We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step into the past” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #110 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Step into the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I've stayed at The Zetter Townhouse one night (business trip). The hotel is 5 min walking from Farringdon station. The staff is nice and helpful all the time, the rooms are comfortable and spacious, may be the wardrobe is not the biggest but if you stay only for few days is more than enough. The only point I would improve is the common area spaces, they don't exist; in fact the bar is often full of non residents, this could cause a lack of space and relaxing area for the residents. Not really sure if I would return for business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexUga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    275
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
79
388
55
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from the Zetter. Have to say it was not what I expected. I prefer hotels with nice public areas - and this has none to speak of, only a very small sitting area by the bar - but that was roped off for a private function. Apparently you can go over the road and use the lounge in the Townhouse - but it just seemed a bit disjointed. Tiny little reception area with just a desk and the lifts - just like one of those foregn hotels for travellers.Didn't try the bistro so can't comment on that. The room was really small, very much like a cell. Brick wall painted dark brown. Miniscule hanging space. No fridge or mini bar. En suite reminded me of an aeroplane loo - all precase plastic sink and very impersonal. No curtains in the room - just shutters, so again that made it very cell like.
Staff were very cheerful and friendly however - couldn't fault that. Wouldn't stay here again though - too stark for me. More of a foreign travellers hotel I would say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Zetter Hotel & Townhouse.

We are delighted to read that you found our staff cheerful and friendly.

We are so sorry to read that you did not enjoy our Public Areas in the Hotel. Whilst small, they are cosy and we are sorry that the Atrium was booked for a Private Function on the night you stayed.

We do have a variety of room types available at The Zetter and our Superior and Deluxe rooms are larger in size than our Guest Rooms. We offer Complimentary Tea and Coffee making facilities in all our passages and we do also have eco vending machines available for all our guests. In our Roof Top Superior rooms, we do provide mini bars in the rooms. The Cocktail Lounge at The Zetter Townhouse is an amazing spot and enjoyed by most of our guests.

We hope that we can welcome you back again one day.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We only stayed one night at the Zetter, but found it to be a lovely, well appointed, clean and affordable (for London) hotel in the Clerkenwell neighborhood. The staff was very helpful, professional and kind. The neighborhood is great, and the hotel provides lots of helpful info on the best ways to enjoy it and what to see and do as well as where to eat. The rooms we had were spacious and very livable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to London on a limited budget, but with taste for boutique hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seenitChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

After hearing so much about this hotel we were looking forward to our stay of a weekend.The hotel is indeed very nice with a good ambience but we were extremely dissappointed when we went to our room. We have never ever stayed in such a cramped shoe box style room and other guests we spoke to felt the same.Our wardrobe was so small approx 12"wide that four coat hangers filled it ,no wonder there were ample coat pegs on the wall! The bathroom was also small but adequate and we must say that the maid who looked after the room was amazing .It was a beautiful day so we sat outside and had a drink but even that was spoilt by inconsiderate people on their mobiles discussing deals they had done,obviously thinking themselves very clever,speaking so loud, to the annoyance of other guests but that was not the fault of the hotel.The meal we had was good and so was the service.We went across to the townhouse bar which really was superb and would recommend to try it.Over all this hotel is very different and what is termed trendy.If you want a room that two of you can actually move around in at the same time please choose carefully.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NisaField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Nothing overly fancy about this place; nice and friendly front desk, very nice rooms well kitted out with everything needed for a short stopover.

Bathroom was nice, all was very clean and overall nothing really to find fault with.

It isn't the most characterful place and the public areas are fine but not what you would call a destination in the sense of eating/drinking.

If you need a clean, functional and well kitted out stopover in this part of town without breaking the bank then this is it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fantastic hotel with great staff, and a fabulous restaurant as a bonus. We did have a major hiccup during our stay: the electronic lock broke and we were locked out for a whole day. Whilst this was a major inconvenience, the response of the staff (and especially the manager, Fabian) was just flawless. We were treated with genuine care. Just goes to show; sometimes things can go wrong (even in luxury hotels!), but it's how you deal with it that matters. We were impressed, and we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We fancied a change so instead of staying in the hotel, we opted for the townhouse. It has a really different, more homely feel to it and it is just as loveable as over the road...just in a different way.

The room was quirky and had all the usual perks. Adored the funky fairground rounding board bed head and the complimentary coffee was totally delicious. The shower was blast-tactic and the bed was comfy, comfy, comfy. The staff were chilled, chatty and efficient. They were really attentive when we needed them.

The only slight, oh! was the conti breakfast. It's not as knock your socks off as the full English, which was included in the price last time. For the £1 difference on the menu, it does reeeally top it off when that is included instead.

Always love the Zetter and have recommended it to friends in the past. Nothing changes - it's still my ultimate fave hotel in London.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrFlinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#131 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#265 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#50 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Property: The Zetter Hotel
Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing