We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix the smoke alarm !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Ranked #177 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fix the smoke alarm !!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My colleague and I travelled up Sunday night to be refreshed for a meeting at the stock exchange the following morning. We have used Crown Plaza hotels on many occasions and the hotel itself didn't disappoint although in places in the room itself was looking a bit tired. There was a cracked tile on the bathroom floor and a chip on the bath and the paint was wearing off the door. But by no means bad. We wanted to have dinner but the only restaurant open in the hotel was Chinese so we asked for any recommendations within walking distance which there aren't on a Sunday as being the business district it almost shuts down at weekends we were told. We found this odd at the hotel was packed.

Returning from dinner elsewhere we adjourned to our rooms around 10pm. At 11pm the smoke alarm started. Being a seasoned traveller these usually stop after a minute or so when someone has had chance to turn them off but this one persisted and we were soon on the pavement for close to an hour. Chatting to a fellow traveller he said the same thing happened the previous week. Luckily it wasn't raining. Returning to our rooms I watched TV and managed to drop off around 12:30. I'd asked for no wake up call but got one courtesy of the smoke alarm at 2:55 waiting a couple of minutes it went off, back on again five minutes later this time I got dressed. Just in time for it to go off. Back into bed for it to start again. I had to be up at 6:30. To say I was cross by the following morning was an understatement but staff attitude although apologetic was more a less a shrug of the shoulders. No offer of a refund or free night. So much for a good nights sleep which Crown Plaza go all out to advertise I'd have been better staying on the pavement !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Elaine C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    833
    200
    66
    33
See reviews for
599
847
101
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a nicer room, and this was very much appreciated since we found a great rate. The room quality was top notch. It was clean, very spacious for London standards, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Service was excellent. Everyone we spoke to was friendly and helpful.

We were very happy with the location and its proximity to many of the sites.

One drawback is there are not enough outlets for plugs.

We were also quite worried seeing a man with small children get stuck in one of the elevators. We alerted the front desk and they responded, but it seemed to take awhile since it was a Sunday. Naturally, we took the stairs after that.

Stil, we'd definitely come back.

Room Tip: Room 103 is great. It's right on the 1st floor so we were afraid it would be loud, but it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Wanderfool44,

Thank you very much for your review in Trip Advisor following your visit to our hotel. I am pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are replacing our 3 lifts, last week the first new lift was open. We are now replacing the second one, and by November all 3 lifts will be new.

I hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at Crown Plaza last year in November for 2 nights.

From the moment you enter the hotel and make you way to the reception until checking out, everything is spotless.

The rooms are incredible. the service is implacable, the dinning options at the hotel are amazing and the location can not be more perfect. You are across the subway, walking distance from the Tate Modern, across the street from one of the oldest pubs in London, you have a great view of the river and an amazing staff. It is a great hotel and I would definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Andra8506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Alex_Andra8506,

Thank you fro the review following your stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay from the room to the service provided throughout your stay. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We are beginning our second or three nights here. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which is really nice for our family of four. I don't understand how anyone could have called the staff rude -- our experience has been quite the opposite. The concierge, the waitress in the lounge, housekeeping and the desk staff have all been very helpful and friendly. And the location is very convenient to the Tube, Blackfriar bridge, great shopping and St. Paul's. And a nice walk to the Tower of London. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Bed is great. The pull-out mattress is not so comfortable. Jr. Suite is light and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerLBetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear TravelerLBetal,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience from your arrival and throughout your stay with us.I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Rooms:

Clean modern room with a well stocked mini bar.

Bathrooms pretty dated - the hair dryer was from the 80's

Beds are very very comfortable - lots of pillows and spongey

Location:

Right opposite Blackfrairs station and next to Tesco Express (handy for a much cheaper cold drink than the mini-bar)

Didn't have breakfast - was £15 extra at check in or £18 on the morning - pretty pricey

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubDougTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Dougiedub,

Thank you very much for your review following your visit to our hotel.

Our bathroom have an hair dryer which is usually quite popular with the male guests. We have a second modern hair dryer available in each room, this is placed in the wardrobe drawer.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for a few days for both business and pleasure:
Pros: Convenient to business district, one of the few hotels with double beds instead of twins, decent breakfasts albeit little pricey, right across from Blackfriars underground station and away from the throngs of crowds in the tourist spots. Helpful concierge

Cons: one of three elevators out of service , basement gym was hot no ac, smelled terribly and limited choices of machines. TV did not work on stairmaster. Halls smelled of smoke even though it was a non smoking hotel especially around elevators. Shower was cramped

Room Tip: Away from elevators as the third floor elevators would ping even when they did not stop at that floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear chriw,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We take feedback from our guests very seriously and our goal is to ensure everyone has a memorable and comfortable stay.

We are replacing our lifts for new ones, reason why we will have one lift out of service till November. We have now completed the replacement of the first lift so there are only two to go.

Your comments about the conditions of our gym have been discussed with relevant departments, once again, thank you for your feedback.

I do hope we can welcome you back on your return to London.

Kind regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior GUest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From the moment we arrived at this lovely central hotel till the day we left we experienced very friendly, professional, efficient staff and a very high standard of accomodation. We were on a room only basis and were delighted to receive an upgrade for our three night stay in early January and also very pleased to be able to check in early as the quietly located room on the third floor (as requested) was ready.
The room was a very good size, spotless and very well appointed with complimentary water and tea/coffee making facilities. The bed was particularly comfortable for us and the shower was excellent with lovely towels and complimentary toiletries.
This lovely hotel is very conveniently located for our needs in a busy area across the road from Blackfriars Tube Station which is on the Circle/District Line. We tend to do alot of walking when visiting a city and this hotel is in reasonable walking distance of the Tate Gallery, The National theatre, Somerset House, St Pauls, Fleet Street, Borough Market and lots more.
There were some minor renovations taking place during our stay but this didn't disturb us in any way. Overall we were very pleased with our stay in this lovely hotel and as regular visitors to London to see a family member will return to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side and back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverwedding25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Silverwedding25,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to London. I’m pleased you liked your room and the small touches we provide to make sure all our guests feel special.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,394 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#74 of 1,067 in London
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#329 of 1,067 in London
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London - The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing