We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #170 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed here with my mum and friends for her birthday in August 2014. When we arrived there was a very friendly porter who helped us with our cases and offered friendly banter which was very welcoming! Check in was quick and easy. All reception staff were very polite and welcoming. Our rooms wereen't ready but this wasn't a problem as they offered to hold our cases and bags so we could go off exploring.
When we came back we were told that myself and my mum (whom I was sharing a room with) were given a complimentary upgrade. We accepted but on seeing the room decided to swap back. The upgrade was a smaller room and just had fancier toilettries and free Wifi! However as we weren't going to be in the room that much and had already got our own toilettries we didn't think this was worth it. We expressed our dismay and were swiftly moved back to the original room we had booked. They managed to get us two rooms next to each other which was very handy.
We received a nice surprise in our room too; free bottle of red wine and complimentary chocolates for all the moves which was nice! And unexpected as we didn't complain about the upgrade just decided it wasn't for us.
We stayed here for two nights and had breakfast included. The breakfast had a lot of choice; full english, continental, pancakes, muffins, cereal etc! All was delicious! My only quarm was that the breakfast wasn't always kept warm - maybe new bulbs needed for the hot plate??
The bed was probably one of the comfiest I have ever slept in! I don't always sleep great but had two of the best nights sleeps in this bed! The pillows, quilt and mattress all so comfortable!
The staff were amazingly polite and helpful. Whenever we had a complaint or query it was dealt with there and then.

Location is perfect too - opposite Black Friars tube station! Its a short walk away from other attractions too, but I found it much easier to jump on the tube.

Our room didn't have a nice few as such though - overlooking onto offices which on the Friday of our stay was rather uncomfortable as you had the office staff peaking in (one minor complaint)

All in all I'd reccomend this hotel and the area. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will most likely stay again on our next visit to London

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneAOttley, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear HannahBobby,

Thanks for you thorough review. It's always lovely to ready such positive feedback and we'll be sure to share your comments with the departments and service teams mentioned.

Thank you also for the useful comments regarding our breakfast. Please note that breakfast served in our Club lounge is mostly of the continental variety and the breakfast buffet served in our main restaurant has further hot items. We are also pleased to inform you that our breakfast offering in the main restaurant will be updated to include a greater variety of hot items including new hot plates in September.

We are delighted that you choose our hotel for your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    864
    205
    66
    33
See reviews for
619
869
103
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is located in a great location, just a minute walk from Blackfairs underground station. The staff is very friendly, the rooms live up to the expectations and other areas of the hotel are beautiful and clean.

We ate dinner one night in the Italian type restaurant and the food was surprisingly very good.
As the breakfast was quite expensive, we never ate it in the hotel.

The reason for I giving this hotel a 3-star is because before we arrived to the hotel I contacted them not just once, but twice and requested twin bedrooms and the rooms to be located close to each other.
We got two doublebed rooms and the rooms were located on different floors.
Now because of the high standard of this hotel, I find this unacceptable. I myself work in the hotel industry and if a guest contact us in advance with special requests we make sure we reserve those specific rooms to the guest.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viggo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneAOttley, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, particularly dinner at our Italian restaurant.

We always endeavour to meet your room expectations and provide you with the most comfortable options during your stay. Our room types are subject to availability and at times when occupancy is high, we cannot guarantee twin rooms, next to each other.

We are sorry that we were unable to meet your exact requirements on this occasion, and we'll do our best to match your preferences in the future.

It would be a pleasure to look after you and your family again. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booked direct throigh IHG website without issue.

Good transport links and a generally good hotel. We were upgraded on arrival to a Club room, which was great. Little touches like a cafetiere and ground coffee in the room were lovely. Our cafetiere was missing the gauze filter but a quick call to hospitality and it was replaced with a brand new cafetiere in lightening time. Impeccable service on this side.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we were attending an event nearby, so I can't comment.

What utterly spoiled my stay was being bitten numerous times during the night by something we were sharing the room with. I raised this with customer services and their response (at hotel management level) was very disappointing.

Quoting from the manager's email to me, 'I see you mentioned that you were bitten by something overnight. We take pest control very seriously and our rooms are periodically checked for the presence of pest. Sightings are very rare but when reported by a member of staff, the room is immediately taken out of the inventory and the relevant treatment applied.' So a room is only treated when a member of staff sees a pest?

No apology that this had happened to me, not even any concern for my well-being. This is certainly not what I would expect from a hotel of this level. Don't get me wrong, I'm not suggesting they offer a free stay, but a little empathy and an apology would have been great.

Won't stay again and am now dubious about the brand as a whole as the last time I was bitten in a hotel (some years ago) it was in a Holiday Inn and the response was similar.

I can't fault the service from staff within the hotel itself. Overall rating completely spoiled by management response to a problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Tourist_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneAOttley, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our services and location enjoyable. However we are sorry to read that your stay was not the fully pleasant experience we wish for all our guests. Specifically, your comments about bites incurred has been a great concern to us, as we take the hygiene and cleanliness of our rooms very seriously.

After examining your room straight away , no traces of any sort have been found and no further action was taken regarding the room. The comfort of our guests is very important to us, so
please be assured that we carry out regular checks on a daily basis and in light of your feedback, we had further stepped up the investigation to be 100% sure that there was no call for concern.

We really hope that you feel better very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you have any further concerns.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location, smack bang between Westminster Palace and the Tower of London, directly opposite Blackfriars underground station.
Booked a 2 x double bed "deluxe" room as we were 2 adults and 2 teenagers on a weekend break. Room in need of a lick of paint! Main complaint was the 4 gang plug extension on the carpet as there were no spare sockets anywhere. Only 1 part of the extension was free so we had to charge all our phones one by one.
The lifts in the hotel are terribly slow and the middle one was out of order, the height of the summer trade made it a long wait to get up and down floors.

There were 2 bars, one opposite reception (informal) and one down on the lower ground floor which was classed as a "cigar bar". The cigar bar was VERY unusual! In addition to the indoor seating there was outdoor "coves" which felt like they were actually indoor (sorry if you're not keeping up!). These coves were to smoke in and were quite exciting in a sad sort of way :)
The drinks prices in this bar were extortionate! £10 for a glass of wine! When I queried the price the bartender said "everything in here is expensive sir....."
Ermmm OK !!

In a nutshell, install a couple of plug sockets, paint the rooms and upgrade the lifts - you would then get a 4!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueBlue1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneAOttley, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear TrueBlue1968,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel's location and facilities. The feedback you've shared regarding the lifts is appreciated. We would like to inform you that refurbishments of the lifts you experienced during your stay were to improve their speed and efficiency, thanks for your patience.

We are currently looking further into your comments regarding the menu pricing of our Voltaire bar and conversation with our bartender. Our pricing within the bar is competitive and relevant to the quality of drinks we offer, however, a new menu with updated pricing will be launching very soon.

Thanks once again for your review and we do hope that you'll visit us again in the near future.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Sorry to say we had a terrible experience at this hotel and would never return. We paid a lot of money (over £400) for one night in a shared room for a ladies overnight break to London. The room we received was no bigger than a small double. It was so obviously not suitable for any more than 1-2 persons max, which was evident even from the fact there was only one set of towels in the bathroom/one bottle of water. We complained, obviously, and the arrogant, rude woman we spoke to was completely unapologetic and unhelpful. She told us in pretty frank terms that if we weren't happy we could leave (WITHOUT a refund!) because it was Saturday night and she could sell the room several times over to other customers. We were truly shocked by her approach. We would have left if it wouldn't have made us miss our theatre. We endured a very cramped, uncomfortable night with little sleep when the trip was supposed to be a treat. In addition to the awful room, the hotel had a bizarre, blaring disco until 3am. No idea why, as it was empty when we went to investigate the noise!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissPiggyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneAOttley, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear MissPiggyMoo,

Thank you for leaving a review for our hotel. We are very sorry to read that your experience with us was less than desirable on this occasion and it we are investigating further into the feedback you've shared.

Our rooms types are subject to availability and at times when occupancy is high, we cannot guarantee twin rooms. It is very important to us that our guests feel completely looked after and have a thoroughly enjoyable stay. From the feedback you've provided, it is clear that we failed to do this for you and we sincerely apologise.

We would value the chance to show you our genuine and personalised service. Should you be planning another visit to London, please do let us know and our Guest Relations team will be delighted to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were very impressed with this Hotel. A very pleasant Foyer was a good start and our rooms were certainly not disappointing. The staff were helpful and the beds were wonderful, a good nights sleep was easy to achieve. We paid for room only but did buy breakfast one morning. It was a plentiful buffet with a good selection.

Room Tip: We were able to upgrade on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneAOttley, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Annie,

Thanks for your positive review and we're really delighted that you were impressed by our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to looking after you again upon your next visit.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Another faultless stay at Crowne plaza the city, I love it that the visits are stress free and no hassle. I was helped out of the taxi, bag carried and guided to very welcoming check in, thank you Patricia. As a woman travelling alone I do worry but service here is consistently excellent and the best thing is they recognise and reward their IHG member guests. As royal ambassadors had a nice upgrade thank you and alarm call came in the morning on time so nothing to do but relax. Beds are so comfortable and lovely to have a bath. Great nights sleep without any noise.
Excellent value and service with great location. Thanks to the pleasant and helpful staff, a credit to the IHG chain and hotel management. I am really looking forward to the rooftop terrace when it is done!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glencroft365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneAOttley, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel, we appreciate that there are many options available to you and we're delighted that you pick us.

Thanks also for taking the time to review and for highlighting our service which we always strive to ensure is attentive and personal We will be sure to share you positive feedback with the team, in particular Patricia.

Once again it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#58 of 1,069 in London
3,512 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#88 of 1,069 in London
3,810 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,069 in London
4,257 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#134 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing