We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny bathroom & poor staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belgrave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belgrave
Ranked #201 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tiny bathroom & poor staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed here on business and could not fault the location, cleanliness or comfort of the bed. However my room was small, which was fine but the bathroom was tiny, the sink was recessed in so I couldnt wash my face without getting my feet wet, there was nowhere even to put my sponge bag and when sitting on the toilet it was so cramped that I couldnt get any toilet paper without knocking it on the ground! On arrival I requested an iron and ironing board which the polite receptionist assured me would be sent straight up. Nearly 15 minutes later it arrived, the iron was poor and left marks on my shirt and when I asked the chambermaid if I should just leave outside my door she requested I take it to reception! I was on the 2nd floor! Needless to say when I left the room I did not return the board as my hands were full but I did tell the receptionist that it was outside my room. When I returned from my evening out it was still there and when I left in the morning it was still there possibly constituting a fire hazard. At no point did anyone offer me breakfast but to be honest nearl £15 for breakfast is a joke even in London. Perhaps if I was staying as a leisure trip with my wife we would have had a larger room and more attention from staff but as a business traveller I must say I would not stay here again despite a good quiet nights sleep.

Room Tip: my room at the back of the hotel was very quiet and no noise at all from other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    528
    102
    17
    13
See reviews for
153
661
63
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely hotel, nice quiet area and right next to Pimlico tube station, reception area very pretty - pleasant staff, extremely clean and lovely decor. Will book again next time we are in London. Good nights sleep due to the black out curtains!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessii2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed for two nights in October. The room is a good size however I thought that they room would be a lot bigger having paid for an executive room. We didn't spend much time in room as we were out sight seeing however when trying to get ready it felt very small.
The staff were very attentive and when we asked for a iron and ironing board they arrived with in seconds.

The staff were very friendly and kept our luggage in the back after we checked out until we were ready for our train home.

Its location is great. literally around the corner from Pimlico tube.

Room Tip: If your two people and don't want to be cramped get the next room up from executive :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbird247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location, within walking distance of Buckingham Palace,Trafalgar Square and about a 6min walk from Victoria Station. The hotel is beautifully decorated with the highest quality furnishings, the En suite was simply gorgeous and my husband raved about the shower, the entire hotel was exquisite. There was coffee and tea making facilities in the room which suited my mum and dad who enjoy their cup of tea before bed and as soon as they wake up! The staff were kind,helpful and friendly. My only problem was that in an effort to minimise costs for my parents we chose 2 small double rooms. The rooms came equipped with a four foot double bed, which was fine for my elderly, small, parents but was much too small for my 6'2" husband and my own rather rounded physique!! All and all that was my fault and not the hotel's as I got what I requested and paid for. Mind you I do have to agree with a previous reviewer who said there was very little storage space. However, we managed because we were only staying four days and had not brought too many clothes. I would definitely return to this hotel only next time I would pay the extra for a larger room, in the mean time I have no hesitation in recommending this very tastefully decorated, welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location of the hotel was very good for me. Very near Pimlico station (about a 4 minute walk) but also near Victoria station.
The design of the rooms is very nice! It is not easy to find a room this good looking in London on a good location for this amount of money. The only comment i have about the room is that it is quite small. For me a small room in a city like London isnt a problem, but it is something you should be aware of.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

First of all, the nice parts:

- The location is great. Belgrave road is full of hotels in a pretty safe part of town. The hotel is right in the middle of the distance between Victoria Station and Pimlico, so there's two options to choose from. Warwick and Wilton Rd are close and they have a lot of nice places where you can eat and have a drink.

- The hotel stands out on the inside, much nicer than the rest around it. Nice lobby, friendly staff.

- Clean rooms, small, but you get around your luggage, no big deal. And a standard bathroom which is great.

However, the bad parts!

- NO CLOSET WHATSOEVER! This is why I say not a winter choice. We had good weather in november, we didn't bring many winter clothes, we managed. However, if you have a large luggage and plan on staying for a week, this might not be the choice for you.

- POOR WIFI. Oh boy, do I mean poor. It's useless, don't even bother. It might as well not be there at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MihaiBrasoveanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for a night at the end of our trip to England. It was a quick visit to London and The Belgrave was a perfect place to stay. Not only because of its friendly staff and clean, up to date bedrooms, but also because it is situated so well. Within walking distance of Buckingham Palace and the gorgeous St James's Park, Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden, and right up the road from Victoria station too.

We stayed in a ground floor room which was spacious and brand new. The shower was the best shower I have ever experienced. I wish we had stayed longer if only to take three of them a day. Total luxury!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayzeepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#115 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#260 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#101 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#316 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#504 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belgrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belgrave

Property: The Belgrave
Address: 80-86 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BJ, England (Formerly Days Inn London Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in London
#149 Romantic Hotel in London
#166 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belgrave 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Belgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn London Westminster Hotel London
London Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing