We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel both for business and pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #167 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed one night from Friday 14th to Saturday15th February and it was just a pleasure to stay at the Crown Plaza Hotel. We have lived in London before and been to the city many times for pleasure, and this stay is one of the better in terms of hotel. Excellent service from all the straff, very good dinner in the restaurant. The breakfast were top of the class with good food and service. Rooms spacious and clean. Short way to the subway 2mins. 15 min walk to Convent Garden. Can highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 124Tord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear 124Tord,


Thank you for the review, we are delighted that you found us and were very pleased with your entire experience, and in particular our location. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Thank you again for your review.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Excellent location and great price. Located directly across the street from the Blackfriars train and Underground Station. One block from the Thames and on a good day you can easily stroll up to Westminster Abbey and Big Ben or the other way along the river to enjoy some coffee shops on the way to the Tower of London.

Room Tip: Breakfast is rated low because of the price. There are two coffee shops within 200 meters and a con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank German S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear German S,

Thank you for the review, we are delighted that you found us and were very pleased with your entire experience, in particular our location.
We offer breakfast vouchers at discounted prices upon check-in. I hope you can benefit from the promotion on your next visit to Crowne Plaza London - The City.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Thank you again for your review.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Loved staying at this hotel! The rooms were lovely and very spacious. I experienced a little bit of road noise but it wasn't too distracting. Best part of the hotel was its close proximity to the subway, literally just across the street. This made it so easy to get around London really quickly. The food at the hotel is a bit pricey but you can also grab breakfast at the Starbucks across the street or grab snacks at the little market across also across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor because of noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Rose D,

Thank you very much for you message on Trip Advisor following your visit to our Crowne Plaza London - The City.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your visit, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed just one night. Staff very polite & friendly. We arrived too early for check in ,but were able to leave our luggage. Room clean & bed very comfortable. Overpriced breakfast so didn't bother with that. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Sarah R,

Thank you very much for your message.

I am delighted to read you had and enjoyable stay. Your comments have been passed on to our team members, and are a great motivator to keep up the great service we are so proud to delivery.

Upon check in we offer promotional voucher, I am positive the price will be of your approval.

Looking forward to seeing back sometime soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed just the one night and found the hotel very good. Check in was a little slow, perhaps more than 2 of the 4 stations could have been staffed.

The room was very spacious and very well appointed with luxury toiletries and complimentary water. The bed was extremely comfortable and even some sleeping oils were provided. Nice touch.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Suggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Suggers,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to learn your check in process was not up to your expectations. We are at present upgrading our reception desk and equipment. I am positive the changes will be of your approval.

Looking forward to seeing back in the near future.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were once again well looked after, appropriate IHG Rewards status recognition as ever which is always pleasing.

Minor issues with the Club Lounge remain. Cheap canapes in the evening and rubbish cooked offering for breakfast. The scrambled eggs are pretty awful and certainly not freshly made from real eggs, no fried or poached eggs, no sausages or indeed anything else.

We ate again in the evening in the Chinese Cricket Club. Food and service as ever excellent. The only complaint is that when it's not very busy it lacks atmosphere. More music maybe?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith-in-Brighton-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Keith-in-Brighton-UK,

Thank you for once again reviewing our hotel at Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that overall your stay with us was enjoyable.

Our Club Lounge available for guests booking one of our Executive rooms, and also for IHG Platinum & Ambassador Elite Members (subject to availability), offers Continental Breakfast only to which we add Scrambled eggs and bacon.
Our Full English Breakfast is only served at our breakfast restaurant or our City Lounge.

I am sorry to read the offering did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly prior to your next visit to the hotel, and I will be happy to assist you with your reservation and stay.

Looking forward to seeing you back.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We would rate this hotel as generally very good, however you should be aware of the following points before booking.

When we stayed on a Saturday night there was a VERY LOUD disco taking place until after midnight in the lower ground floor bar/club area, fortunatley we were on the higher floors and it didnt bother us. Addionally we would like to mention the air conditioning in our room, as the window didn't open we had to rely on the air con to control the room temperature - (I realise this is the norm in most "chain" hotels now), it was to hot in our room and we couldnt sleep, so we decided to put on the aircon to to lower the temperature, unfortunately it made such a din we couldnt sleep !

Finally a word about the decor, if you are into 80's style "Black Ash" plus purple and grey stripes then this is the hotel for you. The carpets in hallways needed cleaning on our floor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OurTwoPennyWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear OurTwoPennyWorth,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us. I was not happy to read of the engineering issues that you have highlighted in your room and these have already been passed to both the Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer to ensure that everything is in good working condition.

We always appreciate feedback received from guests, for us an opportunity to continuously improve our product and service.

Thank you again for the review and feedback, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and so you can see the improvements that have been made.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#59 of 1,075 in London
3,599 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#332 of 1,075 in London
4,344 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#87 of 1,075 in London
3,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £142 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing