We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London is lovely again”
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #100 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“London is lovely again”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Zetter, a lovely and stylish hotel in Clerkenwell. This time we stayed in the Townhouse and as others have noted, a marvellous, funky-brit experience. After being welcomed by the staff, I felt instantly at home, kind of like visiting the home of a rich, eccentric but very kindly British uncle. Our room was decorated with Union Jacks over the bed and I felt like I was about to serve at Rourke's Drift for the old country! Although it was a trifle on the small size, the view to the street was lovely and the bathroom suitably modern.
The well-attended cocktail bar is wonderful, with all manner of drinks available, served by very friendly staff.
Despite being in the middle of London, the room was very quiet, as we slept well.
Good job Zetter, thanks for getting it right, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rr1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianTap, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for returning and for your very kind words. Your review depicts our values at The Zetter Group and we are delighted to read that our team made you feel so welcome. So glad you enjoyed the feel and ambience of The Townhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    280
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
395
56
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at The Zetter Hotel for my husband's birthday and we had a wonderful time. His birthday was acknowledged at check in and we were given an upgrade which is always lovely. The hotel room itself was comfortable, cosy and cool and we loved our night there. In the evening after dinner we went back to the hotel for cocktails and bar snacks - this is a must! There was a great atmosphere, impeccable service and a good wine list. Note- we also stopped in at The Zetter Townhouse for a drink. The cocktail list was pricey but worth it, although the atmosphere was far more formal than at The Zetter and for that reason we much preferred The Zetter itself.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionamartinez1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianTap, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are delighted you chose to celebrate your husband's birthday with us! Great to hear that you found our rooms comfy, cosy and cool and that you managed to try out our Cocktails and Bar snacks, as well as The Zetter Townhouse across the square. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Townhouse was a fantastic experience, beautiful room and a good location for us to discover a new part of London, having never stayed in the Clerkenwell / Farringdon area. The cocktail bar is incredible and we spent a good evening downstairs with friends - the last ones to leave. Only gripes are the size of the room, but we are increasingly becoming used to smaller and smaller rooms in London and the weird arrangement of the lift downstairs, so at night you are stepping past people just to get to the lift

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianTap, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for staying at The Zetter Townhouse. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience, so much that you were the last one's to leave. We hope that we can welcome you back again so that you can enjoy the Cocktail Lounge even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here on Saturday for one night. It was a pleasant stay.
We just wanted to stress how cheerful all of the staff were. The people at reception, the breakfast team, staff we met in the lifts and corridors, everybody was very smiley and welcoming!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank creedence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianTap, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your Saturday night getaway. We are delighted to read that all our staff were friendly and helpful, which displays what one of our core values at The Zetter Group are. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you so much for reviewing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I've stayed at The Zetter Townhouse on two occasions for one night (business trip). The hotel is 5 min walking from Farringdon station and really handy if you're working in central London. The rooms are nice and done to a high standard although quite compact. The bathrooms are especially nice.

The staff are nice and helpful and the food was delicious (although a little bit pricey). I would return for a short business trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianTap, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us again at The Zetter Townhouse. We are so happy to hear that you will return and that you enjoy the Hotel, our Food & Drink offering as well as our Staff. We look forward to your next visit and thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A truly unique and wonderful weekend was had here recently, in the heart of London. As if stepping back in time, you feel transported to a bygone era. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the cocktail bar is a true testament to a bygone era. An amazing experience. We will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Having stayed at the Zetter on a number of ocassions, once again we had a memorable stay at the Hotel & Townhouse. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms were extremely comfortable, and the restaurant of Bruno Loubet superb.

For a contemporary feel, stay at the Hotel, but for the truly unique experience the Townhouse is a must. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For the truly unique experience the Townhouse is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#146 of 1,067 in London
533 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#264 of 1,067 in London
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,067 in London
1,869 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,067 in London
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Property: The Zetter Hotel
Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing