We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short family break in London, ideal position, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Ranked #178 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Short family break in London, ideal position, great service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here on a short family holiday. We came to see a show and see some sights and this hotel was in a great location for this. Close to underground, but also close enough for a pleasant walk along the Embankment. Room was clean, comfortable and the family room we had, gave us plenty of room. Service in the bar and from reception staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnowls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Barnowls22,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the hotel. I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the service from our staff great.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,228
    819
    197
    66
    33
See reviews for
591
832
101
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spend 1 night in CP. The Hotel is nicely located, walking distance from London Blackfriars Tube. Really good evening walk around to Blackfriars bridge to get good views of the Thames.
We booked a family room for 1 night with breakfast which was not too heavy on the money as was booked well in advance and with the online ihg account ( recommended).
We had to change the dates of booking once and the process was not too difficult and was told that the bookings could be modified once free of charge.
The hotel is like is quite nice with large comfortable neat rooms nice firm bedding and pillows which equates to good night sleep. The break starts from 0700 till 1100 which is typical full english with assortment of bread and cereals to choose from. The service was friendly every where which adds to a pleasant saty. The hotels takes an extra 50 pounds deposit on arrival which is refundable minus the consumables used which is okay provided the customers are informed about this prior to arrival!

Room Tip: Book early for cheap deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harigovind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Harigovind,
Thank you for your kind feedback, I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the location of the hotel useful.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Oman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a typical London city hotel, location is good , staff are very helpful service levels are good. The property looks dated the rooms are reasonable sized for a prime city property.the materess tend to sink and do not support the back very well .the management has to consider a more superior orthopedic mattress for better sleep quality ,it's a reasonable hotel neat and clean but not value for money especially in peak season as the tends to be very high .

Room Tip: Book well in advance for a better price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aftabpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear aftabpatel,
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City, it is always very encouraging to read that you found the team helpful.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent two nights here last week and really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful (found a room for us (before check in time) when we arrived early from a tiring red eye flight. They also happily stored our luggage the day we checked out. The room was comfortable and clean and the fitness centre had everything we needed. It is also directly across from Blackfriars stop so getting around the city via the tube is a breeze!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyaf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear tanyaf85,
Thank you for making the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us, I'm so pleased to hear a room was made available for you, which we will always try to do subject to availability.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

When it comes down to it cleanliness and quality of sleep are what you're looking for in a hotel. Our rooms were very clean the beds comfortable. We had plenty of large towels and the toiletries were good quality. The complementary biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and bottled water, was also great.

Our room had a window onto the atrium. This meant our room remained dark and conned our baby daughter into sleeping longer. Thumbs up on that front. However, we could hear the bass from the hotel nightclub through this void in the building. Fortunately it wasn't significant enough to prevent sleep as we were on the fourth floor.

The paintwork on the bathroom door was quite chipped suggesting the room needs refreshing. However, the rest of the furnishing and decoration was up to standard. There is a lack of power points. We had to plug the kettle in by the lamp and iPhone Dock (didn't seem to work).

Now to the unpromising start.

The week before our visit my husband confirmed in person our request for a travel cot was I record. It was. We arrived at 2.40pm and found our two rooms were not ready. There was also some concern about making a travel cot available. The concierge took our bags and we went for a wander. Fortunately the hotel is in a great position for central London sights and the South Bank.

We returned at four and there was still confusion I about where the travel cot would go. We were sent to one room and told they couldn't work out where the cot would go. It would be minutes, apparently, and the cot would be in the larger room. After 20 minutes my husband went downstairs to find out what was going on. While he was down there the key to the other room was delivered.

Considering we were already in a good sized room with two standard doubles I assumed the other room would be significantly larger with a king sized bad. It wasn't, it was a room with facilities for the disabled and significantly smaller than the room we had first of all. There really was no space for a cot and none was in the room. There was also a standard double.

Fortunately my parents, who were up with us to baby sit our one-year-old while my husband and I went to the O2 for Monty Python, were willing to take the smaller room while we took the larger dual bedded. The cot was sent to the smaller of the two rooms but set up in the larger one in the end. This wasn't until 5.30pm.

My parents thought their room was really a single, it was set up for two though.

We had hoped to settle in a while and have a family dinner before going out but this was not possible due to the delays and confusion. I'm not sure if messages were passed between staff or people don't know the size of specific rooms. In all this tarnished our experience of what is otherwise a lovely hotel.

The front-of-house staff were very polite, helpful and friendly.

Be prepared to wait for the lifts which are exceptionally slow but being refurbished.

Room Tip: We liked the internal room for the darkness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimmykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Nimmykins,
Thank you taking the time to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Got excellent price break because was Bank Holiday weekend...otherwise thought rack rate price/value ratio a bit off. Everything was done properly and business center and meeting room was perfect for our needs, however a meeting "in the lobby" is essentially impossible. It was standing room only, as we scurried to our pre-booked meeting room.
Rooms were comfortable and actually large by London standards; food is available at two reasonably priced restaurants, and you are directly across the street from Blackfriars station, so access to anywhere by/from Tube is easy. One is also within walking distance of a wide circle of restaurant choices for breakfast to dinner, so it is easy to get away from hotel if you so wish. St Paul's is an easy walk, and in the opposite direction, Blackfriars Bridge takes you across the Thames and great exploring. Annoyingly Internet is an additional charge, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oystertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear oystertravels,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. The location is indeed very handy for those using London's transport links and I am pleased to inform you that we have plans later this year to make internet complimentary to all our guests.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel 14 to 17 July 2014 with family including 2 boys aged 11 & 6. This hotel is mainly used by business people so there was nothing for children, although it is situated well for all attractions. The hotel is kept very clean in all areas. All the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly, polite & knowledgeable. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had 2 rooms, 1 family & 1 standard double. Both rooms were kept clean & well serviced including 2 hairdryers, an iron & ironing board & a dressing gown. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice both hot & cold. We ate on 2 nights in the Lounge & again both the service & the food were first class. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor & did not hear outside noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Born4travel,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City with your family. It is great to see you experienced our City Lounge and breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#82 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#245 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London - The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#140 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing