We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Ranked #177 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wateringbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great nights sleep”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed the one night but found the bed so comfortable and had a great nights sleep and the room was very clean. Staff were lovely and very helpful too. Wouldn't hesitate staying again but we didn't eat at the hotel as we had made other plans..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibram66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ibram66,

Thank you very much for your 5 stars Trip Advisor review following your visit to our hotel.

Our team strives to deliver great service, messages like yours act as a great motivator to keep up the great job.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    833
    200
    66
    33
See reviews for
599
847
101
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I used my points plus 70 USD per night for five nights. We arrived at 10am and the concierge locked our luggage away for us until our room was ready so we could go sightseeing. Family of four (two teenagers). Two double beds. The room was clean, quiet, remodeled and more spacious than expected by Euro standards (three of us are over six foot). We were there for sightseeing so we did not spend much time in the room. Only complaint on room - Wish the in-room fridge would have been available for our use instead of filled with overpriced typicals that are automatically charged to you if moved for longer than 10 seconds or so. Mini-grocery store called Tesco Express next door sells Krispy Kreme doughnuts and everything else. Starbucks and wine shop across the street. Ate British breakfast paninis at Starbucks each morning. Enjoyed the Black Friars pub for dinner and drinks across the street in the evening. Never used a taxi because we used our Oyster Cards for travel on the Underground starting at the Black Friars station across the street (Thanks to Trip Advisor for tips on Underground travel from Heathrow to Blackfriars Station). If the street was too busy to cross, you can use the underground walkway (subway) to get to the pub or station. Thames River and St Pauls so easy to walk to. Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Pub (Re-built in 1667) for food and drinks just a short walk around the corner. We felt very safe yet away from the extremely "touristy" areas. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank We_R_Easy-Going
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear We_R_Easy-Going,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that our location was a plus for your visit to London.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went to London for a family vacation. Stayed at the Crown Plaza for 4 days. The location is a big plus with the tube access right around the corner. Very convenient!!!
Staff is very helpful and friendly and especially the concierge staff does a wonderful job.
We stayed in a family room with two double beds. The room was very cramped. Way to small for 3 people to stay in. The water pressure in the shower was terrible - had a hard time getting the soap out of my hair. The make up mirror was loose and could not be used. Bathroom was modern and the size was okay. Room looks a little tired and could use an update.
The breakfast was below average.
Hotel amenities are nice. Gym has a good size and good equipment.

Room Tip: Tube access right around the corner which is very convenient. Nice restaurants and pubs in walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Winnie3009,

Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to read your comments about our team members who made your stay special. As you mentioned our location is a plus for anyone visiting London, we are located close to St Pauls Cathedral, Tate Modern, London Eye, to name few attractions.

Sorry to hear about the issues in your room, and for not having the opportunity to resolve it while you where staying in the hotel. We have teams dedicated exclusively to address this issues.

If you have any plans to return to London, please contact me directly for assistance with reservation and stay.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was in a convenient location next to blackfriars and close to St. Pauls. Many parts of the room were recently refreshed/renovated, but not all. Some items, like bedding, pillows, and the doors were clearly not new. In fact, the doors were worn and paint on them chipped, and I actually received a decent size splinter from on of them.

The most disappointing aspect of the 4 night stay, however, was the fire alarm. We were evacuated for about an hour one night at around 10 PM when the fire alarm went off. And then at 3 AM was woken up when the alarm kept cycling on and off again.

When evacuated, I was standing on the street and some of the hotel staff were joking with each other regarding the alarm, and one mentioned to another that it happens too often - so I wonder if this is a recurring problem

One thing for sure, with the smoke alarms disrupting guests twice in one night, I would have expected some sort of proactive action from the hotel with some sort of discount or offering, but none was offered.

For me the most important aspect of a hotel is comfort and rest, so not a great stay, and would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ExperienceTheWorld68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear ExperienceTheWorld68,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was faultless in terms of service, facilities and location. I was planning to propose to my other half the weekend of my stay, and they upgraded our room which helped to make the whole stay extra-special. The staff were very professional and I was especially impressed by the concierge who looked after my luggage and managed to print off the tickets to a gig we were going to, and then deliver the tickets to the room. The hotel is very luxurious and there are lots of added extras. The location is another big plus, making the tube and mainline rail very easy to access indeed. Despite my bias, a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dec1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear dec1991,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to London. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you felt able to give us a 5/5 review like so many of our other guests! Our location is indeed ideal for exploring London. I am also pleased to read our team members made your stay a memorable one.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future!


Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My colleague and I travelled up Sunday night to be refreshed for a meeting at the stock exchange the following morning. We have used Crown Plaza hotels on many occasions and the hotel itself didn't disappoint although in places in the room itself was looking a bit tired. There was a cracked tile on the bathroom floor and a chip on the bath and the paint was wearing off the door. But by no means bad. We wanted to have dinner but the only restaurant open in the hotel was Chinese so we asked for any recommendations within walking distance which there aren't on a Sunday as being the business district it almost shuts down at weekends we were told. We found this odd at the hotel was packed.

Returning from dinner elsewhere we adjourned to our rooms around 10pm. At 11pm the smoke alarm started. Being a seasoned traveller these usually stop after a minute or so when someone has had chance to turn them off but this one persisted and we were soon on the pavement for close to an hour. Chatting to a fellow traveller he said the same thing happened the previous week. Luckily it wasn't raining. Returning to our rooms I watched TV and managed to drop off around 12:30. I'd asked for no wake up call but got one courtesy of the smoke alarm at 2:55 waiting a couple of minutes it went off, back on again five minutes later this time I got dressed. Just in time for it to go off. Back into bed for it to start again. I had to be up at 6:30. To say I was cross by the following morning was an understatement but staff attitude although apologetic was more a less a shrug of the shoulders. No offer of a refund or free night. So much for a good nights sleep which Crown Plaza go all out to advertise I'd have been better staying on the pavement !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Elaine C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a nicer room, and this was very much appreciated since we found a great rate. The room quality was top notch. It was clean, very spacious for London standards, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Service was excellent. Everyone we spoke to was friendly and helpful.

We were very happy with the location and its proximity to many of the sites.

One drawback is there are not enough outlets for plugs.

We were also quite worried seeing a man with small children get stuck in one of the elevators. We alerted the front desk and they responded, but it seemed to take awhile since it was a Sunday. Naturally, we took the stairs after that.

Stil, we'd definitely come back.

Room Tip: Room 103 is great. It's right on the 1st floor so we were afraid it would be loud, but it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Wanderfool44,

Thank you very much for your review in Trip Advisor following your visit to our hotel. I am pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are replacing our 3 lifts, last week the first new lift was open. We are now replacing the second one, and by November all 3 lifts will be new.

I hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,392 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#74 of 1,067 in London
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#329 of 1,067 in London
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London - The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing