious and beds were very comfortable. Because we are IHG Gold member, we have free wifi which was also great ! Also the manager came and greeted us and had a friendly chat and gave us a few suggestions by understanding what we wanted to do in the few days we were here.

I think the biggest plus is their location and coupled with great service, this is a hotel I would come back to next time I am in London.

Room Tip: If you have family of 4 with children, two double beds are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oppsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Oppsa and family,

I was truly delighted to meet you all during your visit to our hotel.

I greatly appreciate the time taken to share with Trip Advisor readers your experience at our hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here in February thanks to a friend who got us a very good deal. The hotel was excellent and in a great location, so ideal for the South Bank, St. Paul's and public transport links with the station/tube opposite and major bus stops just up to the left (Trafalgar Square in about 10 mins)..

However, the rooms really seem to vary and on 3 sides of the hotel, you looked out onto narrow streets and into office windows, so the rooms were very dark. Rooms at the front of the hotel were much better and my friend, who was on the 7th floor (club floor), had a view of St. Paul's cathedral, the Gherkin, the Shard and The Globe which was great.. A lot of rooms seemed to face onto the hotel's atrium/light well so had no view at all. Even when we were queued for the lifts, if we looked down, we could see into some people's rooms!

Attention to detail in the rooms was great - ironing board, iron, trouser press, kettle, tea pot, biscuits, chocolates, complimentary bottles of water, a proper hair drier (plus one in the bathroom), lots of toiletries and a little set of products to ensure a good night's sleep. The rooms were very clean - but as before, were dark (we were on the 4th floor). Beds were lovely and soft - but surprisingly small size beds.

Buffet breakfast in the hotel was £22. Crazy but that's London prices. Much better was to go Tesco Express which is about 10m from hotel entrance and buy sandwiches and fruit there. There was also a Starbucks and Costa Coffee within a 1 minute walk. For dinner, we went out to a great mixed Asian/Japanese restaurant called the Hare and Tortoise which was about 50m away. Can definitely recommend it, reasonable prices and very quick service.

The only downside was when we ran out of the little cartons of milk in the morning. We called down to housekeeping and reception to order some more; waited 20 minutes. Nothing. Rang again, it took another 10 minutes for some milk to arrive.

All in all, this was a great hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. Hope to be back!
.

Room Tip: Try for the front of the hotel so you get some light, or the 6th or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 888travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear 888travel,

Thank you for you review for your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you were delighted with your choice of hotel from the location, decor and room options available
I hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back in 2014 and sample more of what the hotel has to offer.

Thank you again for the review. Please contact me directly for assistance with room allocation and reservation.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guests Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times over the last few years, and as a priority member, im always greeted like a long lost friend, this occasion was no different, we were upgraded to a club room, with club lounge access...made to feel very welcome....the room was superb, everything was perfect except the pillows, and we couldnt find any other pillows that werent like duck feather marshmallows.....we made use of the lounge facility for breakfast the next morning, and was treated to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, which again was superb, and sets you up for the day.....i think the hotel is perfectly placed for exploring...we went for a wander round to St Pauls, and a walk along the Thames....and look forward to our next visit soon...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moo0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear moo0407,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us at Crowne Plaza London - The City. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and in particular enjoyed the service provided by the team as well as the breakfast. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Seniro Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were attending a concert at the O2 on Saturday night so decided to stay up in London for a few nights. This hotel on paper appeared a good deal and the location was fine being situated opposite Blackfriars tube station. We were also excited about the prospect of going to the champagne bar that was part of the hotel. The greeting at reception was fine and the room was of a reasonable size and very clean. We were offered an upgrade for £96 (or similar) when checking in but decided against it although this proved a mistake as we later found out. On the Friday night we decided to get back to the hotel for a drink at the champagne bar but upon arrival it was full with what looked liked a private party. We tried again on the Saturday night after our concert but again it was full and the music was loud....VERY LOUD! We have nothing against nightclubs but this is not what a champagne or hotel bar should be (and we have been to a few!). The worse thing was trying to get some sleep on the Saturday night as we were only a few floors above the club! It turns out that with an upgrade we would have been a few floors higher but that aside, a hotel is for sleeping in and not having to stay awake listening to the thud thud thud of club music a few floors below!!! Having mentioned this to reception upon checkout we were told that we should have requested a room change but at 3am would this really have been practical?? How about not allowing parties until 3am! Other issues are no free wi-fi (unless you upgrade which in this day and age is just penny pinching!) and lifts that take forever to arrive so we had to use the back stairs and make friends with a cleaner! Very poor guest experience and we will not recomend to friends or our corporate contacts.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thehazyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Thehazyman,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I was concerned to read your feedback and please accept my apologies for the disruption caused during your stay with us.

I hope you reconsider your decision, and will give us an opportunity to be at your service again in the future.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a few nights on a business trip. The hotel is very nice, good service etc. and can recommend. The only point is that I would probably stay somewhere more central if I was a tourist.

Overall would recommend for business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear LuxTraveller,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to seeing you back sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently for a work function & stayed an extra night for pleasure. Great room, good location for the west end - 10 min taxi ride to Coventry Garden - & fabulous late night bar. The outside seating area literally under the pavement must be experienced, with its little "cells" for private hire. The main bar us a bit disco noisy, but outside was idyllic, even on a wet January night.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Ruth M,

Thank you for the review for your stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your Crowne Plaza London - The City experience and found the service, to be outstanding.

We hope that Crowne Plaza London - The City will be hotel of choice when returning to London on business or pleasure. Thank you again for the review.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#339 of 1,077 in London
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#140 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £123 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing