We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #177 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Central to the city and close to all things london. The rooms are lovely and comfortable with a handy phone docking station for iphone or samsung.
Wifi is too expensive for a leisure travel however.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank decky_eire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear decky_eire86,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We were delighted to read that you all had a great stay and found the hotel comfortable and well located and so you could explore London easily.

We hope to be your first choice of hotel when next returning to stay in London.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,281 - 1,287 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Have just spent 2 nights at this hotel, the location is absolutely perfect, across the road from blackfriars tube station, ( and a very quant pub )!!, the hotel room itself was a little tired.. Stains on the fabric seats, leather chair at the desk all ripped, and paint chipped off the bathroom door and sink unit. The temple spa products used are very luxurious and along with the fluffy robe and towels are all a nice touch.
The first night we ordered a couple of drinks as we arrived in from a show we had been to see, we sat down stairs in the bar/ reception area.. And nearly keeled over at £57 for 4 drinks!! The second night we went into the trendy bar that's downstairs..couldn't work out if it was separate to the hotel or part of it... Very confusing...as there was a private party and it seemed the guests weren't very happy that we were in there, also got a service charge from this bar as well, but was slightly better priced than the bar upstairs!
The breakfast was good, good choice of food. All staff especially on reception were very friendly and helpful.
All in all... I would definitely recommend this hotel and will most probably stay again myself in the future, but maybe not use the bar next time!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear suzy j,

Thank you very much for sharing with Trip Advisor readers the details of your visit to our hotel.

I am happy to read that our location was a plus to your visit to London, as your rightly mention we are close to many of the main London attractions.

We are working continuously to improve the level of services, and also the quality of the product. Our chairs has been purchased recently and are presenting quality issues. We are now in the final phase to replacing all this chairs for a brand new model.

Temple Spa products are a real threat and Crowne PLaza London - The CIty is proud of having the exclusive use of this line in the hotel industry.

Our hotel offers two destination restaurants, one Bar, and the City Lounge. They are all part of the hotel and managed by our teams. Find below more details:

Diccianove: For an authentic taste of Italian cuisine in the City, Diciannove offers a delectable menu using the freshest regional ingredients. It’s soulful cooking at its best.

Chinese Cricket Club: A taste of the Orient in the City: Chinese Cricket Club offers a relaxed backdrop of warm simplicity, and a contemporary menu of Sichuan and Dim Sum specialities.

City Lounge: Serving a wide variety of refreshments from the famous One Pounder to the traditional Club Sandwich, the City Lounge features complimentary wireless internet in a relaxed dining atmosphere, making it easy to hold informal meetings over coffee or enjoy a family lunch.

Voltaire: is a destination for champagne drinkers and cigar lovers. Located on the lower ground floor of the hotel, Voltaire is built on the foundations of Bridewell Palace and features old stone vaults that have been transformed into luxury private VIP zones.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for my wife's 50th birthday weekend. Rooms are excellent, the hotel bar is one of the best we've been to and the Chinese Cricket Club restaurant serves great food in a wonderful environment. The biggest selling point though is the customer service. The staff here are not in your face but always seem to be there and with the most appropriate response when you need it! it's very accessible, being literally across the road from Blackfriars tube station offering decent access to all London's attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Steve M,

Thank you for the terrific review following your birthday treat stay with us. The team and I were delighted to read from the review that you had a great stay and the experience you had from the start to finish was to the highest standard and the staff, for you, made the real difference. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to enjoy our hospitality again soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Considering I've paid £150 for a Premier Inn before in Central London I think this was good. Best hotel experience I've had for a long time. Didn't try the restaurants but breakfast was excellent. Room was lovely and quiet even though the hotel was busy. I used the public car park in Queen Victoria St. which was convenient but pricey at £25.00 but normally I would have used the train. Would use again no problem. Tip: part of the IHG group so sign up as member and book well in advance for a good price or room upgrade deals.

Room Tip: Tip: part of the IHG group so sign up as member and book well in advance for a good price or room up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewbopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear stewbopo,

Thank you for the review following your stay with us. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

On your next visit why not visit one of our destination restaurants:

- For an authentic taste of Italian cuisine in the City, Diciannove Restaurant offers a delectable menu using the freshest regional ingredients. It’s soulful cooking at its best.

- A taste of the Orient in the City: Chinese Cricket Club Restaurant offers a relaxed backdrop of warm simplicity, and a contemporary menu of Sichuan and Dim Sum specialities.

Looking forward to seeing back.

Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed (2 adults & 2 children) for 3 nights for a trip to London at half term. The room was clean, comfortable and to the usual high standards we've come to expect from Crowne Plaza!

It's the first time we've stayed here but would recommend it, it's got great transport links being literally over the road from Blackfriars tube station. It's not far to walk to St Paul's, the Tower of London or in the opposite direction London Eye, Big Ben & Trafalgar Square

The staff in all areas were friendly & helpful and the choice at breakfast was amazing really setting you up for the day. We ate in the lobby area one evening, the food was good and reasonably priced and the children's food was free!

I'd highly recommend this hotel for location, service and high standards - pretty sure we'll be back sometime in the future!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Andrew S,

Thank you for completing such a great review. The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the stay and in particular the service from all areas of the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was our second stay in this hotel, the rooms are lovely, clean & comfortable beds, always have a good nights sleep. However, booking in this time wasn't as easy as our last stay, maybe the receptionist was trying to hard....As priority club members we found it frustrating it took so long, we never have this problem usually, wont put us off tho because the hotel is lovely and it is very convenient & staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clcclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear clcclc,

Thank you very much for rating us 5 stars following your visit to Crowne Plaza London - The City.

I am sorry to hear about your trouble to make the reservation, if you prefer for your next visit contact us directly for assistance.

Looking forward to seeing you back.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Whether you are visiting the City of London, St Paul's Cathedral, Covent Garden, Tower Bridge, The Tower of London or Tate Modern, this hotel has a great location opposite Blackfriars Station, is near a good car park, with an easy walk to St Paul's, Covent Garden etc.

The rooms are small but nicely appointed and rooms on the upper floors and at the back are free from traffic noise. The beds are very good. The on-site Italian restaurant is expensive but nice. There is also an on-site Chinese restaurant together with vibrant lobby bar.

Service, cleanliness and food quality standards are all very good.

Room Tip: Top floor and rear of the hotel rooms are free from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Bridgehouse_10,

Thank you for the review following your stay with us, the team and I are delighted that you had a great stay. We hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thank you again for the feedback and review.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#64 of 1,078 in London
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#337 of 1,078 in London
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £124 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing