We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for younger/ more style-conscious travelers”
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #100 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect place for younger/ more style-conscious travelers”
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Stayed in one of the top-floor studios (506) and could not have been happier. The Zetter's nailed all the basics--good bed and bath, kind and helpful staff, nice room amenities--but it's the little details that really pleased me, e.g. the iPod speakers, the quirky design elements, The Idler and campy 60s paperbacks on the nightstand. The little strip of a balcony was a pleasure in the evening with a bottle of wine and a friend.

The location could not be better...well, depending on what you're in the Old Smoke for. All the nightlife, galleries, restaurants and shops in Clerkenwell and Shoreditch are in walking distance, which for me is perfect. However, if you're after a central London location and want to be near the main tourist destinations--or if you want the services available only at larger hotels--you'd probably be better off staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    280
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
395
56
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We recently stayed in a roof top studio at the Zetter and had a great stay. really friendly and responsive staff throughout our stay. in particular we appreciated the hotel staff going out of their way to have our room made available several hours before check in as we'd just flown in from australia. the room is not large but its been made very comfortable with a great bed and lots of other small touches. really liked the free music library accessed through the TV and the free in room wi fi. the studios come with tea and coffee making facilities in the room but the free espresso machines on each floor are a great touch too. the real winner is the roof top patio with views out over the london skyline and a great place to sit and have breakfast or read. it was sunny during our stay so we really appreciated having our own little piece of outside in london. the restaurant is excellent both for breakfast and dinner. try and get a package with breakfast included as the al la carte breakfast menu is fantastic. we also chose to have dinner there several times as it was so good. location wise, clerkenwell has a lot of character of its own and has some interesting local history and some large markets nearby but it is a bit out of the way if you're looking for the bright lights of areas like soho. having said that, the tube stop is just down the road so very easy to get around and the few times we did get a taxi it was always less than ten pounds a trip. a very friendly and well run hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank horhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

My husband & I stayed at the Zetter for 3 nights. Rooms were very stylish and clean... Really tiny but we weren't in the room much more than for sleeping anyways. Staff was helpful and accommodating. When we checked in, they treated us to a round of drinks while we waited for our room to finish getting made up. The TV in our room was broken and the staff went out of their way to get us another one. It wasn't a big deal but they wanted us to be happy. The hotel is a little out of the way from the hustle & bustle of the city; but just a few blocks from the Ferringdon tube stop so it was easy to get anywhere we needed to go. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — clean, modern rooms
  • Disliked — a little remote
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chnowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

For a very special birthday weekend, decided to stay in the city we live in, but enjoy a bit of luxury. I booked a top floor suite with a balcony (and a rate that included breakfast) directly from the hotel. It certainly did not disappoint!

Firstly the service from the hotel was exceptional - right from the time I booked on the phone (when they invited me to come and view which suite I would like), to the moment we checked out. I stay in hotels a lot, but was refreshingly surprised by the warm, professional and efficient manner of the staff. My ONLY disappointment was in the restaurant, where things were too slow.

The room was gorgeous, but won't be to the liking of traditionalists. The bed was really comfortable and the attention to detail was fab (umbrella for rainy London, decent hairdryer, nice magazines and books, low level lighting option, decent range of drinks and snacks, an ipod dock that actually has good speaker, solar powered light for balcony, FREE bottled water from the well and lovely robes and slippers - the last of which I was happy to pay the £4 for, but they said I were complimentary!). They certainly have made good use of the weird space on the top floor, so even for girls who pack too much, there is lots of storage. (also there is a lovely hairdresser round the corner and I got 10% off by mentioning I was staying in the hotel!)
We only had breakfast in the hotel, but its a good place to walk from and also near to tube lines for getting around for a good weekend.
I'll definitely go again.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedaholidayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Cleveland, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

I stayed in the corner double deluxe room in Oct 07. The room and hotel were very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The food I ordered from room service although nice was expensive (£19 lamb curry and £16:50 for the breakfast) An excellent hotel in a fashionable part of town close to all attractions. Would deffinitely stay again.

  • Liked — The big comfy bed
  • Disliked — The price of the food
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairy_Legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2008

First and foremost-- excellent service. In fact, I've not stayed at a hotel with such attentive staff in a while. The room was nice- clean and stylish. Could have used a closet. Overall, the service made up for any issues with the room. Also, the food was excellent. In fact, I would have preferred only eating at the hotel. Highly recommend and great location.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank scatzi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We spent 6 nights in a rooftop studio superior. The room (#507) was very comfortable and stylish and of a reasonable size.

The room was furnished with a queen sized bed, a decent cupboard (with safe), desk and chair, 2 arm chairs and a coffee table and a media centre.

The bathroom was also reasonable in size with a great strong shower (in bath). The bathroom products were lovely, as were the soft fluffy white towels.

The heating in the room was great.

Coffee and tea making facilities and a nice mini bar (with reasonable prices!) was in the room. The lower floors each have a vending machines for coffee and food and we made use of those too.

Our room had a small terrace which had views north (could see telecom tower and a predominantly inner city view looking towards Exmouth market). The terrace was furnished with a table and chairs. Unfortunately it was too wet during our stay to really make good use of this outdoor area.

The room had a lot of nice touches:
- free clerkenwell water (from the well below the hotel)
- free wi-fi (in the room)
- daily newspaper with a tourist info sheet attached listing suggestions for that day (eg which markets are on, if there are any special events etc)
- local area information detailing eating and shopping options
- London Timeout (and other magazines) provided in room
- ipod docking station
- a groovy tivoli alarm clock radio

The only minor complaint we have is that our room was just outside the lift and we did experience a bit of noise which disturbed us a few times, particularly in the middle of the night.

We used the cool hotel bar a few times (great spot to meet friends) and ate in the restaurant too (the breakfast is excellent).

We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

The hotel location was good too. There are some interesting walks in the immediate area. It was about a 15 min walk to St. Paul's cathedral and less than 5 minutes to the closest tube. An oxford st bus route stops just outside the hotel. There were lots of nice places to eat in the immediate area, including pubs , cafes and fancier restaurants and there are a couple of street markets very close too.

  • Liked — lots of thoughtful touches
  • Disliked — a little noisy in the room (from corridor)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#149 of 1,067 in London
533 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#263 of 1,067 in London
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,067 in London
1,869 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,067 in London
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Property: The Zetter Hotel
Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing