We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Ranked #177 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel 14 to 17 July 2014 with family including 2 boys aged 11 & 6. This hotel is mainly used by business people so there was nothing for children, although it is situated well for all attractions. The hotel is kept very clean in all areas. All the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly, polite & knowledgeable. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had 2 rooms, 1 family & 1 standard double. Both rooms were kept clean & well serviced including 2 hairdryers, an iron & ironing board & a dressing gown. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice both hot & cold. We ate on 2 nights in the Lounge & again both the service & the food were first class. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor & did not hear outside noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Born4travel,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City with your family. It is great to see you experienced our City Lounge and breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    832
    200
    66
    33
See reviews for
599
847
101
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Currently staying in this perfect hotel. We arrived early they stored out luggage asked us if we would like an upgrade as we had to bring our daughter at last minute, rooms beautiful, spacious, clean, stylish, staff so friendly an helpful, they want to help an not rush u off, close to transport, central for all our needs, we love it an most diff will b returning to this hotel. Really impressed with our stay and still have another nite to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anais241107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Anais241107,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As mentioned, excellent for the Blackfriars station across the road. Stairs are a little awkward to navigate once inside the Hotel Doors from that side.

The overall ambience of the hotel is very dark. This was not made any better once we entered our room and had no window at all! Well, an opaque piece of glass.

Concierge staff very friendly and efficient. The lifts are terrible, but I understand they're working on this.

The corridors were often full of rubbish outside guests' rooms which was not cleared for most of the day.

The room itself was very comfortable and spacious, as was the bed. Not enough plug sockets to charge your stuff. TV remote was fiddly, didn't seem to belong to the TV, which in itself was fine.

Scary mini bar. Prices were the usual nightmare, but it had sensors on it which charged you for anything if you moved it for a few seconds.

Didn't try the breakfast, as for £20 I could have had about four full breakfasts from Garfunkels.

Internet/Wi-fi was some exorbitant fee, so didn't bother with it.

Overall a good stay with a comfy room with some annoying details.

Room Tip: Try and get an outside view. better than no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turgonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear turgonuk,

Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor following your visit to our Hotel.

We greatly appreciate your feedback, for us an opportunity to improve our service and product. As you rightly mentioned our lifts are being replaced for new ones, this is a lengthy process and we should have all three replaced by November (we just reopen the first new lift).

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, and look after your visit personally. Feel free to contact me directly for any assistance.

Kind Regards,


Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed one night's luxury at the Crowne Plaza, with a delicious dim sum dinner in the Chinese Cricket Club restaurant, which was absolutely exceptional. The room was comfortable and spacious and had everything we needed, and breakfast was probably more than our stomachs needed but it was too gorgeous to say no to. I was especially excited about the pancakes!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricity V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Tricity V,

Thank you very much for your 5 stars review on Trip Advisor, following your visit to our hotel.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wateringbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed the one night but found the bed so comfortable and had a great nights sleep and the room was very clean. Staff were lovely and very helpful too. Wouldn't hesitate staying again but we didn't eat at the hotel as we had made other plans..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibram66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ibram66,

Thank you very much for your 5 stars Trip Advisor review following your visit to our hotel.

Our team strives to deliver great service, messages like yours act as a great motivator to keep up the great job.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I used my points plus 70 USD per night for five nights. We arrived at 10am and the concierge locked our luggage away for us until our room was ready so we could go sightseeing. Family of four (two teenagers). Two double beds. The room was clean, quiet, remodeled and more spacious than expected by Euro standards (three of us are over six foot). We were there for sightseeing so we did not spend much time in the room. Only complaint on room - Wish the in-room fridge would have been available for our use instead of filled with overpriced typicals that are automatically charged to you if moved for longer than 10 seconds or so. Mini-grocery store called Tesco Express next door sells Krispy Kreme doughnuts and everything else. Starbucks and wine shop across the street. Ate British breakfast paninis at Starbucks each morning. Enjoyed the Black Friars pub for dinner and drinks across the street in the evening. Never used a taxi because we used our Oyster Cards for travel on the Underground starting at the Black Friars station across the street (Thanks to Trip Advisor for tips on Underground travel from Heathrow to Blackfriars Station). If the street was too busy to cross, you can use the underground walkway (subway) to get to the pub or station. Thames River and St Pauls so easy to walk to. Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Pub (Re-built in 1667) for food and drinks just a short walk around the corner. We felt very safe yet away from the extremely "touristy" areas. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank We_R_Easy-Going
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear We_R_Easy-Going,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and that our location was a plus for your visit to London.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went to London for a family vacation. Stayed at the Crown Plaza for 4 days. The location is a big plus with the tube access right around the corner. Very convenient!!!
Staff is very helpful and friendly and especially the concierge staff does a wonderful job.
We stayed in a family room with two double beds. The room was very cramped. Way to small for 3 people to stay in. The water pressure in the shower was terrible - had a hard time getting the soap out of my hair. The make up mirror was loose and could not be used. Bathroom was modern and the size was okay. Room looks a little tired and could use an update.
The breakfast was below average.
Hotel amenities are nice. Gym has a good size and good equipment.

Room Tip: Tube access right around the corner which is very convenient. Nice restaurants and pubs in walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Winnie3009,

Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to read your comments about our team members who made your stay special. As you mentioned our location is a plus for anyone visiting London, we are located close to St Pauls Cathedral, Tate Modern, London Eye, to name few attractions.

Sorry to hear about the issues in your room, and for not having the opportunity to resolve it while you where staying in the hotel. We have teams dedicated exclusively to address this issues.

If you have any plans to return to London, please contact me directly for assistance with reservation and stay.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,394 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#74 of 1,067 in London
3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#326 of 1,067 in London
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London - The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing