We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,732)
Filter reviews
2,732 results
Traveller rating
1,436
949
228
81
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,436
949
228
81
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blackfriars station the club lounge black friars blackfriars pub paul's cathedral chicken club fleet street ihg member two double beds tesco express south bank good size mini bar london eye an upgrade covent garden standard room
Filter
Updating list...
1,438 - 1,443 of 2,732 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Loved staying at this hotel! The rooms were lovely and very spacious. I experienced a little bit of road noise but it wasn't too distracting. Best part of the hotel was its close proximity to the subway, literally just across the street. This made it so easy to get around London really quickly. The food at the hotel is a bit pricey but you can also grab breakfast at the Starbucks across the street or grab snacks at the little market across also across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor because of noise from the street.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Rose D,

Thank you very much for you message on Trip Advisor following your visit to our Crowne Plaza London - The City.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your visit, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed just one night. Staff very polite & friendly. We arrived too early for check in ,but were able to leave our luggage. Room clean & bed very comfortable. Overpriced breakfast so didn't bother with that. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Sarah R,

Thank you very much for your message.

I am delighted to read you had and enjoyable stay. Your comments have been passed on to our team members, and are a great motivator to keep up the great service we are so proud to delivery.

Upon check in we offer promotional voucher, I am positive the price will be of your approval.

Looking forward to seeing back sometime soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed just the one night and found the hotel very good. Check in was a little slow, perhaps more than 2 of the 4 stations could have been staffed.

The room was very spacious and very well appointed with luxury toiletries and complimentary water. The bed was extremely comfortable and even some sleeping oils were provided. Nice touch.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Suggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Suggers,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to learn your check in process was not up to your expectations. We are at present upgrading our reception desk and equipment. I am positive the changes will be of your approval.

Looking forward to seeing back in the near future.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were once again well looked after, appropriate IHG Rewards status recognition as ever which is always pleasing.

Minor issues with the Club Lounge remain. Cheap canapes in the evening and rubbish cooked offering for breakfast. The scrambled eggs are pretty awful and certainly not freshly made from real eggs, no fried or poached eggs, no sausages or indeed anything else.

We ate again in the evening in the Chinese Cricket Club. Food and service as ever excellent. The only complaint is that when it's not very busy it lacks atmosphere. More music maybe?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith-in-Brighton-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Keith-in-Brighton-UK,

Thank you for once again reviewing our hotel at Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that overall your stay with us was enjoyable.

Our Club Lounge available for guests booking one of our Executive rooms, and also for IHG Platinum & Ambassador Elite Members (subject to availability), offers Continental Breakfast only to which we add Scrambled eggs and bacon.
Our Full English Breakfast is only served at our breakfast restaurant or our City Lounge.

I am sorry to read the offering did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly prior to your next visit to the hotel, and I will be happy to assist you with your reservation and stay.

Looking forward to seeing you back.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We would rate this hotel as generally very good, however you should be aware of the following points before booking.

When we stayed on a Saturday night there was a VERY LOUD disco taking place until after midnight in the lower ground floor bar/club area, fortunatley we were on the higher floors and it didnt bother us. Addionally we would like to mention the air conditioning in our room, as the window didn't open we had to rely on the air con to control the room temperature - (I realise this is the norm in most "chain" hotels now), it was to hot in our room and we couldnt sleep, so we decided to put on the aircon to to lower the temperature, unfortunately it made such a din we couldnt sleep !

Finally a word about the decor, if you are into 80's style "Black Ash" plus purple and grey stripes then this is the hotel for you. The carpets in hallways needed cleaning on our floor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OurTwoPennyWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear OurTwoPennyWorth,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us. I was not happy to read of the engineering issues that you have highlighted in your room and these have already been passed to both the Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer to ensure that everything is in good working condition.

We always appreciate feedback received from guests, for us an opportunity to continuously improve our product and service.

Thank you again for the review and feedback, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and so you can see the improvements that have been made.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews